We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a very good hotel”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #102 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still a very good hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A very good hotel. Nice pool area, good rooms, and service-minded staff. The location near the beach is good. The shuttle-service to the town is nice but could be better organised. The hotel would soon need a little refurbishing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Mr. Jonas K,

Warmest greetings from River Beach Resort & Residences !

Thank you very much for choosing our Resort for your family stay in Hoi An. It's our pleasure to know you are enjoy your stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. Our Management and Staffs at resort will keep improving our services with our warm spirit to make the stays with us memorable.

We also appreciate your valuable comment on TripAdvisor that are being considered for our soonest plan.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at River Beach Resort & Residences again soon.

With kind regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    234
    89
    42
    21
See reviews for
146
218
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Universal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We arrived after 3-4hr bus trip from Hue. Check in was unfriendly. Aircon not working. Room was dark with dark furniture. They couldn't bring an iron to the room as its hotel policy. This has been the first time I have ever heard of something like this and it's day 20 of our holiday in Asia , many hotels later.

Breakfast was mostly catered for Asians, although they had an egg station. No cutlery was set on the table. Whatever you requested took forever. I asked for a boiled egg , it came back raw inide and when I returned it he took the same egg and put it in the boiler?? Noisy locals crowded the area with people blowing noses in an eatng area. I lost my appetite before I could eat anything. Staff miserable and not service orientated. Cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Lizards and frogs galore, unless you can handle these creatures.

Usually we've had wonderful service experience in Asia so far, but this was a let down. We've noticed the patriotism when it comes to their own people, but as foreigners and guests in their country, they have to change their mindset to make all feel at home and not try and ripp you off at each opportunity they get.

Will defnitely not return or recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mohamed Adams,

Warmest greetings from River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An !

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We will look into it to improve and train our staff to serve and learn from guests’ expectation. We feel regret to hear that and we will learn from your comment to avoid this will not happen again in the future.

Anyway I would like to explain some things concerned to your complaint as followings:

As our Family suite room can accommodate maximum two adults and two children and your family have 6 people totally (2 adults + 4 children) then the Reception should advise you to put one more Extra-bed for your children but you didn’t agree with this suggestion and this may make an unfriendly check-in as you think when you arrive the hotel. We are sorry for this but this is the hotel policy and the Reception should advise guests as their duty.

As our hotel policy & also to ensure guests’ safety from the fire that may cause by using iron in the room, guests could not bringing iron to the room and this policy is applied to all the guests. For ironing or washing clothes, our Resort has laundry and ironing service for guests 24 hours.

As you may know that our resort welcome most of foreigner tourists year round and the staff know that we should serve all the guests with our warm service as this is also our Slogan. We take care all the guests to make their stay really comfortable like at home and we receive many good feedback from guests who stayed at our resort. You could find this in last comments on Trip advisor, so we are sorry if our staff could make anything wrong with you during your stay. We promise this will not happen again in the future.

On behalf of the Management and staff at River-Beach Resort, we would like to thank you for your choosing and stay with us.

We will take note your comments to improve our services as this is our good lesson.

We really look forward to welcoming your family again at our resort in the future with our assurance that we will make your stay more comfortable with our refresh services soon.

With kind regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We took the family for a beach vacation.
Rooms, - were large and comfy, we had a family suite. They were a little dark, but nice pillows and beds.
Pool, - it's really not much of a pool, but relaxing to sit by. The beach was the main attraction.
Restaurant - food was lovely but $$ kids enjoyed the dancers and musicians. There are several eating places along the street and the food was cheap and meals tasty.
The Town, - was a cab ride and we went for meals (very nice places to eat in the old town) and I (mum) went alone one day to browse the shops. If you are more interested in the Old town then you would be better to stay in the town.
For the price it was fantastic value. We weren't expecting 5 stars so our expectations weren't high and we were pleasantly surprised.
Boat ride - one night we took a boat back from the old town, its not far by cab but its a very very windy river and took 1.5 hours. A little too long but interesting all the same!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orchidgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Mrs. Orchidgurl,
On behalf of Resort ‘s Management, I would like to thank you very much for choosing your stay at our resort in Hoi An. We are very pleased to know that you and your family have enjoyed the trip and that you have memorable memories from it.
Our management and staffs at resort will keep improving our services with our warm spirit to make the stays with us memorable.
I also thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor and and I am looking forward to welcome you at River Beach Resort & Residences again soon.

With kind regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We decided that we would spend a few days in Hoi An. We thought it would be mid trip and we might need a bit of a respite. We were greeted with smiles, welcomes and glasses of juices.

Our room - #202 was perfect. Large, bright and clean. Our balcony had a great view of the courtyard and the river just beyond. The hotel is cement so very soundproof.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

The free breakfast was fantastic with breads, cereals, egg station, Pho station, several types of main dishes (common breakfast food in Vietnam), and fruit.

Musicians and dancers entertain at dinner. Great prices and really good food.

2 computers with free internet. Internet a bit slow.
Book nook
Exercise area
REally nice pool with chaise lounges and umbrellas
Spa -- super foot/leg massage and facial
Beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use (we did not)

Was about 5 km out of old town - which was really nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. We walked into town one afternoon. Took 2 hours at a casual pace. Taxi cab back cost 100,000 dong.... $5.00.

Had a fantastic time there!

Room Tip: #202 was great. Fantastic view and no one looking into your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The best thing about this lovely hotel is the service. Everyone is so genuine and greets you very warmly. You get to feel true Vietnamese people at this hotel. Regular and free shuttlebus in to town makes it super easy and economical to explore.
The food is delicious, from amazing breakfast omlettes, to each a la carted dish, lovingly prepared, tasting so fresh and delicious it makes it hard to leave the hotel for lunch/ dinner!
The swimming pool is great, brilliant access to the beach and the fact that it all looks over a beautiful river makes it even better.
The rooms are very big and immaculate, with all the ammenities you need. They arren't super modern, but that becomes irrelevant with the overral atmosphere at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooking the river are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks to relax at the end of a very long trip . We had everything we had wanted and enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful and very friendly and service is very good. The rooms were made up and cleaned well and the coffee and tea making facilities were appreciated.The rooms were large and the big bed was really comfortable and we had a river view with a balcony which was lovely. The breakfasts were very good with a huge choice and the chefs even made me poached eggs instead of omelette when requested. We enjoyed the pool and also made use of the private beach area - again lovely staff. We also made use of the free shuttle bus into Hoi An . The hotel is a pleasant surprise when you enter as from the road it doesnt look anything special. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50MOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The River Beach is situated right on the banks of a river with the sandy beach of Cua Dai, used by US troops for rest and relaxation during the Vietnam war, some 100m away. The rooms are large and well-equipped but looking a little worse for wear with outdated sanitary fittings and chipped wooden paintwork etc. They are all equipped with basic toiletries (comb, shampoo, soap etc), TV, tea/coffee-making facilities, air conditioning and access to free Wifi. Daily cleaning is to a high stndard and any reported repairs attended to promptly (Wifi while we were there and a new router was fitted nearby within 24hours and our faulty slide door was repaired straight away). In fact service generally is very good. There is a pleasant pool with bar and restaurant (a bit expensive) alongside, a small gym and a beauty salon. A free shuttle bus operates every 3 hours to take guests the 5km to Hanoi and there are rsetaurants, gift shopsand stores close to the hotel. The hotel also has its own travel agent and has bicycles for rent (not particularly well maintained and being built for Vietnamese use are a bit small for taller Europeans. If you get a riverside room you have an idyllic view of the river about 10m from your balcony or veranda.

Room Tip: If possible go for a riverside room for first class views. Next best is a pool view room. Avoid a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spidersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 147 in Hoi An
863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#74 of 147 in Hoi An
1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Property: River Beach Resort
Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#62 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing