We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but lacked atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #53 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great rooms but lacked atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed in the Victoria suite which was absolutely devine. The room faced the beach and had a beautiful stone tub and outdoor rain shower. But the hotel lacked atmosphere. The restaurant was very over priced and the food average at best. (French prices) Although the breakfast was very good. In fairness I must say that it rained the whole time we were there and there was no chance of using the beach or the pool so perhaps we didn't see the best of it. However the staff were not particularly attentive, the shuttle was infrequent and we felt that the hotel was largely geared to older European visitors, particularly the French. The laundry service is astronomically priced, US $3.50 per pair of undies but there are a number of laundry services just down the road that will do all of your laundry for US $1 per kilo. When in Hoi An you must do the Red Bridge Cooking School. It can be found in a cafe just down from the Japanese covered bridge. Its a great day, lots of laughs and good food. We have had good results with tailoring from Yally and Trang (near the Hoi An Hotel).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaPh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    638
    135
    26
    18
See reviews for
532
1,120
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Perfect location for a few days R&R on the 'Vietnam Must See Everything Trip'. Well designed resort right on the beach and an easy 15 min cab into Hoi An town.
Resort between the river and the sea, rooms/suites set around large beautiful (but too warm) pool. Our agent had booked us into rooms facing the river and the road but we managed to upgrade at a reasonable rate (two levels) to beach front suites, which had outdoor showers, own terrace, a Japanese tea room and huge bath. Very comfortable indeed and well worth the extra.Suitable for families or couples.
We had breakfast, (great pancakes says my nephew) a lunch and two dinners at the on-site restaurant; food (both Vietnamese and western) was good, staff friendly although service poor one night compared to the other. Bar service in and around the pool excellent.
Hotel has its own scheduled mini bus into and out of town but a taxi is very cheap if you miss the bus, The hotel has a games room, two other bars and a spa that we didn't get too try.
Hoi An is wonderful and I would relish the chance to return to both the town and the hotel. My only worry is the planned development up and down the adjacent beachfront over the next few years could spoil the beach area (not the town, hopefully). So Go Now!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Loved this hotel, friendly helpful staff. beautiful surroundings and great food. the food was of course expensive compared to the local restaurants but the seafood buffet for USD24 was worth every cent. during our 4 night stay we really enjoyed chilling around the pool after a busy day shopping in the town. our 6 year old loved the pool and used the kids club a couple of times. She started to get into trouble in the pool at one oint and straight away a life guard was there to help her out!

We bought beer for USD1 in the local shops and took that to the hotel which saved a fortune. used the shuttle bus all but once to get ina nd out of town. We would go back there in an instant!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morts94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Hill, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We normally don't stay in this type of resort, but with a young child with us this time, we decided to pay a bit extra for a few more comforts. The Victoria is a lovely hotel and the staff were wonderful, especially with our 2 y.o. who became a favourite guest with a lot of the staff. There is a kids club, which we used a few times. It is quite good, but there weren't many kids there as we stayed during off season, so it probably wasn't as much fun for our little boy as it would be at another time. The kids club is free. The staff in the kids club also do babysitting in your room, which we also took advantage off, and this also went very well. The facilities at the hotel are great, there is good breakfast buffet and the hotel restaurants are very nice. These are obviously much more expensive than eating in Hoi An or the village up the road, but cheap by western hotel standards. We had the buffet dinner at the hotel one night, which was $24 USD each, excluding drinks - wine is very expensive though. Beer can be bought from grocery stores in the village up the road, you can also get your laundry done at several of the stores there for $1 USD per kilo. The beach is lovely and there is a patrolled swimming area, the pool is also great, and there is a toddlers pool as well. We both had massages at the spa and I had a pedicure as well. There is a shuttle bus into Hoi An, it doesn't go very often during the day, but the taxi ride is very cheap, usually around 100,000 Dong. There was nothing to complain about with our stay, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taqsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My Husband and I stayed her in the middle of a jam packed honeymoon schedule, whilst travelling across Vietnam & Cambodia. We had a fabulous beach facing villa with all the amenities that you would expect of a hotel of this calibre. With the crazy, busy schedule that we had planned for ourselves the 3 days that we spent here felt much longer. The service was excellent and the food was of very high quality. We loved that the hotel provided a free shuttle into the town and wished that we had packed less to enable us to buy more in the town from the fabulous tailors. If you do not want to pay a bit more for food in the hotel of the evening, I would recommend mooching into Hoi An where a good meal (and several G&T's) can be found very cheaply and there is plenty to see and do whilst you are there. I would definatley recommend this hotel, its location and it's friendly staff, we will return, and stay in a Victoria hotel again where possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed at the Victoria in May 2010 and overall had a great stay there. I moved to the Victor for 1 night after spending most of my time in the town of Hoi An. It was a very good decision as it was a great contrast to the town and brought the relaxation of the beach. They upgraded me to a villa right on the beach which made the experience so much better. The beach feels quite private and there were plenty of chairs and tables on the beach to chill at. The pool area has a good restaurant to grab a quick lunch during your day on the beach.
In terms of transportation, there are buses going to and from the hotel to Hoi An making it fairly convenient though you will have to take a taxi or motorcycle back from Hoi An if you are planning on staying there late.
I did feel though that the lobby needs some serious upgrading. The rooms, facility and beach are first class but the lobby especially the floor did not look like it was maintained properly.
The hotel does not come cheap but if you want to have a good beach experience but still access to Hoi An, it's a worthwhile hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJtoSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Victoria Hoi An is a beautiful establishment.

Great beachside resort
Staff were great. Very obliging, happy to help in anyway they can. Very relaxed atmosphere, always seemed to be live music or entertainment at night, beautiful lighted pool. Great for singles, couples or family travellers with children - we saw all having a good time at the resort.

Leisure facilities
Aside from the beach and pool and bar-side pool, there is also a gym, pool/snooker tables and internet to hotel guests to use free of charge

Beautiful beach location
It is located about 5km (or given Vietnam roads about 10 min drive) out of town, the hotel is located on a beautiful beach. Go for a morning or afternoon walk to truly appreciate it. To take advantange of the beachside location, they have also built the pool and lounge chairs by the beach, so it is windy and much cooler than in town. It is a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of this small town.

However - you need ot travel to town
There is a downside to being a beachside location, however, the trip into town is not as convenient as being able stroll out of your hotel straight into the UNESCO preserved streets of Hoi An - where there is a vibrant night life. So if that's what you are after, this is not the place for you.

The hotel provide ~6 daily shuttles to/from town, otherwise the cost is about US $5-10 each way. Not expensive, just about convenience. Apart from teh hotel shops and restaurants, there aren't even any shops or restaurants within 100-200m walking distance. So it is very much a self-contained resort but prices are cheap for 4 star resort by international standards (eg, buffet dinner US$240-30, drinks $5, desserts US$5-10)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushrooom288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#65 of 153 in Hoi An
1,651 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#84 of 153 in Hoi An
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.4 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hoi An, splendor of the past Annam, a most charming town listed as a World Heritage site by UNESCO. Explore the vestiges of a glorious Cham past. Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa replicates a traditional fishing village with small streets, water ponds and village houses with clay-tiled roofs, providing a warm and restful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing