We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room for the price”
Review of Hoa My Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoa My Hotel
Ranked #184 of 306 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here two nights after moving from the hotel next door we were suitably impressed with Hoa My as the staff were so much friendlier, rooms bigger and cleaner all for the same price (US$10) as next door. Our room was beautiful with high ceilings and a balcony, having a bathroom with a shower/bath was a treat as most of the places we've stayed in SE Asia had bathrooms the size of broom cupboards. We were happy with the laundry service at $1 per kilo. We booked a driver to Da Nang airport through reception, which was a few dollars cheaper than what we'd been quoted elsewhere.
Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Double room with balcony above the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_kids13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

Middle of the road hostelry. Smallish room, clean.
15 minute walk to Japanese Bridge and main attractions. 5 minute walk to Restaurant 43 - the best we found in Vietnam.
Picked up by two motor scooters from bus drop off....but f.o.c..
Staff helpful.
Decent breakfasts ('American').
None of the problems recorded in other reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyfoxSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This place is clean, has nice rooms and reasonable prices, but the staff are pushy, tourist bookings seemed more expensive and most importantly they actually stole money from our money belts that we deposited at the safe in the reception area!

After the receptionist warned us of how 'dangerous' Hoi An is, we counted our money before depositing it at the reception. When we got it, we had to rush to catch a bus and just did a cursory check. Later I found they had stolen one $20 in Canadian and one $10 Singaporean... The only two bills I had many of... Very sneaky!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

While the rooms were not to bad for a budget hotel, and the staff (mainly Long) were helpful when my children were sick, in retrospect I realise that we should never have booked tours and other transport with them. Their undisclosed commissions are very high -we paid $9 each for rail tickets. The price on the actual tickets (which were only given to us with our passports when we departed) said they cost $3 each. Goodness knows what commission we paid for the air tickets we booked. Our mistake, the kids were sick, and it seemed so easy for them to do it for us. I am happy to pay commission, but should have been more alert to the actual costs. I have learned my lesson. It has left an unpleasant feeling on what was otherwise a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

stayed here for $10 a night which seemed too good to be true, and we were right. They recommended a tailors, kimmys which they say is the "best & cheapest in hoi an" but turns out they are the most expensive & the worst (they pressurise you to settle for one of their already created designs instead of help you find what they want, and even re-creating one of their own designs is hard for them, I wouldn't even call them a tailors,the sales people clearly didn't know what they were doing, so don't go to Kimmys "tailors" either!!). They wouldn't help us confirm our bus because we already have the open ticket, and she then sent us to the wrong place when we asked where we needed to go to confirm it, not helpful at all. It turned out they only help confirm buses for people who buy their ticket through them cos they charge an extra $6+ for bus tickets, which we found out cos one of our friends enquired about a bus ticket, they booked it for her even though she didn't ask to book, she later found another hotel selling it for $6 cheaper so told them she didn't wana book with them cos too expensive but they told her they'd already booked it and when she asked for it to be cancelled they threatened to keep her passport and turned nasty, we saw the one of the receptionists being nasty to her and they would then point and laugh whenever we came in and made her in particular feel very uncomfortable. we all checked into another hotel the night after as we didn't trust them at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We all thought 300,000 VND or $15 USD was pretty good value in Hoi An. A rough night on their thin foam mattresses convinced us to look around & we discovered what we could get for the same price but better, cleaner, prettier & closer to town, basically every reason you can think of.

Getting off the Camel bus from Hue which disembarked all passengers here, the grey skies & rain convinced us that this place was the next best thing to being dry so our standards dropped & we got on with enjoying Hoi An's charms. The building is in good order & was mainly occupied by foreigners & people like us, cheap. This would be considered in the budget category so dont get your hopes up. There are no elevators, pool or dancing monkeys, breakfast isnt included & hot water is limited. There were 3 computers downstairs & the free wireless on my iPhone was ok.

Our 3 person room had 1 large single & a double bed. The mattress is made of cheap thin foam without springs & the pillows were thin & hard, the opposite of soft & fluffy in scientific terms. We didnt opt for the aircon but the fan was fine. Hot water was limited & there wasn't a tub. We had a 51cm CRT TV with good reception & a stocked mini-fridge. Laundry was $1 USD per kilo. The soft lighting from the lamps gave the already orange room a warm vibe so we at least went to bed in a good mood.

The hotel is located down the road from Hoi An's Catholic church so foreigners might feel more comfortable here if it was the eighteenth century but the hotel isn't within the main centre & is a 10 min walk away. 10 mins doesn't seem far but there are much better options for the same price nearby on Ba Trieu road. The Camel bus from Hue drops off their passengers here so most probably just make the lazy choice & stay here, the beds forced me to think twice the next day.

The hotel reception desk sells & organizes bus tickets to Ho Chi Minh City, Nha Trang, Dalat & Hue. Like everyone else they are just agents & dont actually work for the bus companies, they sell tickets at varied prices depending on how much you are willing to pay. Always negotiate & haggle for a lower price or book at a reputable hotel. The girl here was very pushy & would ask me everyday & every time id go outside.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

One of the receptionnist, Long, was really nice ad helpful but it was not the vase for the others, some of them being frankly rude.

Not really clean, AC not working. Room old and not beautiful. We got one without a window. Breakfast was good but not included.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
River Palm Villas Hoi An
River Palm Villas Hoi An
#24 of 170 in Hoi An
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa My Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa My Hotel

Address: 201 Ly Thuong Kiet St | 44 Tran Cao Van, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: £11 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoa My Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing