We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-round choice for our Hoi An base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We chose the Victoria Resort as the base for our 9-day Hoi An holiday because (a) it gave us direct access to the beach combined with an easy shuttle trip to Hoi An town and (b) it was the only resort to offer both direct beach access and views inland over the river. I'm a keen photographer and wanted to be able to watch the local comings and goings along the river and the road. I contacted the resort by email requesting a room on the top floor with good views and they gave us just that. Spending an hour first thing in the morning on our balcony watching the local life was a very enjoyable part of our stay (see photos) so unlike some reviewers I found location away from the beach a plus (and the noise insulation in our room was excellent so traffic noise wasn't a problem).

The Superior riverview rooms are comfortable but not particularly luxurious or large. We found them fine for our needs as we don't spend much time in or room on holiday apart from sleeping. Some negative reviews on this site made us a little apprehensive about service but we found the resort itself has a pleasant overall atmosphere and
the staff were helpful, friendly and competent. The pool attendants were particularly attentive and cheerful. Occasionally a junior staff member did not have good enough English to understand a request that did not relate to their normal duties but some of the strong criticisms in other reviews bear no resemblance to our observations. Either the management has raised its game or some guests have had unreasonable expectations.

The resort food is not cheap, but is excellent in quality. Dont miss the breakfast pho, and a bowl of cau lau and a local beer by the pool is a great lunch. The evening set-price buffets are expensive by local standards ($US 24-6) but the quality is such that an equivalent meal in Australia would coast a lot more, so opinions about value are relative. We found the buffets well worth trying; excellent seafood and desserts in particular.

Hoi An is a fascinating and beautiful little town, particularly if you like photography. In July it was not too crowded, though if you don't like heat and humidity you'll probably want to do your exploring in the morning and evening and spend the middle of the day round the resort pool and beach (the pool is good to lounge around but too hot to swim in at this time of year). The resort shuttle service is reliable and quite adequate unless you have the unreasonable expectation that it should run hourly throughout the day and night. Taxis are easily available for that.

When exploring the town make sure to look at the Japanese quarter west of the main town and the French quarter to the east. Both are less busy than the main heritage area and have a great charm of their own.

For something different, go for a walk or bike ride through the fishing village south of the resort, or the smaller village on the right of the road to Hoi An just before crossing the bridge. The are off the main tourist track and well worth exploring.

The resort offers excursions such as river trips and trips to the Cham ruins at My Son but as usual for resort-booked trips they are very expensive by local standards. We booked our trip to My Son in town and though a little rustic it was great fun and very cheap.

When eating outside the resort, I'd avoid the cheaper options such as the cafes down the road from the resort towards town. They won't poison you but the food is very mediocre. The prices are certainly higher at places in Hoi An such as the Mango Room or Sakura but the food is genuinely enjoyable. Remember, 300,000 VND is still only 20 Aussie dollars and you can get a great view over the river thrown in.

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday in Hoi An, and the Victoria Resort was a great base.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Geogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

We booked 6 days at the Victoria for a beach break in the middle of out 2 week tour of Vietnam (booked through Lionel at Selectiveasia which I highly recommend).
We were advised to book a deluxe which was a good move as the standard rooms were close to the road running behind the hotel which like all roads in Vietnam is noisy.

The room was very large with a lovely view of the beach but a couple of minor things let it down, there was a big shower but no bath and very little closet space. Not a big deal and I certainly wouldn't stop me from going back!

The private beach was on par with the best I've seen, very clean with lots of sunshades and a shallow slope.

Breakfast was good, we only had dinner in the hotel once which was very nice but extremely expensive ($100 with wine) compared with dining out in the town. Lunches were more reasonable and very good.

We had very high expectations from the Victoria Hoi An having stayed at the Victoria Angkor, whilst not as good I would still recommend it highly for a stay in Hoi An. It was the only non city location during our trip (apart form Ha Long bay) and a lovely break from the mopeds!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed 6 nights at the Victoria hoping for a leisure break in the middle of a tour of Vietnam and as a base for visiting Hoi An. Even allowing for the fact the weather was excellent (blue skies for all but the evening of arrival and day of leaving) this hotel could not have served our purpose better.
The staff were without exception friendly, courteous and helpful, even to the extent of running some distance to ensure we did not have to carry cushions to teh beach chairs. They offered advice as to where to shop and eat when queried although did not push this upon us ( a map of Hoi An with some shops was provided with our complementary drink on arrival).
My wfe and I stayed in a Junior suite which was beautifully positioned overlooking the beach, immaculately cleaned and had everything we required. Our sons stayed in a deluxe room which was near ours with a sea view from the balcony and again very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent. This was the only meal we had at the hotel.
The beach is some 4 - 5 km. from the old town of Hoi An, so to combine leisure and visiting the town we generally caught a taxi in (about $4 AUD) and the hotel shuttle home. The shuttle goes to town about 8 times a day but not always at a convenient time. If you dont wish to wait for the shuttle there is no trouble obtaining a taxi from the bus drop off back to the hotel.
You cannot be on the beach and within walking distance from Hoi An but this was a fantastic compromise. I felt it much better being on the beach than the alternative if wishing to spend some time on the beach. It is also much better being in one of the hotels actually on the beach rather than walking over the road.
We did not arrange any tours through the hotel although the tour desk did provide some useful advise as to local sights.
There are 6 computers always available for free internet access although I agree with others reviewers that this is too frequently used as a baby-sitting place for children and not always available for desperately required cricket scores etc.
The pool was very warm despite ice being put in it daily. There were jellyfish in the sea but all in a limited band of about 2 metres running along the beach and easily avoided in the clear water.
If staying at the Victoria or at any nearby hotel you may consider:
getting up early (say 6 am) to watch the bullock raking the beach and then walk about 200m. along the beach to the north to watch the Vietmanese at play as they do in large numbers before they work;
Dining at Cargo on the balcony. You can book. The meals are also excellent at Mango next door at about twice the price.
We used three of the most recommended tailors on various sites and were much happier with Yaly although if you want the beeter material it is not necessarily absolutely bargain basement price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The four days we stayed in the Victoria Hotel were our best days in Vietnam.

We absolutely loved it. The rooms spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is also very spacious and has a large bathtube.

The rooms are checked two times, one in the morning and one in evening, so when you come back in the night you find the courtains already closed for you and a good night story on your bed.

The breakfast has a huge variety and everything is from excellent quality.

There is a shuttle bus into town so you do not need to bother about taxis.

The only drawback might be the swimming pool because of the hot water and the "expensive" restaurant when comparing it to vietnamese prices.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Spent just 3 nights here in July 2009 with husband and 12 yr old son. Was great being located on the beach as this was a blissful escape from the daily hustle of the Old Town. A great spot to explore Hoi An from. The Hotel shuttle to and from Old Town meant that the commute was easy and free of charge. The beach was clean and great for long walks...nice and wide, plenty of good flat area to walk or run (should you wish to). There is a large pool, which we didn't use as we were on the lounge chairs on the beach the whole time when we were back at the hotel . We stayed in one of the Colonial rooms...a cabin located along the beach. recently renovated and very comfortable with fantastic views from the room out over the water and to the islands lying offshore. I am an avid blogger and it was great as they had free wireless in the rooms. Husband could keep tabs on the cricket as well!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My wife, 16 year old daughter and I stayed for 8 nights at the Victoria Hoi An Hotel. The hotel is very nice and sits right on the beach at Hoi An.

The room was a decent size - even with the extra bed for my daughter. The service is very good with some nice little touches like the sheet turning service and chocaltes in the evening.

The swimming pool is very nice - the water gets so warm that they have to put ice blocks into the water every lunchtime.

Although the hotel is 5km from the town centre the hotel offers a regular free minibus service to and from town. Even if you have to splash out on a taxi it is only 60,000 dong (3 US Dollars).

Whilst the hotel is very nice I would suggest going out and seeing Hoi An which has some lovely restaurants - especially the ones on the riverside. Cargo and another restaurant at number 96 I think (recently opened by the ex German head chef of the Victoria Hoi An - it offers some amazing ice creams) are both very good and offer exceptional food for the cost.

Whilst the charges for food and drink are in line with the rating of the hotel I would suggest going out for food and drink - the hotel charges 4 US dollars (68000 dong) for a bottle of beer that you can get in bars in town for 20000 dong or cheaper.

The trips offered by the hotel are also expensive - better to book trips outside the hotel at 50% of the price for the same trip. We booked the motorcycle tours with Hoi An Motorbike Tours who are brilliant. We also booked the Vietnamese cooking class at Red Bridge Restaurant which is really good fun and interesting.

The breakfast is exceptional and the choice amazing. The hotel is very quiet after 10am and the hotel bar dead.

If your buget permits it, I can recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granty66Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

At first we had booked 5 nights in this hotel. After that period we have booked an additional 4 nights. We had been travelling in north vietnam for 1,5 weeks and it was great arriving in this hotel. All the luxury we hadn't seen on our trip came back in this hotel. Private and nice beach, the food is excellent, in fact never aten such good beef, and clean and cool rooms. In short, really worthwile!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuusUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#71 of 159 in Hoi An
1,728 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#87 of 159 in Hoi An
948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £84 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hoi An, splendor of the past Annam, a most charming town listed as a World Heritage site by UNESCO. Explore the vestiges of a glorious Cham past. Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa replicates a traditional fishing village with small streets, water ponds and village houses with clay-tiled roofs, providing a warm and restful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort And Spa
Victoria Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing