We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible start to our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Ranked #55 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible start to our stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was so looking forward to a relaxing and wonderful four-night stay. But everything went downhill from the moment we stepped into the room. It had a musty odour which was most unwelcoming. Room desperately needs some sort of air freshener! Next, we took a walk around the resort. To our utmost disappointment, the beach in front of the hotel was closed and unlikely to reopen during our time there. Their so-called "side beach" was open but it was a mess. Back in the room, there were mosquitoes whizzing about. Urgh! We spent a long time trying to hunt them down. Dinner in the hotel's 24-hour Sensations restaurant was a shambolic affair. My bowl of Pho noodles was not served until my husband had finished his starter and his main. The long wait ruined dinner for us. What a shame, because the food was really rather tasty. On another positive note, the resort had decent wi-fi everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear guests from UK,
At first my deep apologize on what's happened during your stay.i have raised up this issue to people concerned and an accurate adjustment will be done.
Thanks to stay with us and your comments which are taken positively for to improve such disappointement.
as Uk market is new for us and we have received recently very good comments, i am very concerned.
I hope you will come again and kindly let me know . i will welcome u and look after your stay to make enjoyable.
once again my sinceres apologize.
Wish u all the very best for 2014.
My best regards,
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    779
    223
    56
    22
See reviews for
640
1,428
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Evenley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Can't fault the hotel, clean, friendly staff and breakfast is brilliant. However, despite complaining to reception staff, general manager and being told that extra security staff would be put on to resolve ths problem, nothing has been done. The noise makers are Japenese and Chinese and hotel and hotel management know this, so why not put them all in a separate part of the complex. Been offered a different room on another floor but have spoken to other guests who say it is just as noisy.This is our last night here, thank goodness and we will never return. SUNRISE, your hotel is going downhill fast so do something about it.

Room Tip: Can't suggest anything at this moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoniandPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guests,
At first my apologize on what happened to your stay.We were aware of this issue and we have patrol during the nite with security and talk to noisy guests around to stop their noise . my security and night manager did this exercise and we found guests keep quiet and they keep on going later on. we have raised a complaints to tour operator on this issue. we have set up a rule to divided the resort into 2 sectors and to balance our mixed nationalities. this time the group was bigger than expected and we were obliged to set up some rooms near yours on the same corridor or above. we are sorry for that.If you have talked to us and willing to change the room event on higher category we for sure look into it. on no surcharge.
Beside this issue we have received quite a lot of very good to excellent comments on trip advisor about our friendly staff and quality we try to deliver. we appreciate and it is encouraging for our young team.
we try to be fair and positive on any bad comments which is a way to improve and adjust.
We feel sorry you did not wish to be back.
We hope you change your mind .
We wish u all the best for 2014.
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is picture perfect from the website. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the shuttle service into Old Hoi an town is fantastic. You can hire hotel bikes for nil cost and across the road 5mins ride you are in an old Vietnamese fishing village harbour very beautiful and 5 mins bike ride the other way along the beach you can have lunch and a coupleof beers and nice setting . The breakfast was ok lots of fruit/cereals/breads.. Bacon/eggs etc and authentic vietnamese Pho etc..3 of the 6 mornings I asked for 2 poached eggs and they forgot them ;( We asked 3 times to reception for a bucket of ice and had to wait over an hour.The highly negative for us was our 1st morning and 2 nd hoping to have a layin was woken up by tennis players shouting at 0600 AM in the morning , complained to the Manager and then he changed the start time to 0800 ..Every morning we were woken up by kids running up and down the corridors screaming at 0700 , come on guys this holiday was supposed to be relaxing..and to top it off on our last night we were still awake at 2 AM with people next door shouting and banging around, we called the reception 3 times , this went on for 3 hours.. In hindsight we should have booked a villa as the hotel walls are paper thin . Very disappointing for the money we outlaid for this holiday...

Room Tip: Get a villa if you want peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 699Kezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guests,
AT first my apologize on this noisy issue around. we do complaint as well to the travel agent concerned to be more accurate with their tour guide to control their guests. My reception has offer u to change the room and you did not accept it. we normally divided the resort in two sectors to have a fair balance of mixed nationalities. this time the group was bigger than expected and we were obliged to set up few rooms near yours. So sorry for that,
Beside this i saw your comments are good and we appreciate.
We are moving forward to fine tune the resort .
We hope to see u again
Wish you all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Even though the weather was horrible the staff and hotel were awesome. The Buffet breakfast was sooo yummy, with so many choices and a never ending supply of food. The staff who greeted guests were fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guests from Brisbane,
So nice to hear from you and thanks to spend time with us and your comments.
Very apprecaite and encouraging for our team.
We are moving and focusing to get our beach back to enjoy more, soon
Hope to see you again.
Wish u all the best for 2014.
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

After travelling around Vietnam and Cambodia we finally got some down time - and this was a great place to do it. Everything is very good - facilities, spa, rooms, service, breakfast. There are 2 pools and a beach - so loads of space to have for yourself. There is a shuttle in and out of the old town (Hoi An is lovely - definitely the best part of Vietnam so worth staying a while to explore the old town). Also, try Cargo restaurant and Dive Bar in town if you are looking for a night out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guests,
Thanks a lot to spend time with us and your nice commens . We appreciate.
We are focusing actually to bring our beach back and enjoy again soon.
We hope to see you again
We wish the very best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel far exceeded our expectations, beautiful surroundings and the thing that made it was the staff. They were ALL so friendly and helpful.
There is a shuttle bus laid on all day to town which is well used.
The rooms were beautiful and it was all so clean. The breakfast was really good and we had lunch by the pool which was nice too.
The only disappointment was there were no hot drinks other than tea or coffee which I don't drink, so at breakfast I couldn't have a drink. A herbal or fruit option would have been nice but it's a minor thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSoftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest,
At first thank u to spend time with us and your great comments .We appreciate. It is very encouraging for our young team.
We are moving forward to tune the resort and as your note beside tea and coffee if you wish to have another drink it could be possible but you will be charge as per our prices.
We are focusing to bring back our beach soon and enjoy for again.
We hope to see you again
We wish you all the very best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to say how good the staff are at Sunrise the moment to are greeted at arrival, the check in and escorted to your room you feel how friendly the staff are they all speak English very well even the maintenance staff speak English. All facilities at Sunrise are excellent I have to give them 10/10 this resort is amazing.
The shuttle bus service to and from Hoi An is fantastic. Hoi An is a must do get into town and explore this lovely town the shopping is great and the tailor are very good just do your homework we used BeBe Tailors just up from where the shuttle bus stop is. Hoi An is a must have. Enjoy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nattez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
SO NICE TO HEAR!!! Thank u so much to spend time with us and your great comments.
Actually we are bringing Australia map to our resort !!! Australian customers are great and our first supporters . Thank s a lot to AUSTRALIA.
We are moving forward to tune the resort and focusing to bring our beach back very soon, as we were affected by series of typhoons and tropical storms since October 15th with Nari....
We hope to see you again . weather start to be sunny and warmer.
Wish u all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
4.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#42 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.9 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An

Property: Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN - The Art of luxury Perfectly nestled alongside Cua Dai beach - one of the most beautiful beaches of the world with only 10- minutes' drive to Hoi An Ancient Town, Sunrise Hoi An Resort is one of the most luxury resort radiating the charm of Vietnam's most picturesque town. Here, experience the Art of Luxury paired with the unique cultural touches. Designed for offering tranquility but yet all the modern features a Resort has to offer, Families and Couples alike will enjoy the unique touch of Sunrise Service. Inspired to reflect Hoi An's heritage the resort is paying attention to the young guests with an exclusive Kids Club. Beauty and SPA Treatments are making Sunrise Hoi An resort a ultimate destination to unwind together with its breathtaking infinity lap pools overlooking Cham Island and has won multiple awards. Surrounded by lush garden and the center piece pool and its stunning lap pool SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN offers a total of 222 rooms ad luxurious appointed suites and 12 stunning Ocean Front villas. Designed by renewed and awarded UK Design Office NOOR Sunrise Hoi An Resort is capturing local style and contemporary living standards for guest rooms, suites and also Restaurants and Bars. SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN is not only an award winning resort however is proudly recognized to be leader in quality standards and a young and motivated team. Luxury Bathroom Amenities, luxurious beddings Sunrise offers the for its Premium Customers a private Club in which you can indulge and spoil yourself with many benefits such as an exclusive High Tea, unlimited usage of high-speed Internet, Complimentary bicycles and complimentary Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing