We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #97 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We arrived late at night from Hanoi with three children, the staff were very unhelpful and despite me calling during the day to advise we had a third child and would need ( and pay for) an extra bed, the staff would not give us a fold up bed. They attitude was 'bad luck' - it's 11pm at night in a foreign country, so there was not much we could do and the kids were exhausted. There's a group of local houses right next door they wake up early and get going with machinery, motorbikes, etc. We had two rooms both well apart, and both somehow still close to the fence line of noisy houses next door.
It's a very small 'resort' with a pokey pool that is kind of not in Hoian, and not on the beach. We treated the kids to a milkshake which cost AUS $7 dollars each, which to put in context was only $3 dollars for real fruit smoothies at the Swiss Hotel Golden Sands ( where we moved to). Overall this hotel might suit a couple visitn Hoian for a night, but you have to get a taxi anywhere uless you want to try a Vespa. Staff laughed when I told them we had to make up a bed out of Doonas on the floor my 9 year old, thought it was a great joke.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the fence line, they are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    256
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
114
293
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is reasonable, not great, certainly not bad, but it is a hotel with a pool...not a resort as such.
The outlook from the breakfast/restaurant is tranquil and nice, overlooking the small river and the rice paddies.
Breakfast is fine as are the rooms although if you have the curtains open there is no privacy as most rooms face the pool and garden areas where other guests are, not a major problem though.
We were left with a slightly bitter taste when checking out and were charged $35 for a small load of washing....best to drop it off in town, probably pay around $8!!
Don't bother with the massage across the road unless you like to tell funny little adventure stories when you get home...I don't mind roughing it a bit but this was just strange...a little room with walls of cardboard and old signs and two single beds, one where she sleeps and one for her son, as you lay there the trucks whizz past the room probably only 5 metres away, to top it off she cut short my 60 minute massage by at least 15 minutes when another client turned up, never mind....it all helps the local economy!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a river view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0yfr0m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Riverside is the name ,Riverside is the location.What a lovely peaceful place with an absolutely beautiful outdoor pool.Yes the rooms are a bit dated but they are clean & comfortable with a small terrace overlooking the river & the rice paddies.
Great buffet breakfast with lots of choices.Eat out at night at the Blue Wave restaurant . A less than £1 taxi ride away ,just over the bridge on the road to the beach(turn right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menstonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely birthday weekend at this quaint hotel on the river. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the rice fields and river, and although the room was clean and the bedlinen was good quality, it was very tired and old looking, with the dark wood desperately needing a paint job and the open-plan bathroom like something out of a 1960's B+B in England. We only ate breakfast there as there are so many great options In Hoi An, and although the choice was good the quality was only average; however it was good to be able to have freshly made eggs. I get upset when I see slices of cheese wrapped in plastic on a breakfast buffet, surprising considering all of the guests were Westerners and certainly I heard the German's complaining about this. Facilities are very limited, again in need of upgrading especially the internet which was very slow and wifi not available in the room, however it does have a great outdoor pool with lots of loungers to relax on. What was very good however were the staff-almost without exception smiling, friendly and very helpful and this really made our weekend as anything we asked for was delivered, and with the exception of 1 staff on reception all spoke reasonable English. The resort is about 10 minutes from the town and they do have a shuttle 5 times a day but we used taxi's (about 3 dollars) as it was more convenient. I wish I had the cash to buy this place, it has an excellent opportunity to achieve the marketing hype of "the best boutique hotel" however to do this the rooms and facilities need a complete makeover. Anyone want to invest?!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and away from the noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This so-called resort is disappointing. I call it an appearance resort; upon initial appearances, it seems to be quite quaint, but if you scratch under the surface, you’ll want to stay elsewhere. As previously mentioned, it requires quite a bit of updating. We stayed here as a part of a tour group, and we were given a main level unit. Because we checked in in the evening after a long bus ride, we were just relieved to have arrived. The location isn’t great, though there is a shuttle to the beach and Ancient Town. On our second night, we noticed these gnat-like bugs on the walls drawn to the lights. I probably killed at least fifteen of them before going to bed. My friend discouraged me from venturing into the washroom where there were more. I guess that’s one of the “perks” of staying at a resort close to the river. We also found a spiderweb in the washroom; some of this is concealed by the poor lighting, maybe so as not to attract more unwanted insects. We didn’t bother trying to switch rooms, as communication would have been a problem, and it was the middle of the night.. Because Hoi Ann is a lovely town for relaxing and shopping, you want to stay at a better hotel, one free of insects.

Room Tip: Cheap laundry available across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stay - 19/02/2012 - 22/02/2012. Inital perception is good, however it is a little like 24ct gold plating. Looks great, however once you scratch the surface the reality is somewhat disappointing. The reception staff are friendly, however their english is very limited, the room was clean, however tiny and the bathroom was simply out dated and run down. Our toilet did not work properly from day one and I had to walk to the restaurant and use the one there despite advising them on 2 separate occasions. The restaurant food was nice but overpriced in comparison (Son restaurant 150m up the road was 100 times better). It is too far out of town to have a leisurely evening stroll through the markets and across the beautiful bridges. You have to take the taxi or the shuttle. Having said that, it has good points - it is far enough out of town that it is nice and quiet, the pool is beautiful, the view across the river overlooking the rice paddies is sureal and the turndown service complete with a bed time story was a nice touch. For me, they try hard, but they just don't have it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

While the rooms were really clean, the staff at the reception is speaking a little english and the management charged us a higher exchange rate than we paid anywhere in vietnam although we satyed 4 nights in 2 rooms. Our shower was also defect, it was fixed temporary. while we were out in the night, our room keys were laying with other roomkeys at the reception desk, so everybody was able to take it. NOT SECURE!!!
I feel sorry for all the other stuff working in this hotel which where friendly and helpful, but the management and the reception are a disaster.
NOT WORTH THE PRICE AND STARS!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touring_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Royal Riverside Hoi An Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Hoi An Historic Hotel
#75 of 155 in Hoi An
1,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Trails Resort
Hoi An Trails Resort
#60 of 155 in Hoi An
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 175 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An +84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#59 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Hoi An Riverside Resort And Spa
Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Riverside Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing