We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine price & nice location”
Review of My Chau Hotel

My Chau Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
My Chau Hotel
Ranked #234 of 271 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine price & nice location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My Chau's location is nice - close walking distance to the main tourist area, but just outside so the price was more reasonable. The surrounding area has good street food and less expensive restaurants. The bathroom smelled quite awful (mold/bad plumbing), but leaving the door closed helped. The staff were mostly helpful and friendly though they seemed to resent us having negotiated a cheaper price for the room (ended up paying $8 for a fan room). Really liked the area and would stay here again. As a light sleeper, the busy morning hours (5:30-9am) of the street corner woke me up every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
1
14
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at My Chau Hotel while visiting Hoi An. Location and price are biggest draw. 5minutes from Old Town and set in a cozy street with lots of affordable restaurants and good street food (Banh Mi Queen!). Rooms are simpel and fairly clean (ants in bathroom), but had ac, fan, cable television and comfy clean bed. As for previous mentioned theft situation, the staff warned us about theft by local guests and offered to store our valuables at the front desk. Staff was friendly and helpfull, bike rental available. Good place for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank settekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2013. We tipped up at 6am and they had a room for us (without a prior booking). The rooms were reasonably priced but did smell of damp and the aircon was more like a whisper of cold air every 5 mins.

One lady on recepetion was very helpful however the others seemed to be trying to earn as much money from us as possible. 1) they tried to say our laundry weight was double what it was and we had to argue for 10mins until they accpeted what we were saying. 2) we hired bikes and were told if we needed a new tyre it would be 100k VND. We did get a puncture and were told by phone that for someone to come out and replace it would be 200k VND. Only when we threatened to just leave the bike if they didnt come out for 100k VND did they suddenly agree. when i gave the guy who fixed it 100k he seemed very taken aback and grafteful - i am sure h never asked for any money let alone 200k and it was just our hotel making more money from us. 3) i had reserved a bus ticket but then cancelled this as changed my plans. the hotel would not give me my passport back until i paid them 50k VND. they claimed this was for VAT. i refused to pay the money as there was no physical ticket and by this time i didnt believeanything they were saying. I was then told i had cost them 150k VND. RIDICULOUS

This hotel is in a good location and the prices are not too bad but just be careful for the extra charges they try and put on everything and also the rooms are very very hotand noisy if by the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Baden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

the hotel is near the center, that's the only good thing. the staff is nfriendly and not helpful at all. there was an air-con in our room, but it didn't work, we asked if they can fix it, but they said it's just a fan room (for 20$ per night). they say you can take a shower behind the desk, before you go on the nightbus but they don't give you a towel. i never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammsonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were looking for a hotel with friends of ours. There was a full moon coming up, so everything was pretty packed. We came up to this hotel and asked for a room. They only had one double room. We asked specifically if there was any other room available, but there was not. We took the double room and our friends went further to search for a room somewhere else. Then two girls came in and asked for a room, and the girl behind the counter said: 'We have a small room. It's actually for one person, but you can have it.' Our jaws dropped. When we asked the girl about it, she said we were too big. Although we were the same size as the girls who just got the room. Then the next day, our friends came to pick us up and the women behind the counter was very rude, telling them that we were not staying there. Then they wouldn't lent us one bike for two persons, because again we were too big. And after the second night we had to pack our bags because we didn't tell them we were staying (we didn't tell them we were leaving either), and they had new guests coming. The air-conditioning broke down the second night and it took about half an hour of convincing before they would come up to look at it.

The hotel in itself is ok, nothing special, but the way we were treated, would make us never come back here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnjaH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Prices are quite expensive for the kind of service we get. People are otherwise sleeping or unfriendly. The rooms are hot as hell and the only way to cool it is to use a very noisy fan. The light didn't work. The wifi is not working properly. When i use their service to rent a motorbike they gave me a crapy one. The tyre went flat and they make me pay 60 000dong to replace it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are looking for budget accomodation in Hoi An, do not think that this is the best option! We woke up to find our room swarming with ants, the staff were rude and unfriendly, even too our Vietnamese friend. The room was dull with no windows, smelly, but the shower was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chau Hotel

Property: My Chau Hotel
Address: 4 Tran Cao Van Street | Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing