We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, rooms and clean facilities and staff service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #161 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, rooms and clean facilities and staff service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Very good hotel. Excellent staff, friendly ad very helpful on every aspect. Hotel well located midway between the beach and the old town. 10 mins bicycle ride to both of them or free bus hotel bus shuttle to old town through out the day. Very happy with the 2 nights I spent at the hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    346
    217
    131
    82
See reviews for
30
205
202
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I think if you know what you're walking into at Sunflower, you'll be fine, but I also think that the Trip Advisor Reviews are very misleading.

Based on these reviews, we thought Sunflower was a really, really nice 2 star hotel, almost 3 star. It is not. The staff is incredibly nice and way better than what you'd expect at a 2 star - I almost hate to write this review because the staff was so nice and accommodating even after we left, but if the reviews here were more accurate, I would have saved both us and the hotel some aggravation.

We were shown 2 different rooms before we decided the Sunflower was not for us, so I can safely say that while the room floors and sheets are cleaner than your average 2 star hotel, the walls in the hallway are filthy, the fans in the rooms are coated with a layer of dust that it has not even occurred to anyone to clean in quite some time, the wall paint in the rooms is peeling off, and in the first room they put us in, the bathroom walls above the shower tiles had molded over. The front desk worker said this was due to water damage, but so what? Mold smells and is not an indication of real cleanliness.

I thought, based on the TA reviews and the prices (which are high for a 2 star in Vietnam), that this was going to be a great find. Turns out the prices are more indicative of value for dollar in Hoi An (which can be a costly town) than a reflection of what you'll get at Sunflower.

Bottom line: if you expect average 2 star digs, you'll actually be pleased. If you expect anything more than that, you should probably stay somewhere else and save everyone a headache.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchourstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were dropped off by the bus travel company in Hoi An and once we alighted, we were Swarmed with people asking us to check into their hotels, including this one. they even offered something even more ridiculous to begin with, pick up service to anywhere within Hoi An. (which some 5 star hotels in other cities i have stayed before don't even have it) so i thought this was too good to be true and persuaded my friend to go to the original hotel down the road which we originally intended to stay in.

But i was wrong, this was the best hotel you could get, excellent service, staff in the lobby spoke great english and was very friendly and will strike a conversation with you / greet you at the door when you arrive back at the hotel. and best of all, free shuttle service to and from the hotel to anywhere in Hoi An town just a phone call away.

the rooms are spacious and clean, no frills, with a great swimming pool. this is the best value you could get!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommylai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingy83
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

After an awful nights stay at another hotel in town we booked into The Sunflower.We were a bit apprehensive after our last experience but we shouldn't have worried. Staff greated us on arrival asked us which room we'd prefer and away we went.

The room was small but very clean they're were even fresh flowers left on the beds for us. Location is in the middle of the beach and town - but you can hire bikes right outside for 1 dollar a day (just be careful because we think the bike lady took our key and then charged us for losing it!)

Pool area was great and breakfast was buffet style.

The service made our trip what it was and we messed the lady about over our open bus tickets but she answered all our hundreds of questions and made us feel like we were no trouble at all.

Hoi An is one of the best places to go in Vietnam and so id thid hotel. STAY THERE :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyCr0ckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Where do I begin?
Some fellow travelers raved about staying here, so when I came to town, I checked it out and immediately loved it's sweeping staircase, smiling staff, and lovely pool in the back. It got better as I got more acquainted with the place.

The rooms are spacious, the halls extra wide, so you feel
Ike royaly. At the end of each hallway, the views are picturesque.

The ladies I had met had happily mentioned the breakfast buffet that is included with your stay. I was wondering how good can it be? Well folks, it is excellent. So much to choose from AND, they change it up each day. This foodie was impressed.

The staff are wonderful, so happy! My first night, I ordered room service because I was a bit tired from the daylong motorcycle ride. The woman who came to my door was so sweet and helpful, she brought a big smile to the face of this weary traveler.
Any questions or needs were tended to with the utmost of care and consideration by all the staff.

It is located is between town and the beach so one needs a scooter, bicycle or cab to get to where the "action" is, and this was fine with me. Accessible to everything in under10 minutes with my scooter. Oh, they offer free personalized shuttle service that I didn't use, but was told it comes in just a few minutes.

I had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was one of those kind of rooms that you enjoy hanging out in.......comfortable, clean and pleasant. TV with tons of channels in English, a giant armoir, and water that ran well and hot in seconds. There was a fridge and hot pot too. The management has really done the details with this one. Even the red "nightlight" lamp made me more comfortable when going to sleep.

I had to leave Hoi An to meet up with a friend in HCM, and it was hard to leave this place that I SO enjoyed. Thinking about going back during this trip, I really enjoyed the time I called The Sunflower "home".


I keep thinking of more positives to share, but I better stop here. Don't want the price to go up the next time I roll into town. :)

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the balcony, SO nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acquablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendell nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

staff very helpfull,great food, they do not accept any credit cards

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnybravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

For everyone who like the beach, a not sleeping city and a beautiful area need to go to Hoi An. We rent a scooter and crossed around in the area of Hoi An. The Sunflower Hotel was the perfect place to stay. The people are very helpfull in explaining the good places and routes. In case you want to do something, they are willing to organize it for you. The location was perfect, although we did a lot of things with the scooter, we walked also to beach (30 min.) and town (15 min.).
Maybe more important: the room, hotel itself and the breakfast area are clean! Very nice to start and end your day. And not to forget: the swimming pool!!

We were more than happy to stay here and will come back here in future!

Room Tip: Be honest about what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Ferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#80 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tribee Hostel
Tribee Hostel
#120 of 244 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#20 of 194 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nhi Trung Hotel
Nhi Trung Hotel
#57 of 244 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing