We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and nicely spec'd hotel by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Relaxing and nicely spec'd hotel by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice, clean, modern hotel with a tranquil and serene feel to it. Room great spec and fab views even from the garden rooms, only negative is that food within the hotel is expensive but as there are so many great places to eat in Hoi An I think you’d only eat on the hotel on arrival after a long flight anyway (and then you are paying for the convenience). Oh and the beds are the best I have ever slept in - soooo comfortable!

Staff were lovely and attentive and Ruby on reception arranged for us to have an early check-in as she was worried about my tired 70 year old mother after our long flight. Free shuttle always on time although we tended to get taxis back as we were laden with shopping (only about 80,000 dong one way).

They are repairing the beach at the front but the one at the side is perfectly serviceable if you need the sand between your toes. Be aware that the sea is pretty rough so no matter where you stay on the beach in Hoi An (at least when we were there in March 14) sea swimming was not advised. The two pools were almost always empty so easy to get your swimming in there.

If you fancy a dose of local culture and aren’t too worried about posh surroundings, try one of the road side ‘café’s opposite the Sunrise hotel called A.Roy for dinner (with your back to the hotel it’s on your right – about 3 up from Mrs Hong’s laundry – you can’t miss it, it’s the one full of the locals which is a great recommendation!). Don’t be put off by its ‘shack like feel’ – the food is amazing. We ate a huge pile of prawns covered in tamarind sauce, beautifully cooked Morning Glory (sea spinach) washed down with a bottle of Dalat red wine for less than a fiver. We were the only westerners in A.Roy surrounded by about 30 very friendly and happy locals and had a fab time. Only tip – take some of the wet towels you get given on the plane as their napkins are the size of post-its and not that effective when you are covered in sticky sauce!

Final check in for Mrs Hong (opposite the hotel), the happiest Vietnamese lady you will ever meet. She washed two sets of heavy Western travel clothes for £1 – well worth it to feel clean and refreshed on the return flight. She even flagged me down the next day to say she thought she had over charged me 10,000 dong and I had a right job getting her to keep the money. If you go, tell her you heard about her on the Internet, it will make her day (but be warned she may hug you and cover you with kisses in pure excitement!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guests ,
so nice to read and fun as well . Thanks a lot to spend time with us and your valuable comments. We appreciate and i am sure the opposite people too.
We are open and competition is fairly done . if u happy it is the most important
We are moving forward to fine tune the resort and get our beach back end of this month.
We hope to see u again.
We wish u all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    778
    222
    56
    22
See reviews for
638
1,422
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Hi we are a couple of 45 years of age. This was the fourth hotel that we stayed in during our holiday to Vietnam.
We didn't know quite what to expect at each place but this was a nice surprise. We arrived during off peak season. We had a garden view room on the 2nd floor. The ocean view on the other side seemed to have next door renovations, so we were happy to have a view of the pool and garden.
The variety at breakfast was excellent. As good as any 4 to 5 star hotel.
As stated there was quite a drive in the shuttle bus to get to the main town. But we had started to tire of shopping so that was not really a bother.
We ate dinner once at one of the restaurants across the road. Very very cheap and quite nice. We also had a massage across the road. About 12.00 aus dollars. Not bad for the money. Clean enough.
This hotel is a lovely place for a rest. The deluxe room was really nice. Not overly big, but had everything you might need.
You wouldn't want to be shy in the shower. Because it's an all glass view into the bedroom.
The gym is magnificent. Cool equipment.
Again the beach is gone, but we were not interested in that anyway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brenny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guests,
Thanks a lot to spend time with us and your comments. We appreciate.
We are moving forward and focus to get our beach back this month.
We hope to see u again.
We wish all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

So a few hours ago I get an email from the Sunrise hotel to tell me that my booking has been cancelled and that I should look for another hotel in Hoi An. This is just over 2 weeks until I'm due to be there with my wife & 5 year old daughter.
Here is the reason they gave:
"During this period we have construction on the main beach due to the typhoon last time and some rooms still not ready for sell as our plan, so we are lack of rooms in this period".
The typhoon happened months ago and how exactly does construction on the beach impact room availability? It sounds to me that this has been made up.
If it is a genuine excuse, why take bookings in the first place? And why leave it until only 2 weeks before my family and I were due to arrive?? Surely they would have known before then?!
So now I need to find a decent substitute hotel suitable for my family and I - something that won't be easy as it's Easter time we are due to go and occupancy will be reaching maximum limit.
Shocking, unprofessional service from Sunrise and to anyone thinking of booking, think twice before doing so.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are travelling around Vietnam and thought we would stay here for two nights as a treat. The facilities are wonderful and like many others have said before 'just a pity about the beach' but you cannot control mother nature. There is another side beach available.

The staff were lovely but you can tell that this is a process driven environment rather than intuitive good old fashioned customer service. For example, all the paper signing for every drink and every food. I found this particularly annoying when you had just received your meal and then you were brought paper to sign as you had just started to tuck in and if you ordered another drink - another interruption to sign sheets of paper.

We found the food was average a bit of a hybrid of western and vietnamese. Although the breakfast choice was excellent.

The rooms were very modern and we had a fantastic view of the sunrise that is worth asking for the right had side of the hotel for overlooking the beach. Having said that both bedside cabinets were falling off the walls. The hotel had good wifi access all over and the spa is a must visit. We thought it wasn't good value for money by comparison to other 5* hotels we have stayed in, especially in Vietnam and other locations around the world.

The location of the hotel is about 20 mins on the shuttle to Hoi An or the hotel has free bikes you can borrow. If I was a beach dweller this is a fantastic location but on hindsight I would have preferred something closer on location to where all the action of Hoi An was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccm301981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guests,
At first thank you very much to spend a time with us and your valuable comments which has been raised to team leader concerned and see way to improve some procedure to ease the overall process.
We are moving forward and focusing to our beach to be back within a short time now, as we were not able to move faster due to very unusual weather. to day was good in morning and thunderstorm in afternoon with cold weather and rain. nothing to do with last year same which was excellent.
We hope to see u again despite that you prefer to be close to hoi an town.
we wish u all the best for 2014.
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We bought this trip through a package deal on a luxury escapes deal so the holiday was exceptional value to start with and the deal included daily massages and 3 meals a day.
The resort is located about 35 Km's south of Da Nang international airport, in the Hoi an area on Cua Dai Beach . The resort is big and typical of beachside resorts with pools and palm trees, bars and restaurants. The hotel is in very good condition, clean and well maintained. When you arrive in the lobby area you know you have arrived at a resort with expansive views through to the pools and ocean, it has that relaxing feeling straight away. While they try to make the check-in personal and detailed we unfortunately found it very slow and inefficient and spent about 20 minutes just waiting after being seating by staff , they take everyone through individually there package and weren't geared up for multiple check ins . But they were very polite and apologetic throughout the process. We were taken to our room which was a sunrise suite, which was located 3rd floor at the front looking over the ocean. The suite was 85m2 and well worth the upgrade cost. The room was fantastic with separate lounge area and bedroom, two large TVs, two toilets, large marble bath, and big bathroom with his and hers basins. You also had separate sitting area in the bedroom with sliding doors to get the sea breeze. Cannot fault the suite, it was very comfortable and roomy. The resort had a couple of good bars, one near the lobby and one around the pool. Both had good service and a wide variety of drinks. There were also two restaurants in the resort, one casual near the pool which was nice in the warm weather getting the sea breeze. The other restaurant which is a bit more formal is in the main building next to reception. The food at the restaurants had a mixture of western food and more traditional Vietnamese food. The main restaurant also served a buffet breakfast each morning which was probably their best meal. The other meals were ok but nothing special, and the service needs to be improved to make it a 5 star resort, they had a lot of trainees on staff and some with very little English language skills. Another issue they don't tell you before you go is that the beach in front of the resort was totally wiped out in last year’s cyclone and completely not accessible which is disappointing , they do have a side beach which is accessed through the end of the resort . One of the really good things about the resort is there spa and massage area, it is extensive with a multitude of treatment options. It is something we used daily and the staff there was very friendly and efficient and all the girls doing the massages were great. This is one of the resorts most redeeming features. The pools were very nice areas and lots of places to lie around and read if that's what you are chasing and the whole resort area had free Wi-Fi access which everyone was using. A must do while staying at the resort is go into Hoi An ancient town, this is a great sightseeing day out with all building still in use from 16th century trading port . The place is also line with hundreds of shops selling everything from shirts, luggage, and shoes to fish and food markets. It also has dozens of tailors that will make you anything in a few days. You will go in more than once. And at night is the best to get the atmosphere with all their colored lanterns. The resort has regular shuttles going in and out, but taxis are also readily available for about $6. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hoi An and the Sunrise Resort was a good choice for our stay and very good value for money. You can see Vietnam’s tourism is in its early phase and there are new attractions, golf courses and resorts popping up everywhere and I am sure the place will keep improving. The staff and Vietnamese people are very friendly, polite and very willing to help and that's what makes the stay good.

Room Tip: upgrade to the sunrise suite its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you so much to spend time with us and great interesting comments . very appreciate.
some of them has been raised to team leaders concerned to adjust and get more consistency.
We are focusing on the beach and very soon back to us to enjoy more.
We are moving forward to improve our resort .
We hope to see you again
We wish u all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Sunrise Hoi An was magnificent. The rooms were quite luxurious and very comfortable. The main pool quite a relief after tanning in the blistering sun too long. I also used their gym once, which was quite modern and well-equipped. The staff were friendly and polite, especially in their awesome spa.

The only downsides were the beach and the weekend seafood buffet. As mentioned by previous reviews, the beach was listed as closed due to typhoon damage. While I understand it cannot be helped, it does take a bit away from the whole idea of 'beach resort.'

The seafood buffet, while it was adequate, was expensive enough to require it to be superb. My friend and I got there right at the beginning of the evening and it seemed like the staff weren't really sure what was going on. The selection of seafood that you pick to have grilled was average and there wasn't much variety. Once the dinner crowd came in, the wait for the seafood was just too long. There were other, non-seafood, options that were again adequate, but did not inspire.

Overall though, the hotel was great and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest
Thanks a lot to spend time with us and your fairly good comments. as for the seafood buffet issue i have raised up the matter to our team leam leader on this area to pay more attention .
Thanks for your valuable comments.
As for the beach we are moving forward to get back very soon to enjoy more.
i guess you are an expatriate living in China and we are happy that you have recommended us to your friends.
We hope to see u again
Wish all the very best for 2014.
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our stay from 4th to 12th March was fantastic. The staff and the service are unbelievable. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent with a wide variety of dishes available and all of a high standard. The rooms are extremely spacious and the housekeeping team do an excellent job. The regular hourly shuttle bus to Hoi An town is an excellent service. Overall we could not find even the slightest fault with this resort. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone and we hope that we will soon be able to return to continue our touring of Vietnam.

Room Tip: Go for an Oceanview room, you will love how the sand on the beach gets raked every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guests,
SO NICE to hear from you and thanks a lot to spend time with us amd your great feedback.
We are now focusing on our beach back to enjoy more.
We hope to se u again .
Wish you all the best for 2014
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
4.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#44 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.9 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An

Property: Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN - The Art of luxury Perfectly nestled alongside Cua Dai beach - one of the most beautiful beaches of the world with only 10- minutes' drive to Hoi An Ancient Town, Sunrise Hoi An Resort is one of the most luxury resort radiating the charm of Vietnam's most picturesque town. Here, experience the Art of Luxury paired with the unique cultural touches. Designed for offering tranquility but yet all the modern features a Resort has to offer, Families and Couples alike will enjoy the unique touch of Sunrise Service. Inspired to reflect Hoi An's heritage the resort is paying attention to the young guests with an exclusive Kids Club. Beauty and SPA Treatments are making Sunrise Hoi An resort a ultimate destination to unwind together with its breathtaking infinity lap pools overlooking Cham Island and has won multiple awards. Surrounded by lush garden and the center piece pool and its stunning lap pool SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN offers a total of 222 rooms ad luxurious appointed suites and 12 stunning Ocean Front villas. Designed by renewed and awarded UK Design Office NOOR Sunrise Hoi An Resort is capturing local style and contemporary living standards for guest rooms, suites and also Restaurants and Bars. SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN is not only an award winning resort however is proudly recognized to be leader in quality standards and a young and motivated team. Luxury Bathroom Amenities, luxurious beddings Sunrise offers the for its Premium Customers a private Club in which you can indulge and spoil yourself with many benefits such as an exclusive High Tea, unlimited usage of high-speed Internet, Complimentary bicycles and complimentary Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing