We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE, THEY CHEAT GUESTS!!!”
Review of Hoa My Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoa My Hotel
Ranked #177 of 306 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2011

stayed here for $10 a night which seemed too good to be true, and we were right. They recommended a tailors, kimmys which they say is the "best & cheapest in hoi an" but turns out they are the most expensive & the worst (they pressurise you to settle for one of their already created designs instead of help you find what they want, and even re-creating one of their own designs is hard for them, I wouldn't even call them a tailors,the sales people clearly didn't know what they were doing, so don't go to Kimmys "tailors" either!!). They wouldn't help us confirm our bus because we already have the open ticket, and she then sent us to the wrong place when we asked where we needed to go to confirm it, not helpful at all. It turned out they only help confirm buses for people who buy their ticket through them cos they charge an extra $6+ for bus tickets, which we found out cos one of our friends enquired about a bus ticket, they booked it for her even though she didn't ask to book, she later found another hotel selling it for $6 cheaper so told them she didn't wana book with them cos too expensive but they told her they'd already booked it and when she asked for it to be cancelled they threatened to keep her passport and turned nasty, we saw the one of the receptionists being nasty to her and they would then point and laugh whenever we came in and made her in particular feel very uncomfortable. we all checked into another hotel the night after as we didn't trust them at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

We all thought 300,000 VND or $15 USD was pretty good value in Hoi An. A rough night on their thin foam mattresses convinced us to look around & we discovered what we could get for the same price but better, cleaner, prettier & closer to town, basically every reason you can think of.

Getting off the Camel bus from Hue which disembarked all passengers here, the grey skies & rain convinced us that this place was the next best thing to being dry so our standards dropped & we got on with enjoying Hoi An's charms. The building is in good order & was mainly occupied by foreigners & people like us, cheap. This would be considered in the budget category so dont get your hopes up. There are no elevators, pool or dancing monkeys, breakfast isnt included & hot water is limited. There were 3 computers downstairs & the free wireless on my iPhone was ok.

Our 3 person room had 1 large single & a double bed. The mattress is made of cheap thin foam without springs & the pillows were thin & hard, the opposite of soft & fluffy in scientific terms. We didnt opt for the aircon but the fan was fine. Hot water was limited & there wasn't a tub. We had a 51cm CRT TV with good reception & a stocked mini-fridge. Laundry was $1 USD per kilo. The soft lighting from the lamps gave the already orange room a warm vibe so we at least went to bed in a good mood.

The hotel is located down the road from Hoi An's Catholic church so foreigners might feel more comfortable here if it was the eighteenth century but the hotel isn't within the main centre & is a 10 min walk away. 10 mins doesn't seem far but there are much better options for the same price nearby on Ba Trieu road. The Camel bus from Hue drops off their passengers here so most probably just make the lazy choice & stay here, the beds forced me to think twice the next day.

The hotel reception desk sells & organizes bus tickets to Ho Chi Minh City, Nha Trang, Dalat & Hue. Like everyone else they are just agents & dont actually work for the bus companies, they sell tickets at varied prices depending on how much you are willing to pay. Always negotiate & haggle for a lower price or book at a reputable hotel. The girl here was very pushy & would ask me everyday & every time id go outside.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

One of the receptionnist, Long, was really nice ad helpful but it was not the vase for the others, some of them being frankly rude.

Not really clean, AC not working. Room old and not beautiful. We got one without a window. Breakfast was good but not included.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My friends and I arrived here quite frazzled, my purse had just been stolen 15 minutes before down the road. We were doing a Hue-Hoi An moto trip that just turned HORRIBLE. The staff were really great, especially management in helping me file a police report and getting my things sorted.

However they royally messed up our bus tickets. We had to get back to Hanoi ASAP because my passport and my friends passport were in my stolen purse so we booked 4 sleeper bus tickets to Hue then onwards to Hanoi. I specifically asked for Hung Thang and that the 4 of us would be together. I have worked in tourism in Vietnam for over a year and I am very familiar with the buses and their different grades.

The next morning, a bus arrived and they said "2 go on this bus" - "you will meet in Hue and take another bus together". I know how things work. Every bus company has different stop/pickup points and there was no way that our friends would have been on the same bus with us. I demanded that we be together and after about 10 minutes of arguing they said "Ok, Camel travel all four of you together". Camel is not only cheaper but worse. We were together though so we hesitantly agreed. We get on an empty bus, pick up 5 other people around town, then end up back in front of our hotel and the bus driver goes, "Ok, you get off now" - At this point I was fuming. Another bus was there with Hanh Cafe, this guy was yelling at the top of his lungs at me.. "you get on the bus 2 people get on the bus" - I was like "NO, 4 people, 4 customers, we'll get on the bus together". The staff at Hoa My at this point was COMPLETELY unhelpful and watched gleefully as this bus guy was yelling at me. After lots of arguing my friends and I separated and the staff was like "no problem you will see each other in Hue, bus is fully booked, can't book you together on bus from Hoi An to Hue". Theres lot more to the story, but to get to the point... They are unreliable and they lie. They said the buses were fully booked but both the An Phu bus my friends were put on to Hue, and the Hanh Cafe bus my friend and I were on were 90% empty. Obviously when we arrived in Hue we didn't see each other. We were put in a Hung Thanh sleeper bus and they were put on an An Phu SEATER (not sleeper). They have provided me with the worst travel experience of my life.

In all fairness, like I said, they were very helpful in helping me file a police report for my missing belongings.. but they need to get organized, this was a stupid mistake that shouldn't have happened. I know that they had bought 4 tickets, two to one company and two with a completely different company and although they said they were "sold out" they were lying. They just didn't want to be out $12 cost price for 2 tickets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domingo_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

A nice quiet hotel, it is a good 5 min walk into the town from here and probably 10 min to the Japanese Bridge and riverside, this is probably one of the best value hotels in town, WiFi internet access was virtually non existent in my room but worked ok in reception where there are more computers for use. Room had TV, fridge and air con and was comfortable and clean. Hotel staff where helpful and spoke good English, but maybe a little pushy in trying to get you onto trips, but that said they helped a lot in onward travel arrangements and even recommended and sorted my next hotel stop in Hue. Breakfast was included in the price but make sure this is the case when you book in as it did not appear to apply to some other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeUK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aingan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
River Palm Villas Hoi An
River Palm Villas Hoi An
#24 of 170 in Hoi An
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa My Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa My Hotel

Address: 201 Ly Thuong Kiet St | 44 Tran Cao Van, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: £11 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hoa My Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoa My Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing