We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Hotel in Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“My favourite Hotel in Vietnam”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Having spent three weeks travelling through Vietnam and staying in accomodation ranging from budget $5/night to the most luxurious private villa costing in excess of $500/night - Vinh Hung 1 was my favourite hotel.
The authentic antique furniture sets it apart from anywhere else we stayed in Vietnam, and you'd struggle to find a room of similar size and standard in Europe for even five times the price!
With in room computer and internet access, it was great to be able to email home from the comfort of such luxurious surroundings, rather than some of the grubby internet cafes with which we had come accustomed, and with widescreen tv and english movies all for $65 a night, i was just gutted we couldn't stay any longer.

Binh at reception was extemely helpful, setting us up with motorbike taxi's to the beach and a car to the train station, as well as filling us in on all the local tourist attractions and explaining in detail about the local festival happening during our stay.

The screen door separating the toilet and bathroom from the main bedroom mentioned in an earlier review, is actually quite difficult to see through - proven by my boyfriend taking a multitude of photo's in an attempt to embarras me and none of them actually showed anything other than a screen door. If you do have any doubts, Binh was only too happy to show us each of the available rooms (including the one Michael Caine used as a dressing room during the filming of "The Quiet American") before we settled on our favourite - ground floor, back left.

The only thing lacking at this hotel is a swimming pool, but a short walk across town allows you access to the facilities at any of its sister hotels.

In all, Hoi An is a beautiful town, and the character of which is captured perfectly at Vinh Hung 1 - I fully recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    109
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
53
193
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Vinh Hung 1 now refurbished to have only 6 rooms. Ours downstairs left. Huge room, 1 King, 1 Queen bed. Dressing area with his and hers wash basins, Separate toilet/bidet/bathtub. Proper hot water. Lovely old feel (I know it's new, but has been really well done. Computer in the room (although the wireless connection occasionally went down). Lovely breakfast (included) and friendly helpful staff.

This place cost SEVEN times what I paid for a room the night before, but not at all expensive by European standards. Walked in and negotiated a price for a two night stay.

Location is ideal, and you get free access to the swimming pool down at the rather soul-less Vinh Hung resort.

The kids and I loved it as a treat - way outside our budget but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manatdollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The character of this renovated Chinese shophouse hotel is the selling point for Vinh Hung 1 Hotel. The owners have 3 other hotels/resorts of varying styles close by and this one is the ideal one for those who want a firsthand view of old Hoi An - recommended for those who want to escape boring modern 3-star tourist hotel rooms for something more interesting.

Our suite was located in the recently renovated back portion, which was quiet and extremely spacious, with bedding for three. The bedding was comfortable, had mosquito netting for those inclined to use it and had a nice widescreen TV with satellite. Minibar was inexpensive. There were no curtains, so one tends to awaken with the sun.

It was air-conditioned with a small split-system unit which struggled in the summer heat, but managed a respectable 23-25 degrees but failed to drop lower in such a large area. The furnishings were dark, reproduction Chinese style furniture, which was charming - however, the wardrobe doors wouldn't close, the safe wouldn't open and the desk had a centre drawer so large that we had to straddle the drawer to use their complimentary internet-connected computer. Free Wi-Fi was excellent.

The floorboards have not been nailed down and have warped in the heat, thus walking barefoot often pinched when stepping on the gaps. It was also apparent that housekeeping, whilst servicing twice daily with fresh towels and making beds, vacuum or mop inadequately or not frequently enough - leaving the floors in the room and in their marble bathrooms, feeling constantly grimy. Rubber flip-flops are provided in the room.

Finally, the execution of their beautifully designed bathroom is somewhat suboptimal. The bath has a handheld shower which requires you to either sit in the bath to shower, or stand and spray water all over the timber detailing around the bath. There is no sealant around this timber and water must fall behind the bath cracks.

The bathroom door is are two sliding Oriental fretwork screens, which had not been dusted recently. They barely hide the person on the throne from the rest of the room, especially when backlit by streaming sunlight from the window behind the toilet. Not a problem, if you're not shy....

The foyer was not air-conditioned, making the lounge area unpleasant for a quiet coffee or beer in the heat of summer, but it is an open shophouse, so it is not unreasonable that it isn't air-conditioned. I realise that Hoi An is an old dusty town with constant motorbike traffic going past their vast open doors, but there were thick layers of dust on all their red lanterns, more obvious during the day.

There are positives - (i) character hotel, (ii) friendly and helpful staff - they really do try to help and ensure your comfort, (iii) small but enjoyable breakfast spread, (iv) superb location in old town area. I appreciated the hotel for these reasons, but felt that the lack of attention to detail makes the experience three-star, not five-star.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

It was the most expensive hotel we had in Vietnam. It was worth every penny. Located in the old city, we stayed in one of the suite. Charming, exquisite service, and beautiful rooms. If you book through their website, make sure you check the promotion section. We discovered because we were staying three nights we where eligible to use other Vinh Hung hotels in Hoi An and other free activities. Unfortunately, if you do not read it the staff will not tell you.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire UK
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Stayed 4 nights and loved every minute, room upstairs at front. Get a wake-up call from the tune on the dust-cart at 7. If you enjoy watching the world go about its business then spend an hour on the balcony watching the street below.
Only 6 rooms, internet booking best value.
Room immaculate, staff friendly & helpful, breakfast basic but adequate.
if you want a pool / riverside then the Vinh Hung resort provides this, 10 minute walk away.
Location is in pedestrian area, but motorbikes use street except between 6- 10pm.
PC in room with internet.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgedPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the rooms that Michael Caine is supposed to have used as dressing rooms while filming The Quiet American.

The room was wonderful, if a little dark and had a balcony which overlooked the street. Every morning at 6am we were woken by the incesant traffic which continued until the road was closed at 8am.

This was the only complaint so my advice would be to take a room at the back and ask to have a look at the Michael Caine room!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiantUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#77 of 153 in Hoi An
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#30 of 153 in Hoi An
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing