We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place looks as if it needs a good scrub down and a lick of paint.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The place looks as if it needs a good scrub down and a lick of paint.”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Firstly these guys need to spend some money on maintainance, everything seemed to be worn out or broken. The place looks as if it needs a good scrub down and a lick of paint.

The staff were friendly (when you could find them, it didn't help that there was no uniform).

We were planing on staying mutiple nights but through experience I only booked one which was a good decision.

I think this hotel was once a very amazing place to stay but through lack of mantaince and over relaxed service it's lost it's soul.

There are much better hotels for this price range.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awabinigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    40
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Marvellous small boutique villas, great peacefull and unique quiet surrounding at the river side. Within minutes you are in the centre of Hoi An. Unique setting because of only limited excellent equipped amount of rooms: outdoor and indoor shower/bath, comfortable bed (not too hard like other beds in Vietnam), etc

Whole staff including night guard make sure your stay is one to remember, lovely and very warm people/family!
True value for money. Stay approx 40% of my time in hotels worldwide, this is now one my "shortlist"....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine_Niels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our only regrets about the Villa Hoa Su was not having stayed long enough (3 days) and having to leave it. The villa is set in some truly amazing landscaping, with a very huge public pavilion (containing antique outdoor day beds, dining areas and an internet desk) that seems to float atop an enormous pond filled with immense lily pads. Also within the pond is the pool, and it is quite a surreal experience to hang over the pool’s edge and be at eye level with all of the lily pads and their enormous blossoms. We had done our research and preferred being out of town to enjoy Villa Hoa Su’s peace and tranquility. It is a 10 minute cab ride (very cheap and we waited no more than 5 minutes or so to get one) or a 15 minute bike ride (free, provided by Villa Hoa Su). Or you can take a 15 minute bike ride and go to the spectacular Cu Dai beach if you can tear yourself away from Villa Hoa Su’s pool and gardens. The rooms were beautiful, huge, spotlessly clean and with views to the gardens. Each room comes with indoor and outdoor showers and outdoor tub, so it felt like a private spa. Staff was very friendly and caring. One of our favorite experiences were the meals (lunch and dinner, which are optional and very affordable) cooked by Villa Hoa Su's great cook, Thanh (sp?), and his food easily ranks as some of the best we had in the country (and that is saying something as we splurged and had a lot of gourmet food in Vietnam). Ask him to make "fish in clay pot," you won't regret it. The entire experience was a luxurious value for the money, and this is the perfect place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All five rooms are identical and all face the pond and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loco2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at this small oasis for three nights and found it very peaceful and relaxing. This is not a big 5 star resort. It is located in an out of the way place between Hoi An centre and the beach and there are only 5 rooms, however this makes it all the more charming. The taxi into town only costs about $2.00AU or you can ride their complimentary bicycles. The outdoor areas are like an oasis. The dining pavillion is in the middle of the fish and lilly pond along with the pool. The pool itself it quite small but it's setting is most beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and there is an outdoor private courtyard with bath and shower (and also an indoor shower). The rooms don't appear dirty but the housekeeping could be better as on closer inspection there is a bit of dust and grime. The bedding was clean but the towels were not so good (it seems all towels in Vietnam are well worn) I would have expected a hair dryer, and also bubble bath to enjoy the outdoor bath, but it seems there weren't many extras provided here!!! But our overall experience was that we loved it and would stay again. If the rooms were sparkling clean and a few extras provided, this would be 5 star luxury!! We liked it being out of the way from the main touristy areas and the staff were most helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed 7 nights in this little oasis and loved every minute of it. Yes, it is tucked away from the main area (thankfully) and yes it wasn't brand new or perfect but for what we paid and the experience we had we thought it was brillant value for money. The staff were always attentive and helpful and never far away. A taxi into town worked out to around $2.20 (Aus$) and the bike ride was an easy 10-15 minute ride. The courtyard shower and bath were a real pleasure to use and we never used the indoor shower at all. Overall we loved the place and had a very relaxing time while there and thought it was great value for money

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenandCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Im not sure if everyone else got stuck into the local rice wine but I found this place REALLY different to the reviews!!!
First of all, yes it is quiet and tucked away. Really tucked away... In fact nothing is in walking distance, not even food options so its a taxi (or slightly scarey bike ride) anywhere.
Secondly, yes it has amazing rooms and a pool. Well they would have been amazing ten years ago. In fact the place has spectacular potential. But its well passed it's prime and I found it completely run down and shabby. So disappointing.
And lastly, this place positions itself as luxurious but a Luxury hotel would have fresh crisp sheets (ours were old and scratchy), a comfortable bed (OK, these are hard to find in Vietnam but this was definitely on the far end of firm) soft, fluffy towels (ours were ancient, thin and horrible) and clean. Our villa was really dusty - and I mean, the bedside table and light were covered in dust and the cupboards were broken and had missing handles.
Its about attention to detail, the little things, that make a place special and memorable. Like the old soap left in the garden from previous guests. The lack of shampoo and conditioner. And the chickens and dog poop that greeted us by the entrance. Now that was memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie_LouAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and were very happy with our choice. Run by a brother and sister team, this 5 villa complex is amongst the houses of the locals. A beautiful garden and pool area surrounds the rooms and the outside marble bath is divine.
The morning breakfast was lovely and if you have a chance, have lunch there too-the chef knows his stuff!
Only one issue for me-the bed is quite hard but this is not unusual for Asian hotels and should not detract you from this option.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Atlas Hoi An Hotel
Atlas Hoi An Hotel
#72 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.3 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Trails Resort
Hoi An Trails Resort
#64 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
KOI Resort and Spa Hoi An
KOI Resort and Spa Hoi An
#86 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hoa Su Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Property: Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Address: Hamlet No 5, Cam Thanh Ward | Hoian City, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hoa Su Frangipani 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Hoa Su Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing