We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Ranked #97 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
victpria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Villa Hoa Su amazed us the moment we walked in, outstanding gardens and landscapes and western-style resort quality rooms. Photos on the website don't do it justice it is spectacular.
But with only 5 rooms this place feel much more intimate and real than the beach side massive resorts who (will) cater for cruise ship passengers
This place is truly family owned and run but very professional and with an in-house chef who cooks western or local cuisine breakfast (included in room price) and marvelous local food for dinner (US$10 a head).
Staff go the extra mile with a smile (ie prepared us a take away breakfast for our 5am flight). We spent 5 days in heaven in this hotel, it rates maximum stars in our eyes.
Not all rooms are offered on Agoda, it is really worth dropping Mrs Chau, the lovely owner, an email to confirm availability.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin__286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    39
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We spent six nights at the villa and it was such a welcome relief from the hectic nature of Saigon.
We were picked up by a driver from the airport free of charge and taken to the villa where the first thing I noticed was the beautiful garden - and then the swimming pool which I quickly dove into.
The rooms were very large and the whole place made us feel relaxed. There are only five rooms so we barely saw any of the other guests which was perfect.
The villa is located right between the beach and the old town - about a 10 minute bike ride to each (which is a lovely ride and very easy as its all flat). we spent most days at the beach and then came back to the villa for a swim, beer and shower and then continued into town.
All the staff were so lovely helping us out form arranging tours, offering suggestions of restaurants and other places to visit. Mr Bond (who loves to don a Hawaiian shirt) was beyond helpful.
There was free internet and a computer available which was a nice touch. Breakfast was provided - very simple western style and a delicious Vietnamese option (which was our preferred).
This isn't a large scale hotel with all the mod cons - but thank god it isn't. It actually felt like we were staying as a guest of a friend in the most beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverjamesgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Villa Hoa Su Franginani. Villa Hoa Su is about the half way between Qua Dai Beach and Hoi An Town. It is by the river and very quiet. The owner, Mr. Bond is such a nice man. The room is a little bit dark but nice big bed right in the middle of the room. There was a big bathtub in the backyard as well. We rented a motor bike at the villa for 2 days and rode to town while our stay with a couple of US dollars. It is more like a bed and breakfast than hotel/villa but very pleasant. If you look for something unique then Villa Hoa Sue is highly recommended. The breakfast can be improved by adding more variety though. However we enjoyed chilling out at the villa. Mr. Bond, thank you so much for your hospitality! Ian and Chiharu

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GypsyChiharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and this was to be the 'bit of luxury' in our trip. We were picked up from the airport which was great and we received a warm welcome on arrival. The location is quiet (except during the day when someone nearby used an electric saw frequently) and its a short taxi ride to Hoi An. There are bikes there which we used one day to ride to the beach which was fun.
The rooms are lovely but lacked soap, shampoo, hair dryer etc that you would expect at $75 a night. One of the towels was threadbare and had a tear that had been repaired. The curtain in our room wouldn't open but there was no attempt to repair it while we were there.
The beds are very firm so be prepared!
We felt that the basic management and service was lacking when we were there. We saw the owner for about 5 mins one day and the rest of the time we couldn't really find anyone. One afternoon when we returned there seemed to be a group of friends who were staying there having a great time and the person who was managing was partying with them. When another guest asked them to turn down the music because it had just woken him, the response was almost bordering on being rude. It did seem to be a private party and we ended up showering and going back into town.
We wanted to love this place and it does have some wonderful features and a beautiful setting but we felt that it wasn't value for money. All of the 3 star hotels we stayed in during the rest of our holiday in Vietnam had far better breakfasts, amenities and service. We stayed in Hoi An for one extra night but we moved to a small hotel with a pool, friendly staff, lovely room and it was $30 a night cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at Hoa Su with a family (children 11,12,13) who all loved the place. Great service in peaceful surroundings even if a little inconvenient to get to town. Nothing is too much for the very attentive staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alby_Mangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
929 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this beautiful hotel in April, it was a highlight in our trip to Vietnam. The rooms are beautiful light and airy, bed huge and very comfortable and the outdoor bath and shower are to die for, we did not even use the indoor shower which looked out over the private garden. Ever thing about the Villa Hua Su is beautiful from the lush and colourful gardens to the ponds and lovely pool. The staff are fantastic and very friendly they go out of their way to helpyou, organise taxi's into town, bikes to ride into town and the beach and serve lovely fresh breakfasts which you order what ever you like in sitting amongst the gardensand ponds. This hotel is small and very quiet and only a cheap taxi fare into town at night, we rode our bikes to the beach ( not as good as the pool at the hotel) and into town during the day. I would reccomend to Villa Hua Su to anyone wanting to stay in quiet paradise in Hoi An in of the best hotels we have ever stayed in all our travel around the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Tranquil, relaxing, blissful and perfect for a quiet break amidst the high energy ride of a visit to Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi.

A delightful place to rest, relax and recharge your batteries. Great service all round and very friendly, personable staff that will soon become your friends. The luxury rooms are fantastic - huge bed; light, airy and spacious rooms; clean, tidy and well thought out shower, toilet and sink areas, and best of all the outside bath and second shower with huge head.

Leave the room and venture out into the communal area and find a picture perfect scene of large shady central area, complete with multiple fans, tables, chair, comfy lounge areas and internet. Here's where you'll be served a great breakfast in the morning - perfect to set you up for the day, and for $10 you can have a feast of a meal in the evening (skip lunch or you won't be able to eat it all!). The shady central area is surrounded by an exquisite lotus pond, complete with numerous fish and adds to the feeling of total relaxation. Adjoining the lotus pond is a bathlike swimming pool; bathlike because it is so warm you could easily spend all day paddling around. If you can haul yourself out then the accompanying sunloungers are right next to it, so bring a book and dig in.

Free pedal bike loan means you can cycle into Hoi An village itself, or venture to the beach, or indeed just head out and explore the surrounding countryside. Village and beach both take 10 mins max and it's flat riding all the way, with very little traffic to contend with. Not up to peddling, they have mopeds to hire too and if it all seems too much hassle they'll call you a taxi which will arrive in a couple of minutes and cost a couple of dollars to go to the village.

We stayed three days and tried to extend our stay to a week we were having such a great time. Unfortunately with only five rooms they were already booked up. We'll definitely be heading back here when we visit Cambodia and Laos in a year or two. Great very for money and a great tonic for the soul.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoi AN Golden Rice
Hoi AN Golden Rice
#81 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Le Belhamy
Le Belhamy
#78 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Trails Resort
Hoi An Trails Resort
#58 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hoa Su Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Property: Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Address: Hamlet No 5, Cam Thanh Ward | Hoian City, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hoa Su Frangipani 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Hoa Su Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing