We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T EAT HERE!! Dirty- Filthy and Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Banh Mi Phuong

Banh Mi Phuong
Ranked #59 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been serving up the most delicious banh mi in Hoi An for more than 30 years. We use a special sauce made from the juice of the smoked pork to create a standout flavor for own brand . See you at my shop
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DON'T EAT HERE!! Dirty- Filthy and Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Don't believe the hype. This place is disgusting- it may have been nice when Anthony Bourdain visited but success has turned this place into a dump!! Terrible Service and Filthy- it now caters to foreigners and is completely disgusting- two people in my party got very bad stomach problems after eating here- turn away and go to the main market- lots of vendors ( we really like #12) Good Luck!

Helpful?
1 Thank baku2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,210
    347
    98
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We went to this little shop on the advice of a number of fellow travellers and several locals. What an excellent decision!

Described as the best banh mi in the world by Anthony Bourdain, this unassuming venue serves up sandwiches to die for, especially the number 9. This is my one absolute must-do dining experience in Hoi An.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in a bagette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Based on reviews we found this place and was not disappointed. So many layers of flavours!!
My tip is to sit out the back with a cold beer and work your way through at least 2 different style of Banh Mi. Always add chilli and you'll be come away very happy. We've eaten here two days straight. My 8 yr old boy had a slight reaction around his mouth which suggests peanut oil or peanuts are ingredients in the sauces.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralphbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfectly balanced sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Went twice during our 2 days in Hoi an. The bread is warm and crusty, meat cooked perfectly (the Thit nuong) is the way to go, perfect balance of veggies to meat. The second time we took an extra one to go for the airport but could not wait and ate it on our way back to the hotel. And a sandwich is only 20000 dong (less than a dollar)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must if in Hoi An - a great safe way to eat street food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are in Hoi An - you must pay a visit to Banh Mi Phuong - she is on the eastern side of the market (almost opposite Mermaids restaurant) - a little hard to find, but keep looking and you will find her. Her wonderful service and amazing food is a must - for $1 Banh Mi - it will be one of the best you will ever eat. The service was faultless! We ate here twice - she only has 1 table out the front which we scored on our first visit - on our second visit, the table was taken, but never fear, we were quickly whisked through the back, into the market just behind her at her mothers stall where we were introduced to a whole other world - we still had Phuong's most amazing Banh Mi (personal favourite was the Barbecue), but we had an array of juices and mother's Vietnamese Chicken and White Rose (dumplings) - heaven!! Why go to a restaurant for lunch when you can eat amazing food here! A must for visitors to Hoi An.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliscali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banh Mi Phuong also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Banh Mi Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing