We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and great food and service”
Review of Thuan Y

Thuan Y
Ranked #178 of 806 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience and great food and service”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This restaurant is amazing, the signature dish fish in banana leaves is so good. If you are ever in Hoi An you need to visit and try the fish. The service provided was excellent, friendly and served very quickly. The food is fresh and delicious. Great family experience, we had a large group and every one was catered for especially the children.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    110
    29
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Really good simple restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Service was excellent and attentive. Good sense of humour. The food was delicious and served quickly. Don't miss the fish in banana leaves. They have specials to supplement the main menu. Squid with garlic was excellent. They also sell the local fresh beer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of Hoi An's best at the BEST price!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Thuan Y

As a veteran foodie and traveller I had to try this restaurant. Neville the Aussie expat who runs The Original Taste of Hoi An Food Tour recommended this place to me and we weren’t disappointed. We were great at the door and welcomed to the family. You see, this is a restaurant that’s ben in the family for 3 generations. The name Thuan Y means “follow the fresh idea” and the restaurant gives you a dining experience of taste, value, service and a nice riverfront location.

Seven days a week they visit the local market and buy fresh produce, it’s evident in the flavours of the dishes. Even the vegetables and leaves are washed in pure water, not local tap water. They prepare the food in the same manner as they do for their own family, and it’s not odd to see a family member dining at a nearby table on the same food.

We chose Neville’s suggested dishes of Grilled Fish in Banana Leaf, Calamari with Lemongrass (where they offered the amount of chilli to be used) along with our own choices of Hoi An Spring Rolls and the Eggplant with Garlic Butter which was divine. You can even grab a 25c beer here!

You cannot go wrong here, you can feel the family vibe and dedication to maintaining the tradition. The value for money is also extraordinary we had all of the above for 285,000VND or about $15AUD total.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fish in banana leaves!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had dinner at this place after we got the advice to do so. Who are we not to follow up on good advice? So we took our friends there, and had two Hoi An signature dishes first: white rose and spring rolls, both of great quality and taste. But the star of the evening is the house special, fish in banana leaf. The flavours are very rich, it is really a mouthwatering dish, try it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“There is much better”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited in the last couple of days and could not understand why this restaurant is rated where it is.
Whilst I accept that this is not 5 star but don' really appreciate a waitress texting whilst taking the order.
The spring rolls were very average which is my barometer and other dishes did not enthuse.
Look elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thuan Y also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Y? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing