We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun cooking class and yummy food!”

White Lotus Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A not-for-profit NGO owned restaurant specialising in top quality, affordable Asian and International cuisine.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun cooking class and yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Did a cooking class here, was very fun. Went to the local parket for fresh ingredients, then went on a boat on the river. Cooked 3 different meals. It was fun and yummy and we got to take the receipes. Profits go to charity for disadvantaged children.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomanieNedergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    149
    45
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and very efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friends and I were enticed into White Lotus while walking up the road and we weren't disappointed. Their Vietnamese Pancake, spring rolls and salads were fesh and delicious. I had the best Vietnamese ice coffee there too.
We were so impressed that we decided to do the Cooking Class. Loved the whole experience. We were taken through all sections of the local market and introduced to various local;foods. Our teacher, Thuy, was so helpful and gave us so much of her time.
Loved the trip back to the restaurant up the river. Make sure you have lots of time after to eat the delicious food. We had to rush off. This cooking class was one of the highlights of my Vietnam holiday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebLowe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value and proceeds go to charity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food was simple, traditional and good value. The cooking class is excellent value. $20USD per person for tour of the markets, back by boat, cooking and eating of 3 dishes. I now know how to cook Pho, Na Noi spring rolls and Chicken in claypot with Ginger. YUM!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great appetisers and salads but main course dishes were disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed close to White Lotus so popped in for lunchtime snacks of fresh spring rolls, fried spring rolls and green papaya salad, all of which we're excellent quality and value for money. We decided to treat our friends for dinner and the 4 main course dishes were disappointing. There was hardly any chicken, fish, prawn or beef in each dish but an abundance instead of capsicum, onion and sauce which was a shame.

The service is friendly and food great for snacks and lunch, but on this occasion the mains at dinner weren't up to standard. A shame given we wanted to support the very worthy cause.

Helpful?
Thank chin_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toolamba, victoria
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ate hear a couple times over a few days. The best restaurant in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

White Lotus is a not for profit restaurant supporting a secular charity called Project Indochina. The charity supports education, housing, clean water, sanitation, health care and income generating opportunities for the poor and disadvantaged kids in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. On social responsibility, it gets the big tick up front.

The restaurant is down a quiet end of town. It is beautifully appointed and the service is attentive and pleasant without ever being pushy. THe menu contains a large selection of Asian and Western dishes, and all beef and lamb is Australian grown and cheaper than you could buy it for in Aus.

The first visit to White Lotus I ordered Cao Lau (Hoi An's famous noodles) and my wife had Hoi An fried rice with chicken. Both were utterly delicious, and though we aren't sure if they were true to the traditional syle, they were the tastiest versions of these dishes we had while in Hoi An. Prices were cheap for what we got.

Our second visit was to have a second breakfast (who doesn't do that on holidays?). My wife had a lemon pancake with lemon juice in the batter plus fresh lemon to squeeze over it. Best lemon pancake we've ever had, but was fairly small. A couple of Vietnamese coffees had us wired up for the day like Lance Armstrong.

Definitely go out of your way to eat here. The food is better than anything else we had in Hoi An and it supports a good cause.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Lotus Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to White Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing