We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the course”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vetiver Restaurant - CLOSED

The Vetiver Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Vetiver Restaurant is located at 580 Cua Dai, the arterial road that connects the quiet ancient town with the business district of Cua Dai. The Vetiver is an attractive stop for visitors who travel to Hoi An.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Take the course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I and two friends spent a wonderful afternoon learning to cook Vietnamese food here. The course is well-organised and good value, you're taught by a genuine master, and getting to eat the food at the end is worth the price alone.

I can recommend the Banh Xeo, Pho and Canh Cua Cha, as well as the deep-fried wontons - this is a place that's well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yes, just terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Food was so bad, had to send one dish back, we just couldn't chew through the port, had it replaced by a noodle dish that was bland and basically inedible. Read previous reviews, can't understand what people raved about, couldn't have had a worse meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FabDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
“Best food we had in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stopped by here as it was right next to our hotel. We'd walk past and it would be empty and we felt kind of sorry for them. Having looked it up on tripadvisor and saw it had good ratings we decided to give it a punt and we were greatly rewarded for it.

The staff were very attentive, polite and helpful with describing the dishes. We had the banh xeo which was excellent and some noodles with beef. The portions were on the generous size and we really enjoyed both dishes. The staff made sure we were topped up with side sauces.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StammySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“I chose the basic cooking class which was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I paid USD16 for the basic cooking course. It was just me and started at 11am.

We prepared two starters and two main courses (I was able to pick from about 10 different starters and 10 different mains). The staff were very friendly - had the chef, another waitress who helped with photos and one more. However, the chef did most of the cooking and my involvement was minor (maybe it would have taken too long otherwise).

Cooking time was about an hour or so, then I ate the food for lunch - was enough food for two easily and could not eat it all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cooking class to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I did a cooking class here in July. It was well worth the money we paid! We were taken on a tour through the markets to buy the fresh produce for our class. During our tour we got to try different fruits and a three bean drink which was amazing! The class was fun and we were able to choose four meals off the menu to cook and eat at the end! The staff were so so friendly and made it very enjoyable. We were given cute uniforms to wear while we did the class. At the end of the class we sat down to enjoy our food that we made. We were also given the recipes and now cook then at home. Before we left the head chef presented us with a certificate and joined us in a photo! Such a pleasing experience and we highly suggest visiting this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vetiver Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing