We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the amenities you need!”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #162 of 288 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay!
The hotel is very clean, modern, and big with great amenities. The breakfast buffet that is included is delicious! With tons of fresh food options, juices, tea and coffee, that are constantly restocked, it's definitely filling!
The swimming pool and lounge area are a great bonus seeing as the beach is a long 40 walk away..
The hotel location isn't that ideal, long walk to the beach, 15 minute walk to Old Town but they try to make up for it with a shuttle bus, and bike rentals.

Dorm room was very nice and clean. Small balcony (looking intro someone's yard), good cool air-con, hot showers, bath tub, comfortable bunks, big lockers.
Only complaint about rooms is one toilet and shower for 6 people is very inconvenient, and only extra toilets are on the ground floor.

Staff were friendly and helpful, didn't have any problems booking more nights at reception as someone had mentioned.

Over all I think this this is good stay in Hoi An, good service with friendly atmosphere, not quite backpackers budget though..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarissaVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Really liked sunflower hotel. Rooms are very good and reasonably priced. Swimming pool is a big plus. Breakfst was very good and included nice vietnamese food options.

The hotel is located a good 15Minute walk to the old town though, keep in mind. Therefore the beach is closer than for other hotels. You can rent bikes or motobikes easily there for a good price that shorten the distances.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorsten27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We showed up at 8 a.m. and waited to check in at 12. When we went into our room it was completely disgusting. Dirty sheets, blankets hanging off the bed, and the room smelled like wet dog. It hadn't been aired out for awhile, or cleaned for that matter. When we talked to them about this they seemed to not care and gave us attitude. The staff then went on to accuse my friend for not paying for breakfast before we ate. After a few minutes arguing, another staff member came and said she remembered we had paid. Finally we moved to another hotel because we didn't like the fact of the dirty room, their attitude was bad, and they hold your passport until you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Highlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Sunflower is a really nice hotel, with private rooms and dorms. Its clean, has a lovely pool and good breakfast selection. Wifi works really well and has computers in reception too free of charge. The staff are helpful and friendly although they have a system which to me seems like the hotel itself cant make reservations its all done through hostelbookers, booking.com etc etc. We asked to stay another night but the hotel just tell u its full yet u can book online. It seemed to happen alot from talking to people. Its at great place to meet people and swap stories. i would definatly go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Sunflower hotel is a great place in Hoi An, it's location is about a 15 min walk from the old town. They have a breakfast buffet which is included so its a bonus, lots of food to choose from. The rooms are clean and it seems like the staff is always around cleaning something.

The majority of the people staying at the hotel are backpackers which gives it more of a hostel feel but not in a bad way. A great place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunflower Hotel as a guest in one of their six-bed dorm rooms. I really enjoyed my stay and meeting the other travelers this place attracts. There's a great pool, bar and restaurant on site and they serve the best buffet breakfast I've encountered in Vietnam! They have very affordable bike and motorbike rentals available, making it easy and cheap to get wheels for a ride to the beach or a day in Danang. If I ever return to Hoi An, I'll definitely be booking a room at the Sunflower again. *Note: This hotel is a 15 minute walk from the center of the old town. Walking back at night along the quiet streets felt safe enough to me, but it may make other solo female travelers a little uncomfortable. With that said, Hoi An has a very safe, small-town vibe to it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikadidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a great time at Sunflower. So much so that I don't know her name as we called her "mum". All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Good scooter hire service out the front door. Breakfast is excellent value given the price of the hotel. We stayed in a dorm room on the ground floor which was a little noisy, but kept us all happy. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Hoa Binh Hotel
Hoa Binh Hotel
#125 of 162 in Hoi An
514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paddy's Hostel
Paddy's Hostel
#54 of 228 in Hoi An
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Under The Coconut Tree Home Stay
0.3 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#41 of 228 in Hoi An
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tribee Kinh
Tribee Kinh
#45 of 228 in Hoi An
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing