We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair review based on 12 day stay. Not 4/5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #51 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fair review based on 12 day stay. Not 4/5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Victoria Hoi An beach resort and Spa Hotel.

Visited this hotel from 10th January 2013 for a 12 day vacation having booked with Virgin Holidays in August 2012. The booking was beset with problems prior to travel, and as the client, if I had not noticed the mistakes made, I would have spent two weeks at Ho Chi Minn airport! The details of a what was a catalogue of disasters by Virgin Holidays I will not post on here, but should any UK traveller wish to know details please feel free to pm me. The upshot of this is should you ask me would I use Virgin Holidays again, the answer is a steadfast NO at this moment in time.
Virgin holidays used Destination Asia based in Ho Chi Minn city as their booking agents and representatives, and I have to say this company's assistance although they were not personally represented in resort/hotel was acceptable. What is quite clear is that information passed by the hotel and the local agent to Virgin Holidays during the booking process and prior to travel WAS NOT relayed to the client by Virgin Holidays, and I have to say I do feel that was quite deliberate. Virgin holidays have had to refund part of the holiday cost, as their customer did not get what the booking said on the tin and was promised in the contract of company/client, and a compensation claim has been launched against them under ABTA Package Holiday Regulations and Consumer Regulations (UK).

The hotel is on the coast road approximately 5km from Hoi An centre, facing the beach/sea, and is transversed by the river at the rear, and the main road.
We were given a standard room (117) which faced the main road and river, (not the deluxe room booked, as Virgin Holidays having failed to advise none were available for our stay, even when booked nearly six months previously, and having charged us for the same!). Let's say the room was adequate, good size, bathroom with shower (no screen) over, tv, mini fridge etc.
Balcony faced the road, and was therefore very noisy to both road and river traffic, but it did get all he afternoon sun away from the quite breezy NE winds off the South China Sea.
Restaurant and bar areas are very nice, but really really underused, which obviously rightly suggests that prices within the hotel for food and drink are high compared to restaurants and bars in Hoi An centre. (ie beer at hotel 65,000/85,000 VND - in town anything from 4,000/15,000 VND)
Swimming pool/gardens/ spa areas very nice, but again compared to Hoi An spa prices are very high in comparison, and we were disappointed with the treatments we took, and the somewhat lacksadasical staff who unfortunately rather than pampering the client and making sure that everything was ok (like clean towels being available after use of jacuzzi/steam room etc - instead of having to use a previous clients dirty towel because clean ones had not been put out) stood around in large groups talking and laughing. However, they were very short on clients!
Reception staff, beach and pool staff/restaurant staff all attentive and personable.
Breakfast was taken in the one restaurant. Food was of a good standard, with traditional vietnamese, European and English available. Tea and coffee was plentiful, but never ever hot enough, and it was very noticeable that when something ran out (ie cereals/bread) they were not, or were very slow in, replenishment, (judged no doubt on how many persons would be expected for that particular morning).
There is a bar area, and most evenings live music (duo) were playing/singing. Unfortunately they just do not have an audience. There is also an upper sports bar (two pool tables) and library areas, but this bar was never, ever open or staffed during our twelve days!

Which takes me to the fact that this hotel probably is not the right choice for a long vacation break, it is used by many travel groups as a transit hotel for 2/3 days stopovers, and during our stay several coach parties arrived, went out on tours early morning, and when arriving back at the hotel basically took the place over.
Strangely room service and cleaning was not quite up to scratch on the days when coach parties arrived, and towel and sheet changes (although we followed the hotel guidelines) were, lets say, neglected. One strange occurrence during our last three days we spent at the hotel was a knock on the door from (two different) cleaners asking if everything was o.k., and for the previous 9 days we occupied the room, nothing!

One highlight we would recommended is to use the hotel 'trip' desk to book their motorcycle and sidecar excursion to Monkey Mountain. An exhilarating experience with excellent drivers (trained staff) and a hotel picnic lunch, which was just excellent. at £50 approx p/p, appeared good value compared to other hotel prices.

One great disappointment was the fact that whilst staff at the hotel knew of problems we encountered with Virgin Holidays, not once were we approached by the manager, and in fact during our complete stay at the location neither did we, or anyone else set eyes on him. This is the first time in travelling Asia extensively and using 4*/5* hotels that I have never seen a manager at least make an effort to identify himself to guests, communicate with them at all, or indeed walk around the venue to facilitate such.

All in all I would suggest if you are looking at staying in this area of Vietnam, there are far better hotels than the Victoria, which I can only rate as a good 3* at best, it falls a long way short of being a 4/5* establishment.

Hoi An town and it's bars and restaurants are much much cheaper than the hotel, and I would thoroughly recommend dining and drinking there daily. The hotel runs a shuttle bus into town at various times free of charge.

Room wise the beach/garden rooms are really not that private at all with much passing pedestrian traffic (especially beach side) and the standard rooms road/river side suffer the noise of passing traffic/boats. However, these balcony's are well screened, and sheltered from the coastal breeze. For any business people using the hotel, or visitors who wish to use the Internet, Wi-fi is very hit and miss, and whilst advertised as being available in room, it is very very poor reception. Best reception is near to the check in desks in reception.

Would I stay there again, it is a nice location and area, but there are better hotels nearby, so my answer has to be NO?

Room Tip: Location of rooms are poor, especially beach side/garden areas, with little privacy. Standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkeyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    616
    134
    26
    18
See reviews for
513
1,084
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Had a great stay here. Were greeted on arrival with big smiles and hot towels. Found all the staff to be very friendly which always makes a stay much more comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms were very comfortable. Great pool, small fitness center etc. The breakfast was amazing - great mixture of local and Western. Only slight thing that could have been made better was if the pool tables didn't have so much of a curve on them!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Great venue. Wonderful food. A staff that is de noted to your comfort. A fraction of the cost of similar places in Europe or the US. And to top it off an outdoor rain shower. The shuttle to town makes it easy. And the food and ambiance in Hoi An is just magi al. What's not to like?

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul_Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Despite being outside of Hoi An itself, the shuttle bus provided means that you don't need to feel out of it. Positioned on a beautiful beach, with great rooms with private balconies, this hotel was a great base to relax and to enjoy the beautiful town of Hoi An. We did not eat in the hotel, we took the shuttle bus into town. To soak up the atmosphere. However, if you wanted to stay in then there was plenty going on. The breakfast was great. I am not sure if anyone could find fault. The staff were very friendly. In summary, a great place to relax and enjoy the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smithlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel was our bit of luxury in the middle of our stay in Vietnam. It's setting is fantastic. The beach is beautiful, the pool tranquil, the cocktails great and the staff are incredibly helpful. We got upgraded to a bigger room on the second night and the beds had toppers so were softer. Hard beds seem to be the norm in Vietnam so anything softer than the floor is welcome relief. We feel that we have wasted the resort a little by spending so much time in town shopping but we got carried away with the atmosphere and tailor heaven ( more about that in another post). I decided to go to the spa today so I could at least benefit from being at a resort and although the prices were double what they are in hoi an, they are half the price of home. I can recommend the indian head massage and the deluxe pedicure! Breakfast is also great with a buffet to suit western and eastern tastes. We made the most of that and then had a light lunch in town and a good dinner. The free shuttle is handy and saves the 100,000 dong taxi ride but $5 is no hardship. We did the spring roll making class, our 10th old loved that. They have free wifi but be prepared to sit in the lobby because we couldn't load a page from anywhere else even though they sent a technician to look at it. You can only pay in dong now but you can charge everything to your room so it's easy. Its winter at the moment but we have been blessed with great weather and the little touches like the weather and pool temperature blackboard are appreciated.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeekingVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Hoi An was our last stop in Vietnam and it lived up to all the great things that we had heard about it. The resort is lovely in that you can enjoy the beach, pool, day spa, river and other activities as well as peace and quiet, then venture into Hoi An town (5 mins drive away) to enjoy all it has to offer. Travel by side car, taxi or bus for limited cost. We had a suite room, which was nice as it is on the beach with a great view. Our children had portable beds in the lounge area of the room. There was plenty of space and a nice grass area out front overlooking the beach - the pictures on the website don't do the rooms justice - they are more spacious than they look. The kids were happy but said their portable beds were a little uncomfortable. Our friends stayed in an adjoining room with their kids which had proper beds for the kids, but not the ocean view and other nice aspects of the suite. Either way, I am sure you will be happy. The staff are very helpful and the buffet breakfast is good. Hoi An is such a great place to go, at night it is absolutely beautiful and it is a nice change from the hectic cities that we had just travelled from.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maccas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I just spent 4 days at Victoria Hoi An. This was a great hotel, with fantastic food and services. I am extremely impressed. The breakfast had a good variety of Western, Vietnamese food, baked goods and fresh fruits.The English spoken by the staff was pretty good and they were all polite. The resort atmosphere was comfortable and inviting. Shuttle and bikes were great for traveling to the city. There was a night time story for the kids that was delivered to our room every night.

Passports were returned right away( lots iof hotels in Vietnam insist on holding)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viettravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#43 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hoi An, splendor of the past Annam, a most charming town listed as a World Heritage site by UNESCO. Explore the vestiges of a glorious Cham past. Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa replicates a traditional fishing village with small streets, water ponds and village houses with clay-tiled roofs, providing a warm and restful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort And Spa
Victoria Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing