We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay in Hoi An!”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #179 of 275 Hoi An B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in Hoi An!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at Sunflower Hotel for 2 nights, 2nd - 4th April.

I was advised t stay at Sunflower by a friend and they were bang on! This is a great hostel with dorms that are clean, comfortable and have good a/c. There is a huge communal area including a swimming pool and a bar which makes Sunflower a brilliant place to meet other backpackers. The location is also very good. You are between the beach and the Old Town which is perfect.

Avoid their Cham Islands trip which is overpriced at USD 25.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    358
    226
    138
    85
See reviews for
30
209
214
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Nice place to stay, facilities a bit worn and dated.

The beds are quite comfortable, Breakfast was good. Location is a bit far from town.

There are better and cheaper options elsewhere; especially for single travelers who choose dorms beds. One might get for some bucks more a comfortable single room in other hotels... but sunflower is a good place to meet people. The number of mosquitoes and small sand flies close to the pool and common area is very annoying. I had so many bites The owner should something about that.

All in all would stay there again.

Room Tip: Private Rooms of similar quality(without breakfast) are cheaper in other hotels, but he breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Best thing about this place is the buffet breakfast. Well worth the higher room rate. Also has a pool and nice outside area - really social, great for meeting other travellers. Located a bit outside of town, about 20min walk to the old town, and a little away from the bars and club. Best advice is to hire a bike, can then cycle to beach and to town. Stick to cabs at night. Staff are ok, sometimes miserable and slightly rude, constantly yell in your face whilst shouting at eachother.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at the sunflower hostel. It is backpackers paradise. The staff is very friendly and out to help you with all your needs. The rooms are small but clean. Beds are very comfortable and AC works in all rooms, which is great. The included breakfast until 10am is professional, with an omelette bar and pancake station. My favorite part about this hostel is the LOCATION! Walking distance to downtown/river walkway. It is not far at all but you can always take a taxi or bike. Beach is a quick taxi away in opposite direction as well. I couldn't find anything negative about this hostel. I would stay again if I come back to Vietnam.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonianReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We , found the accommodation ok, here. A little noisy due to the hostel portion of the building,but thats to be expected be warned its busy with lots of young travellers. Our ,complaint really isn't the hotel,but its other role as a booking agency. We booked our Halong Bay cruise from here. We, we're shown a glossy promotion album of the Imperial luxury cruise line, and shown a 2 night three day itinerary. This looked excellent and we felt it would be suit our needs. It later became apparent,that what your led to believe you purchased and what you actually get are two different things. We ended up being booked on Aurora cruise lines whose boats didn't look like anything in the glossy promotion album. And our itinerary did not match the one promised,this was quite disappointing . As mentioned our four person family booked the two night tour.There was one other couple who booked two nights. The remaining people on the full boat were on the one night trip. On the second day the the boat had to return these people to port. Our group and other couple were put on a small boat to be toured around for the day. After visiting a few attractions it became apparent there really wasn't enough activities to keep us busy all day.So a good portion of the time was spent waiting around for the main boat to return.We asked the crew if we could go to Te Top island,which was on our original itinerary,but were told the boat wasn't licensed to go there.I,would suggest booking directly to the cruise line and I'd be wary about them as well.Make sure you get what's promised. As for the Sunflower Hotel .Once they get their commission they don't care what you get.Thats not customer satisfaction!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed in the Sunflower Hotel for 3 nights a few weeks ago. The Hotel was very noisy with a large young backpacker party crowd and very far walk from town. The service at the buffet breakfast was slow, unfriendly and the food wasn't good.

We booked a 3 day 2 night Halong Bay cruise. It was a complete disaster!
-We booked on Imperial Cruise, but we were put on a Aurora boat.
-We made sure we had a itinerary that fit our needs, We got a itinerary completely different.
-Day one we were supposed to go to surprise cave, We went to a very small floating village to kayak. We had a "cooking class" that was in fact wrapping spring rolls.
-Day two, Since ourselves and only one other couple are the only people staying two nights we leave for the day on a smaller boat. We went kayaking and to a sales pitch pearl farm. We ate lunch and then they didn't know what to do with us! The crew played cards while we sat and talked to each other. They finally started the engine up and we trolleyed around Halong Bay for 4 hours. Finally they dropped us off at a floating house to not waste any more fuel on us. Another small boat with the new one day visitors who will stay with us tonight picked us up 30 minutes later. They then rushed us through Surprising Cave like sheep and then we were given 30 minutes to climb Titop Island, and sit on the beach! Are you kidding me it took that long to climb it. What a waste of a afternoon. We headed back to the big boat and a repeat of night one with the same food and same "cooking class".
-Day 3 they asked us if we wanted to go on another kayak through a floating village and gave us another pearl sales pitch.
- We booked a 2 night cruise and got the same terribly planned 1 night cruise twice.
- This is not what our itinerary looked like when we picked this cruise and we would have never done it. A complete waste of our money and time. Halong Bay deserves better companies taking people around that actually care!

- We made some inquiries about what had happened but Mr. Phi Hung who emailed us saying how shocked and upset he was just ended up blaming Mr. LeThanh Hieu who is the tour operations manager for Sunflower Hotel. Mr Phi Hung from Sunflower reservations took no responsibility and once they got their money thats all that mattered. Nothing was fixed. Out of sight, out of mind. The other couple with us on day two who booked directly through Aurora Cruises did get a partial refund.

We having been traveling for 9 months through Africa, The Middle East and Asia and this has by far been the WORST SERVICE WE HAVE SEEN ON OUR TRIP!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sunflower Hotel and were encouraged to book our Halong Bay tour through them. We were shown a brochure and booked a luxury boat (2 nights/ 3days) through Imperial Cruises for $190/pp so $760 for 4 people. We triple checked with them and Mr. LeThanh Hieu to make sure the itinerary we chose would be followed. IT WAS NOT! Firstly we were on a boat that was not Imperial Cruises, it was Aurora Cruises. The itinerary was NOT followed on the first or second day. On the second day the 4 of us and another couple, who were doing the 2 night/ 3 day cruise as well, (who only paid $150) were put on a boat and basically puttered around the bay for 8 hours waiting for our main boat with new people to return. We did not go to Titop Island like we were supposed to until 4pm that afternoon (10 am on itinerary). They rushed us, giving only 30 mins for the island. On top of this our second day was exactly like our first (as if there wasn't a 2 night/ 3 day itinerary at all).
We complained to Mr Hieu as well as to the manager of the Sunflower Hotel, Phi Hung (HIS HOTEL ORGANIZED THIS AND ASSURED US IT WOULD BE GREAT!) Both of them gave us the run around. Phi Hung blaming Mr. Hieu and Mr. Hieu not rectifying the situation at all. The other couple we were with were given a partial refund from the touring company they booked with but we were NOT! Mr Hung did nothing for us even though we went through his hotel and Mr Hieu (tour operator manager) did nothing either. He had the nerve to say he upgraded us. HAHA. Are you kidding???
DO NOT STAY AT SUNFLOWER HOTEL. THEY DO NOT HAVE YOUR BEST INTERESTS IN MIND. THEY JUST TOOK OUR MONEY AND THAT WAS THAT!!!
TERRIBLE SERVICE!
RIPPED US OFF!
LOUD HOTEL!
WAY OUT OF TOWN!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisacooper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
#88 of 155 in Hoi An
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#95 of 155 in Hoi An
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 155 in Hoi An
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hoi An
1.5 mi away
Paddy's Hostel
Paddy's Hostel
#60 of 213 in Hoi An
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
SacLo Homestay and Hostel
#29 of 213 in Hoi An
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing