We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”
Review of Vinh Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vinh Huy Hotel
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
1 review
“Rip off”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Customer service appaling. Assured us that by booking trip to halong bay with them would be the best possible price so we did. Once arrived in Hanoi found we had been charged over $30 more than the going rate for EXACTLY the SAME package!!!!!! Went to their office in Hanoi to cancel trip and the lady was very rude, unhelpful and aggressive in nature. When we called the hotel to explain to them that what they had sold us had been under false pretences they were again extremely rude and hung up the phone on us saying they would not change prices and if we cancelled we would still be charged the $90 with nothing back at all. Disgusting and appaling customer service once they have your money in their pocket. Also charged $40 each to travel by bus....again assured cheapest price....of course until we met fellow travellers who had in fact paid half of that! This was with shopping around afterwards we found we had been royally ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey71986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    31
    43
    97
See reviews for
8
82
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
1,078 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is one of the cheapest (10 us double room) but for the price is OK. Our sheets were a bit suspetious so we asked to be changed for the beginning. The room was big enough with 2 beds, bathroom was exceptable, enough of hot water...
They also offer tickets for day tours and transportation - ask around first as they might try to put a dollar or two on the bill... But you can bargin. Also we found it is better to pay in US dollars than in dongs.
The hotel is about 15 min from the old town and 5 min from the station. We were picked up from the later at our arrival for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

It's not even worth going here to have a look,
Stayed here for 1 night paid 10 Usd.
The room was dirty, bed sheets were dirty, no hot water, some weird smell!

But the most annoying thing with this place was that the second day( planned to stay in Hoi an for 4 night )
The wanted to change the rate of the room!!!!!
I was shocked, 10 usd is really overcharged already!

This place doesn't go under the definition of a hotel!

Moved to a hotel nearby that's was cheaper and so much more value for the money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Savona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Very dirty's rooms and mildew on walls with an unbearable smell. The bathroom is full of mildew and the hot water doesn't work well. The wifi does not work and when I did spread the problem, they was very boorish. At nine in the morning, start a lot of noize, including someone was using the drill upstairs. I'll never come back in this place, it's better the street! Absolutely NOT recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked through hostelbookers and got a super cheap double room. Our towels were changed daily, bins emptied and bathroom mopped. We ended up staying an extra night (waiting on fittings for clothes) and pre-empting this, they held our room for us even though they were getting fully booked. Staff here have been really helpful and friendly. They helped to post home clothes bought and didn't charge us extra when we accidentally broke the room key. Breakfast is really good (not included) and drinks are cheap. Thank you to the wonderful staff :o)
Oh, they also let us keep our bags here even though our sleeper bus wasn't until the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for four nights and I was happy to leave after. The rooms are old and kind of dirty and the shower was broken. There was also noise coming from other rooms and the surroundings.
The only good thing about this hotel is the lady at the reception who was very helpful in providing local information when we arrived. Overall, I wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jfrc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We went as 4 backpackers friends and booked a 4 people's room for 5$ each (no breakfest included). The room's size was ok but the floors and walls dirty, we had ants in our room and I'd recommend to wear flip flops if you wanna take a shower.
Talking about showers, we had many problems with the water flow and tempature, and had to ask the reception for help in the middle of the shower. The beds were lousy, not very clean and the pillows hard and stiff. The location is ok, about 10 minutes walking from the center (the bridge area). The staff is very nice, kind and willing to help.

Well, we wanted a cheap place and we got it. I am sure you can find a better place to stay in Hoi an, even for the same or a similar price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#121 of 153 in Hoi An
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#106 of 153 in Hoi An
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#101 of 153 in Hoi An
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#100 of 153 in Hoi An
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#120 of 153 in Hoi An
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#108 of 153 in Hoi An
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Huy Hotel

Property: Vinh Huy Hotel
Address: 203 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locates In The Heart Of Hoi An City Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vinh Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing