We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love shopping here”

Reaching Out Arts and Crafts
Ranked #7 of 409 Shopping in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reaching Out is a social enterprise, training and employing persons with disabilities. Our artisans create beautiful gifts of high quality from tea ware patterned after that used by the Imperial family in Hue to elegant table ware and bedspreads of colourful silks. Our silver jewellery is designed in-house by our staff and made right on the premises. Customers are invited to visit the workshop which is right behind the retail store to watch how their purchases have been made. Our staff are willing to answer your questions and of course can tell you the details of the processes by which your gifts are crafted. They will also proudly show you to our Tea House, where you can experience a cup of coffee or tea, served in the traditional Vietnamese manner by our speech and hearing impaired staff.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love shopping here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been to Hoi An 3 times. On our first visit we found Reaching Out and just had to buy some of the jewellery. Second time we bought a bedspread and jewellery and the third time we bought a full dinner set. The packaging was amazing - no breaks at all from Vietnam to Australia. Then to continue on our buying we ordered more of the crockery and again the service was wonderful. We cant say enough about this place - amazing artisans, amazing staff and wonderful service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karen13156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    61
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is my sort of shop!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Wow I loved this shop!! A haven away from all the hustle and bustle of the streets of Hoi An. We visited twice and bought most of our holiday gifts here. The choice is fantastic and the quality is amazing. We first visited on a Sunday when the workshop was closed so returned today and were recognised by a charming young man who works there. He gave us a tour of the workshops and it was wonderful to see such skilful people at work. If you want to buy quality gifts and support a good cause then you MUST visit 'Reaching Out'. And if you really do want to find a haven of peace and tranquility then also visit the 'Reaching Out Tea House'. Wonderful!!

Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilVWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really like a person shopping for clothes aonhung not too high. I bought one of these suits cost dauCua It was not very clean and good restaurant. Women are very friendly and professional. Go back the next day and a few changes are made. The next day, all was done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vu n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A quiet haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The staff were great, the drinks were good & we followed the recommendation for the passion fruit cookies - amazing! Very calm & tranquil.
Be sure to visit the Reaching Out arts & crafts shop for some fabulous pieces.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VS69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We found this on trip advisor and thought we better check it out. Great place! Interesting to walk through and great place to pick up gifts on any budget!

Helpful?
Thank Angel25081985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reaching Out Arts and Crafts also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Arts and Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing