We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was confused by the mixed reviews I had read on this resort but went there as we had a deal and stayed for 6 nights.I now understand why some love this place whilst others write quite scathing comments. It's a mixed bag. And how much you enjoy this place will depend to a certin extent on your attitude. I didn't particularly like it but my husband and son loved it. The suite accomodation we had was lovely...lots of space. I think sunrise is. 4 1/2 star resort not the 5 it claims...the food is good but not outstanding. Awesome choices at breakfast. One of the reasons I didn't enjoy our stay was the place is teeming with Australian tourists...it was like being on a resort in the gold coast! No exaggeration. It's not the place for a quite romantic getaway. The staff are delightful...really lovely..but struggle with slow service especially at lunch times. The beach is not accessible for swimming directly in front of the reort which is a shame, however they do have beach access around the corner of the reort. The spa treatments I had we very average. We had 12 spa treatments included in our deal however the spa was booked out when I attempted to book them. And I did this s soon as we entered the door! I was only able to book three treatments and actually canceled my last one as not impressed. Laundry can be done much cheaper across the road...ms hong a delight ...warning you will be greeted by at least 4 or 5 people as you approach all wanting your business! The staffs English is fantastic and they really make an effort...I was embarrassed to be an Aussie the no of times I overheard complaints re guests not being able to make themselves understood. It's Veitnam!...would you say tht if you went to France and the staff didn't speak English...I think not! I would recommend to the management to have a large non smoking area around the pools. Like I said a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort. It’s our greatest desire to keep Sunrise as the top choice resort in Hoi An, hence we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improve.

Beside of that, we feel very happy to know that your husband and son loved our place, and you had also presented us many praises toward hotel's staffs, breakfast, room and other facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming your family again in the future to prove our changes and 5 star services.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and have a great summer ahead!

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 3,093 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Overall a good resort but unfortunately it lacks the beach as thee are sandbags that stop you from even dipping your feet in the water. Rooms a reasonable and clean and pool is good to swim in. Staff are friendly but require a lot of training to come to a reasonable standard. Our order at the pool for food and drinks had to come in 4 different trips by the waiter . Once forgetting the cutlery , glasses and the straws for the cocktail. Then again forgetting the straws then to tell us much later that a certain order is not available ( why are waiters not told of up availability of menu items) .
I put it down to a maturing service industry in Vietnam which will still take a while to develop. Tolerance and patience will make the trip more enjoyable.
Other things that a resort is missing are activities for the guests that are part of the resort and not paid external trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort. Due to recent typhoons, our private beach has been seriously affected and need to be restored. However, the public beach which is located right next to Sunrise Hoi An is available at any time.

Please be assured that your comments about the hotel staff have been passed to relative management. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Thank you again for sharing with us your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you many other times to give you a better serve and prove our 5-star quality.

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The facilities are brilliant, service exceptional, the staff go above and beyond to the point where you forget they are servicing others as well as yourself. The only disappointing aspect was the wait at the restaurants which was a common theme with others who stayed. But in saying this when on holidays time shouldn't be a priority. Andrew & his team should be applauded.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear value guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort.

The entire team of Sunrise Hoi An are working so hard and it is so nice to see them receive such wonderful recognition. We all at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort are waiting for the honor of welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here late in May this year, and we found it to be excellent. We had 2 interconnecting rooms, on the top floor, and they had fantastic views and were well appointed. we all enjoyed the restaurants, and the resort facilities, pools, kids club and surrounds are really nice. We went in to HoiAn most days and some days more than once, and as taxis were always available and very very cheap we used them rather then the shuttle service. You need to book the shuttle and we were having a relaxing break and planning as little as possible.. the service of all the staff was great, and we had no complaints. Other then there not being much around within walking distance of the resort (which was not a big deal at all), and across the road there are a few small shops and restaurants, with some very cheap laundry services, this is a great place to stay for couples and families. I think next time we might book a villa though instead - they looked nice.
The only recommendation I would make to the resort would be to look into putting some air-conditioning in the lifts, its only a couple of floors, but a small confined space like a lift in a climate like Vietnam is pretty uncomfortable at times. but we will definitely return to Sunrise Hoi An.

Room Tip: higher floors have great views, but worth considering the Beachfront Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear value guests,

There is nothing more meaningful than getting your amazing 5-star review, it’s such an utmost reward for the entire team of Sunrise Hoi An to continuously become one of the finest resorts in Hoi An.

We’re extremely happy to know that you had had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every hotel services. We are trying our best everyday to ensure that each guest is given a warm welcome and top notch services, and it’s so proud that we did just that. Your comment about the air-conditioning in the lift has also been passed to hotel manager.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your impressions of the Sunrise Hoi An and we are looking for a chance to bring you back to Hoi An soon!

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here. Nice hotel, very friendly and courteous staff, great facilities, food, gym, pool. All good. Except when it's not. On the 2nd morning at 5.20 am some sort of electric motor, with what I suspect are shot bearings, starts up near our room. Vibrations felt through the walls and through the bed, and it's noisy. No more sleep. The noise lasts all day. I enquire at the desk twice that day. Nothing is done, and no one gets back to me. 11 pm the motor stops. Great! I get to sleep. Following morning at 5.18 am, it starts up again. Not impressed! When we get up I present at the front desk, tired and grumpy, demand another room, which they agree to immediately.
No problems with this room, and a couple of sleeps later I'm human again. My wife just resorted to ear plugs, which I don't think a 5 star room should require. I still like the place, but suggest to anyone having a problem to demand something be sorted out, or risk being ignored. I suspect there is a tendency to not worry about a polite request to look into an issue, oh, and maybe avoid room 3114. It has a built in alarm for 5.12 am.
Only other thing to mention is the shuttle bus into town. It's great, if you can get on. The hotel was busy at this time, and about half the time we were told, sorry, it's full, when we tried to book. Taxis were doing very well. So, yes there is a free shuttle bus, but good luck with that.
Still, we enjoyed our stay. Yes the food is more expensive than the restaurants, but then the atmosphere is what you pay for, and worth it at times when you feel like time out. Nice beach nearby etc.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and for sharing your stay experience. It’s our lifelong passion to ensure that guests’ stay is as perfect as possible and should things not run to plan, then we address them straight away. Therefore, we are very sorry that you had been bothered by the noise coming from the electric motor, with a promise that it will never happen again. Your constructive comments will assist us to improve our services

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward for many other times to prove you our 5 star services.

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful resort - lovely garden setting and gorgeous looking pools. Rooms were well appointed and had a great inside/out balcony - made you feel like you were outside but blocked out the extreme heat. Really good location - a short taxi ride ($6-$7) to town or free shuttle bus which was always fully booked during our visit. We booked through deals.com and the half board and complimentary spa treatments were very good value. TIP is to book early for spa treatments as during our visit (Australian school holidays), they were very busy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Only 2 negatives - in the very hot weather in July (38 degrees every day of our 6 day stay) the water in the pool got really warm and therefore wasn't very refreshing and the front beach was still under repair from a recent typhoon. Also, the Lobby Lounge was being renovated during our stay and the works were directly under our room (see photo).

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms were ideal for us - a family with 2 children, 11 and 13. Hotel policy says th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_mallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort and certainly your lovely words has been passed on to our team so that they can see what a positive impact they all had on your stay.

Sunrise is not right in the Hoi An Town but offers very convenient free shuttle buses or bicycles for just about 10 minutes driving. We aim to bring customers the utmost privacy, spellbound tranquility and relaxation with friendly service. Though the private beach is still under repair from a recent typhoon, there is also another next door public beach that you can enjoy at any time.

The excellent service is always remained and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sunrise Hoi An very soon!

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our 4 children and could not fault the resort or the staff. We stayed using a Luxury Escapes Deal and the value was fantastic. The staff were obliging, friendly and caring. The pool was great, the kids loved the huge ice blocks in the pool each afternoon. Breakfast and lunch were delicious, we ate dinner in town which was just a short taxi ride away. Hoi An is picturesque, we loved every moment of our time in Vietnam. Highly recommend Sunrise.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseHoiAn, Resort Management at Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you so much for all of your compliments and the 5 star rating. It means a lot to us and we are very pleased to know that we were able to help create some wonderful memories for your trip in Vietnam.

It is our greatest desire to keep Sunrise as the top choice resort in Hoi An, hence your wonderful review will be a great interest for our future guests.

We can’t wait to share your review with the entire team of Sunrise Hoi An and surely it will put a huge smile on their faces! We hope that your next time in Hoi An will be absolutely at Sunrise and rest assured that the excellent services are remained!

Best Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
4.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#51 of 162 in Hoi An
944 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#72 of 162 in Hoi An
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An

Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £99 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN - The Art of luxury Perfectly nestled alongside Cua Dai beach - one of the most beautiful beaches of the world with only 10- minutes' drive to Hoi An Ancient Town, Sunrise Hoi An Resort is one of the most luxury resort radiating the charm of Vietnam's most picturesque town. Here, experience the Art of Luxury paired with the unique cultural touches. Designed for offering tranquility but yet all the modern features a Resort has to offer, Families and Couples alike will enjoy the unique touch of Sunrise Service. Inspired to reflect Hoi An's heritage the resort is paying attention to the young guests with an exclusive Kids Club. Beauty and SPA Treatments are making Sunrise Hoi An resort a ultimate destination to unwind together with its breathtaking infinity lap pools overlooking Cham Island and has won multiple awards. Surrounded by lush garden and the center piece pool and its stunning lap pool SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN offers a total of 222 rooms ad luxurious appointed suites and 12 stunning Ocean Front villas. Designed by renewed and awarded UK Design Office NOOR Sunrise Hoi An Resort is capturing local style and contemporary living standards for guest rooms, suites and also Restaurants and Bars. SUNRISE PREMIUM RESORT HOI AN is not only an award winning resort however is proudly recognized to be leader in quality standards and a young and motivated team. Luxury Bathroom Amenities, luxurious beddings Sunrise offers the for its Premium Customers a private Club in which you can indulge and spoil yourself with many benefits such as an exclusive High Tea, unlimited usage of high-speed Internet, Complimentary bicycles and complimentary Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sunspot Tours, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing