We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a foodie tour even Anthony Bourdain would enjoy taking.......”

The Original Taste of Hoi An
Ranked #4 of 82 Food & Drink in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We share Hoi An’s best kept food secrets. The Ancient Town of Hoi An is just bursting with interesting and delicious Vietnamese dishes each with its own unique cultural profile; however for one reason or another much of this food remains anonymous and many visitors miss the opportunity to experience this tantalizing world of unique flavors. The aim of our tour is to provide an opportunity to unlock your adventurous culinary spirit and experience the epicurean delights of Hoi An.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a foodie tour even Anthony Bourdain would enjoy taking.......”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are looking for a tour that takes you to where the locals go to buy their produce and where you can get a taste and incite into the food of Vietnam then take a tour with Neville. Our morning commenced with being picked up by a larger than life Australian who has retired to Vietnam with his long suffering wife (he says). Arriving at a cafe in the suburbs of Hoi An, you meet many local people who form the team that provide an interesting, educational and very tasty tour of the town. After a breakfast snack, the group is guided across the street and up the way to the local food market, which is where the tour really gets going. After having seen where the locals buy their fresh food, the group starts walking through Hoi An, visiting a number a wonderful eateries, tasting a host of different food and drink and the entire time listening to the non-stop commentary from Neville. In addition to providing exceptional information on Vietnamese cuisine, Nev will also give you recommendations on tailors, jewellers, restaurants and anything else you may want to find in Hoi An. A excellent way to start your visit to Hoi An and a wonderful way to meet new people who are very keen to show you a great time and teach you about their town and the awesome food that can be found within. Don't have breakfast before you take the tour and bookings are essential.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    26
    14
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A big man with a big heart”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Neville is a big man with a big heart for everything Vietnamese and by the end of your four and a half hours with him you too have taken the food and it's people to your heart- and stomach! The food is wonderful and Neville has so much information to impart, and he is so entertaining that the time just flies past. It is a well organized tour and Neville is ably assisted by his wife Colleen and "food director" Sen. At the end they give you fantastic recommendations for jewellery, dentistry, massages, restaurants.....Nothing is too much bother for them and I am so pleased I have another week here to use these recommendations. Do yourself a favour and book this tour as it will be a highlight of your time in Hoi An.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo_AnnHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO IT. NOW.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Neville is a fantastic guide.
You will not want to eat for days after, (or at least a few hours!)
The knowledge he brings and respect he has gained from the locals is invaluable. Plus many many recommendations for other things to do/eat/see/buy whilst in Vietnam. Even days after the tour I have emailed him for advice and he is more than happy to help!
People may say that this tour is expensive, but all the vendors are payed above normal prices for their products so as to improve their livelyhoods.
Stop thinking about doing this tour and just do it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like your food and love Vietnam, this tour is for you”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 6 weeks travelling Vietnam South to North 2 years ago and missed this tour whilst in Hoi An as it was booked out so I booked in advance this time and it was the best decision. We don't tend to do tours but this one was well worth it and has paid for itself in so many ways. My daughter and I found the tour itself really interesting and Neville's passion shines through. The team ensure the whole morning runs smoothly. It was also such a surprise to see Sen as part of the team as I met her on the beach selling the day before. My husband (who didn't do the tour but has been guided by me since) and I definitely agree the food we have eaten this time exceeds our trip last time and that can be attributed to the knowledge and confidence to be adventurous with our food choices. I carry my map and name of the 43+ dishes tasted with me every where. Luckily we had 10 days in Hoi An (2 left) to use our new knowledge and eat the best food imaginable. I return everyday to start with a Sinh To Trai Cay. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us which has truly added to our experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Street food at its best.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thanks Neville for our introduction to street food in Hoi An. With over 40 tastings along with your excellent explanations we had the most wonderful morning. The recommendations regarding restaurants, tailors and jewellers have been spot on with quality and price. Tuyets on the beach is not a place you should miss with the moon rising(Miss Saigon) and your excellent seafood menu, not to mention the price at $10 per person. We will be back for more. Great to also catch up with yourself, Colleen and your friend knowing if you eat there it must be a good recommendation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Taste of Hoi An also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to The Original Taste of Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing