We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the centre and not worth the long walk”
Review of Vinh Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vinh Huy Hotel
Ranked #157 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was probably our poorest hotel experience in Vietnam. First of all, we booked through an agency, Agoda, which promised good value prices, and then overcharged us by insisting that only 1 person was allowed per double room, and you had to pay extra for a second person (so perhaps avoid booking with them, too!). When we tried to rectify this by asking the hotel management what prices they normally charge per room, the manager was strangely evasive and gave us no direct answer. He was not a particularly friendly type, which is always off-putting. The staff varied according to the individual - some were smiley and helpful, others rather sour.

The rooms were small, rather dark, and not very attractive. There were blankets rather than duvets and nothing looked particularly clean - the bath in particular had stains that looked to have been there for years. No soap or shampoo was provided. The air con and fans worked fine, thankfully. There were four PCs in the reception, of which two didn't really work, and the WiFi was unreliable.

There is a swimming pool, unheated, but that doesn't really matter in the hot climate. It's in the basement and is small, more just for a quick cool-off than a proper swim. It seemed clean and several guests were using it.

All in all, especially given the dodgy-seeming management style and far-out location (20 minutes walk to the centre), this hotel is not very impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lay_Family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

despite of a good location, not far from the old town, i wouldnt say anything good about this place. room was just dirty, dirty sheets and pillows... strange smell... staff was a bit strange, they either smiled and didnt understand anything you said or shouted! i witnessed 2 travellers were refused to get back their passports because they didnt accept to be overcharged for the room... AVOID!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edyta_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The room was oke and the service was good, but the bathroom and the location was awfull. The bathroom had a used come in it, the mold was growing on the bathtub and when we came back later on the evening the whole room smelled like a sewer!! It came from the bathtub...
We wanted to stay for 2 nights but the receptionist suddenly said in the afternoon of the first day that we had to leave after 1 night??? Really weird but we were actually happy to leave..
Oke we only paid 10 dollar (for 2 with fan) so you should'nt expect much... But it looked good in the beginning...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here two nights. The room had a strong smell of insecticide. And there were no sheets only a nasty blanket. The fan was so noisy... The swimming pool was not open air, very small and very dirty we didn't use it. We bought in the reception a bus ticket to Mui ne, asking the reception girl a nicer bus without stops or over crowded, she charged us 50000 more donks and we got this terrible bus over crowded, making stops every 30 minutes and left us in Nha Trang, where I am right now, looking to get Mui Ne.. Was not nice of her. I didn't like this bad hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I went there because it was cheap US$10, but boy was it a shock. The rooms were like for factory sweatshop workers, slimy and worse than the backpackers dorms I stayed in. Mould everywhere and when I asked for laundry they put it on some scales which look tampered with to show more weight.. When my laundry got back, I realised they washed my white shorts black, and took it out from my laundry as if I did not know it. Atrocious flirtatious receptionist who only flirts with Caucasian men and gives big attitude to women and Asian men. Horrible experience, bad location. stay if you want to be treated like a Chinatown factory worker in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sipsapsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

In 12weeks of travel through India, Nepal and Vietnam this is the dirtiest accommodation that i have come across, and that says alot. Everything (from the walls to the pillow to the phone) is covered in mould and there is a distinctive damp smell as soon as you walk in the room. We had just come off a night bus and got suckered into getting a free shuttle here and agreeing to stay. After a shower (which by the way had a crack in the bottom that you could almost fall through) we were refreshed enough to realise that this place was really quite disgusting. An hour after we arrived we cut our losses and paid half a days rate and left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It's such a shame the place has had such bad reviews. The staff were friendly and helpful. We arrive in hoi an after a 12 hour bus journey, it was to early to check in so the manager gave us a room upstairs were we could shower and sleep for a couple of hours. The rooms aren't in great condition but its what you'd expect when your paying so little money. The air con always worked and there was also a ceiling fan. There's also an indoor swimming pool which is always cold so perfect to get in after you've been out. Very good location close to the market. The staff booked our bus ticket to Hanoi for us! Stayed here for 2 nights and never had any problems!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#118 of 167 in Hoi An
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#117 of 167 in Hoi An
84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Native's House - Rice Flower Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hai Yen
Hotel Hai Yen
#123 of 167 in Hoi An
163 reviews
0 mi away
Suburban Villa
Suburban Villa
#127 of 167 in Hoi An
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#106 of 167 in Hoi An
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Huy Hotel

Address: 203 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locates In The Heart Of Hoi An City Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vinh Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing