We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took our money and ran!!”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #163 of 288 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed in the Sunflower Hotel for 3 nights a few weeks ago. The Hotel was very noisy with a large young backpacker party crowd and very far walk from town. The service at the buffet breakfast was slow, unfriendly and the food wasn't good.

We booked a 3 day 2 night Halong Bay cruise. It was a complete disaster!
-We booked on Imperial Cruise, but we were put on a Aurora boat.
-We made sure we had a itinerary that fit our needs, We got a itinerary completely different.
-Day one we were supposed to go to surprise cave, We went to a very small floating village to kayak. We had a "cooking class" that was in fact wrapping spring rolls.
-Day two, Since ourselves and only one other couple are the only people staying two nights we leave for the day on a smaller boat. We went kayaking and to a sales pitch pearl farm. We ate lunch and then they didn't know what to do with us! The crew played cards while we sat and talked to each other. They finally started the engine up and we trolleyed around Halong Bay for 4 hours. Finally they dropped us off at a floating house to not waste any more fuel on us. Another small boat with the new one day visitors who will stay with us tonight picked us up 30 minutes later. They then rushed us through Surprising Cave like sheep and then we were given 30 minutes to climb Titop Island, and sit on the beach! Are you kidding me it took that long to climb it. What a waste of a afternoon. We headed back to the big boat and a repeat of night one with the same food and same "cooking class".
-Day 3 they asked us if we wanted to go on another kayak through a floating village and gave us another pearl sales pitch.
- We booked a 2 night cruise and got the same terribly planned 1 night cruise twice.
- This is not what our itinerary looked like when we picked this cruise and we would have never done it. A complete waste of our money and time. Halong Bay deserves better companies taking people around that actually care!

- We made some inquiries about what had happened but Mr. Phi Hung who emailed us saying how shocked and upset he was just ended up blaming Mr. LeThanh Hieu who is the tour operations manager for Sunflower Hotel. Mr Phi Hung from Sunflower reservations took no responsibility and once they got their money thats all that mattered. Nothing was fixed. Out of sight, out of mind. The other couple with us on day two who booked directly through Aurora Cruises did get a partial refund.

We having been traveling for 9 months through Africa, The Middle East and Asia and this has by far been the WORST SERVICE WE HAVE SEEN ON OUR TRIP!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sunflower Hotel and were encouraged to book our Halong Bay tour through them. We were shown a brochure and booked a luxury boat (2 nights/ 3days) through Imperial Cruises for $190/pp so $760 for 4 people. We triple checked with them and Mr. LeThanh Hieu to make sure the itinerary we chose would be followed. IT WAS NOT! Firstly we were on a boat that was not Imperial Cruises, it was Aurora Cruises. The itinerary was NOT followed on the first or second day. On the second day the 4 of us and another couple, who were doing the 2 night/ 3 day cruise as well, (who only paid $150) were put on a boat and basically puttered around the bay for 8 hours waiting for our main boat with new people to return. We did not go to Titop Island like we were supposed to until 4pm that afternoon (10 am on itinerary). They rushed us, giving only 30 mins for the island. On top of this our second day was exactly like our first (as if there wasn't a 2 night/ 3 day itinerary at all).
We complained to Mr Hieu as well as to the manager of the Sunflower Hotel, Phi Hung (HIS HOTEL ORGANIZED THIS AND ASSURED US IT WOULD BE GREAT!) Both of them gave us the run around. Phi Hung blaming Mr. Hieu and Mr. Hieu not rectifying the situation at all. The other couple we were with were given a partial refund from the touring company they booked with but we were NOT! Mr Hung did nothing for us even though we went through his hotel and Mr Hieu (tour operator manager) did nothing either. He had the nerve to say he upgraded us. HAHA. Are you kidding???
DO NOT STAY AT SUNFLOWER HOTEL. THEY DO NOT HAVE YOUR BEST INTERESTS IN MIND. THEY JUST TOOK OUR MONEY AND THAT WAS THAT!!!
TERRIBLE SERVICE!
RIPPED US OFF!
LOUD HOTEL!
WAY OUT OF TOWN!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisacooper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

One thing i would say is book in advance, it does fill up quick. Very impressed with this hotel, originally we booked for 2 nights, we got to Hoi An later then planned and the next day wanted to stay an extra night to see all that we wanted to. We were told on reception that as we had used a particular website to book that was more expensive than the others that it wasn't fair we were paying more than the other guests and were offered a third night for free!!!! Needless to say we were VERY happy with this! The room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet very good. The pool area was also nice to relax in, the bar was good with some good offers on cocktails and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. We also booked t tour to My Son ruins from the hotel, was well ran but the other minor downside with the tour was that the entrance fee to My Son ruins was 60,000 but we were all charged 100,000 on the bus, and then the guide expected a tip at the end, a bit naughty really! We also booked our onward bus through the hotel, a very comfy sleeper bus which was on time and got us to Hue when it should have done. All in all an excellent hotel in a very pretty and interesting town. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMorris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I've done all that, and now I like a relaxing stay at a hotel.
We were traveling as a group of 4 couples from NZ and Aus and booked at the Sunflower as part of our travels south from Hanoi and after good revues on trip-advisor. Unfortunately we aren't 18 anymore and weren't invited to the party that was going on on our floor, until 5am, closely followed by another one at the pool, and who would have thought that the ol' ring the door bell and run away prank was still popular. The local Rooster was rather put out as he had to wait until breakfast time to get a word in.
I would like to point out that this is no reflection on the staff, except their inability to in force their own rules, as they did apologise, many times.
So I suppose the lesson is, maybe a top 10 ranking on trip advisor doesn't cover everyone's expectations. We moved 20 metres down the road to the Phu Thinh Hotel to complete a very
peaceful stay in Hoian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Found a place in the dorm without booking (but do it, I think I was lucky). It costs more than most hostels I have been in (9$) but you cannot find much cheaper options in Hoi An, where hostels do not really exist. And what you get for the price is absolutely great. Dorm for 6 people, good beds, very clean bathroom (even a bathtub!), room cleaned every day, friendly staff, great complementary breakfast buffet, swimming pool. You can rent bikes right outside for 1$/day. Location is good, walking distance from the centre and bikng distance to the beach. The food sold for dinner could be improved, especially size wise (smallest pizza I have ever eaten :D)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreySweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is amazing value for money. As mentioned previously its a bit of a youth hostel feel (and price) and the clientele reflect that. The buffet breakfast is great value and has plenty of options (some a little unusual). Highlight is the pool and the bar/poolside area. Hoi An can get pretty hot so the pool is a saviour and its a great social area. We stayed in a double room which was clean and comfortable. If you're on the pool side, watch out for being woken early by the monks chanting on the weekends - it was pretty loud in our room (403).

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Rooms in the hotel are very nice. The staff were so helpful and spoke good English. It's not right in the city but it really isn't more than 10 minute walk away. If that's too much of a walk they provide free shuttle runs between the city and the hotel. The beach is not too far and you can hire a bike to get there faster. It's a really nice bike ride there anyway. The breakfast is what really makes this place! It is massive with loads of choices for all tastes. The pool is also very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Hoa Binh Hotel
Hoa Binh Hotel
#126 of 162 in Hoi An
513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paddy's Hostel
Paddy's Hostel
#54 of 228 in Hoi An
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Under The Coconut Tree Home Stay
0.3 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#41 of 228 in Hoi An
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tribee Kinh
Tribee Kinh
#42 of 228 in Hoi An
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing