We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult for me to review....Stay 1 night Max, or maybe just drop in to View?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed 3 nights at VH1 recently. Being a big fan of the book and film, plus a huge Caine fan, I really wanted to stay in the Hotel (The Quiet American) I was even lucky enough to stay in the room used for the film (208).
No doubt about it, the Hotel oozes charm and the room is wonderfully fitted out with in the classic Chinese theme advertised.
The location is great, but Hoi An is small.
I paid $95 USD per night for the room....there is no way this room is worth that price. I have been in Vietnam for 5 weeks now and stayed in far better Hotels for $20 - $25 per night.
Room 208 is very noisy! Being right over one of the main streets through Hoi An, the noise from below reverberates through the Hotel - Yes, i have very good custom ear plugs so I could sleep. You cannot have any down time, or rest time in the room as it's very noisy....and yes, you can here the TV that the reception staff are watching below you :)
Every time someone walks on the top floor, the whole floor moves and sways (Hotel is wooden and on stilts)
The staff were OK at best....when I tried to check in, one of the staff members was trying to convince me I didn't have a booking.
Once that was sorted, I was shown on a map which tailor to visit, which restaurants to eat at and then given a run down on the tours / services they have available - the usual deal in Vietnam.
Just a side note - but when are Hotel managers going to realize that Tourists / Travelers will not pay 2 or 3 times the price for Water / Booze / Coke / Laundry in the Hotel, when they can walk out side, turn left or right, walk 50m and have the service options for 1 third the price??
The best reception I received from any staff member was on my last morning when I was greeted for breakfast with the comment and a big smile "today you leave...yes?"
Breakfast is OK..but for $95 USD, I was expecting the works!
Disappointing for me, but you pays yah money, you takes yah chances :)

If you must, stay for 1 night, or just pop in and have a look around.

Room Tip: if you stay on the top floor / road side.....good ear plugs are a MUST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

What to say more than the others guests wrote already ! A wonderful hotel, clean, good service, with an excellent view on the river...the breakfast is excellent, the swimming pool, the spa...we stayed just 2 days in Hoi An for the 1st trip in Vietnam, we will stay more next time. Maybe one thing...familiar hotel, with so much childrens...we were just with friends...but it's ok ! it doesn't matter

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zluca2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were 3 adults sharing a suite (extra bed). The extra bed was very good, normal bed, not any military type of bed which we experienced at even better ranked hotels. Our safety box was not working but we did not bother. The room was great. The only thing which can be mentioned as a warning is that the wall between the toilet/bathroom and the room is not a real wall but a sliding decoratively perforated screen. No privacy when sitting on the toilet chair. We hang sarongs and towels there and it was ok. The feeling of staying in the old wooden house in the middle of Hoi An was really nice. Specially in the early morning when the town is reclaimed by the local people cycling to work or school, opening slowly their shops or watering flowers. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: For a best feeling of the town ask for room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent 3 days in Hoi An while on a trip to vietnam to visit my brother in law who is working in Hue. This hotel is charming with lots of old world charm from a by gone era. Our room was upstairs with every convenience and the staff were very helpful in recommending the secret garden to eat at which was lovely and only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. They also booked our bus for us back to hue. The breakfast was adequate but the real bonus is the hotel is right in the centre of the old quarter neat the Japanese bridge. Certainly worth staying at. Robert and Cherie Australia.

Room Tip: Upstairs are perhaps not as noisy but by 9.00pm there is litle traffic anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

First - the picture here on Tripadvisor showing a pool is from another Vinh Hung hotel and not from Vinh Hung 1. Stay at Vinh Hung 1 for the experience of staying in an antique old house at a location that can't be beat. We were lucky to be upgraded to one of the front rooms with balcony. I can usually sleep through quite a lot of sound but was awoken by a brass band playing on the street a few yards from our bed at 7 in the morning! OK for one night. Room didn't smell as damp as I had feared from other reviews, but maybe it is more on the bottom floor. Remember that Hoi An gets flooded every year. Water smelt a bit of sulfur, but no big deal. I thought breakfast was OK - not as bad as some reviewers had me to expect, but not very good if you compare it to what you would get at other hotels in this price range in Vietnam. Didn't see or hear any rats. Staff polite but a tad too eager to try to sell transport to Da Nang for USD 20. If you can find a private car it is possible to go for VND 200 000 (USD 10). Taxi Meter more expensive than standard USD 15 to or from Da Nang.
Anyhow, I'm glad I did spend a night at Vinh Hung 1 and recommend others to do so. But don't expect it to be like other hotels in that price range. If you want comfort, silence and a pool etc, go some were else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Vinh Hung 1 - This is a fabulous 6 bed hotel in the centre of the World Heritage Site of Hoi An. Its an old Merchant house and blends seemlessly with the historic buildings along one of the main streets. If you are reading this you probably know the history so do not expect 5 star luxury - it is the real-deal though. Ignore the negative reviews and sit eating your breakfast with the tourists looking in as they pass. All said, this if for those who wnat an authentic experience of an ancient Merchant house with excellent service. It is not for those who need 5star luxury.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are at the front. However, they are a bit narrower and we were told by other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BacHa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel has only 6 rooms but designed in traditional style with all wooden facilities. Large room with only one window overlooking the old streets - some little light lacking but modern facilities inside.

There's a large "light well" in the middle of the hotel like the simple architecture in Hoi An.

Many restaurants are available at your footsteps.

The hotel can organise biking tour for our Family. They are very friendly and always happy at their job.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#54 of 162 in Hoi An
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel
Long Life Riverside Hotel
#143 of 162 in Hoi An
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cozy Hoi An Boutique Villas
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#86 of 162 in Hoi An
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing