We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #112 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 17 May 2013

we recently stayed RBR, had previously stayed here and felt like coming home, we had room 113 deluxe with riverview, so peaceful especially early morning on verandah with my coffee. Plenty of room even with extra bed. Staff are awesome, nothing is too much trouble, they genuinely want you to have a great stay. Pool area is adequate, could do with a little more sun bed and shade however did not prove too much of a drama for us. location is ideal, walk to beach, restaurants across road where we able to buy wine takeaway, even spirits is you wish. Free shuttle to Hoi An available however times are a little limited, taxi is only $3 so not an issue. I read other views and agree with some comment about a little old and tired, however it is clean and friendly so for us this just added character to the place, like a well worn comfy shoe. We will be returning soon I hope. Travelled with 7 year old granddaughter and this place was a great intro to Vietnam for her first time, we are currently in Nha Trang which is so vastly different. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, especially the boys playing table soccer with Lily.

Room Tip: River view is my recommendation, we had room 113, close to pool with awesome views of daily life on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crows8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Crows8,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Again, we would like to say thank you for taking the time in writing us a wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay once again here at the River Beach during your time in Hoi An. The whole River Beach team is happy to hear that you and your granddaughter had a great time not only with the place, but also with out staff. We always make sure that we give our guests the best experiences possible while in Hoi An.

And with that being said, we are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again here at the River Beach when you get the chance to go back in Hoi An.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

On the advice of a travel agency in Saigon, I chose to stay at this property over the more luxurious, but higher-priced resorts nearby, and I feel that I got more than my money's worth. In a nutshell, the River Beach Resort is a great value and holds its own against anything else nearby in the same price range. The staff was attentive to my needs, my room was spacious and comfortable, the pool was refreshing, and the breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day. The hotel operates a free shuttle to and from Hoi An proper throughout the day and offers free use of its bicycles to guests so inclined. The pristine sands of Cua Dai Beach are within easy walking distance, and the surrounding neighborhood abounds with spas and small cafe's.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a river view and take full advantage of the balcony to enjoy the scen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Gregory B,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

We would like to say thank you for taking the time in writing us a positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you've definitely had a great time during your stay here at the River Beach. The whole management team and staff are happy to read all your comments and recommendations.

The River Beach staff are looking forward in welcoming you again when you get the chance to go back here in Hoi An!\

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

There are times when we all enjoy being pampered. Adventure is fun, but so is luxury. And that's how my partner and I will remember River Beach Resort.

We arrived from a lesser establishment two doors down, did a little negotiation with the reception desk, and we were in. We enjoyed the pool, the river views, the private beach nearby, the big room and bathroom and the breakfast.

We had two nights of being pampered then it was back to the real world.

Room Tip: Stay on the riverside,away from the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT1Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear RT1Perth_Australia,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a wonderful feedback about our facilities and services. We are happy that you enjoyed being well pampered during your stay in the River Beach.

We look forward in seeing and welcoming you again here in Hoi An when you get the chance to visit next time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My traveling companions and I had just come from Hue and Da Nang where we stayed in very clean and comfortable hotels, so River Beach Resort , our last stop, was a disappointment. It is a very old and tired hotel with no charm. On the plus side, the hotel is well located close to the beach and my room , though spartan was large. I did not feel comfortable because my room and bathroom were not particularly clean. Truth be told I was a little afraid to closely examine the room for fear of what I would find. . There is nothing about the hotel that would entice me to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilia828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear cecilia828,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

It is an honor getting an honest feedback from customers like you. We would like to say thank you for taking the time in writing us comments and for choosing the River Beach as your second home during your last stop in Hoi An.

On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear that you've had such bad experience with our hotel. We are trying our best to improve every aspect and department in this property to make the experience positively unforgettable for all of our guests. Though hopefully during the next time you visit Hoi An, please do not hesitate to contact us again and we will make your stay way better than the last time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After an initial problem with the allocated room the hotel came up trumps and re-located us the the river view room with an attached living room as advertised on the booking website (Expedia) .
Definately worth having the internet evidence of the booked accommodation as the hotels own classifications weren't an obvious match! Hotel is large enough to provide a pleasant restaraunt and riverside bar but not over large. The free access to a beach and sun beds and shade at the nearby Goby beach cafe - about 200 meters, meant the best of both worlds.
do use the free bicycles to get to Hoi-an town, about 15 minutes

Room Tip: Insist on a direct river view for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Mick_and_Teresa,

Greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a helpful and informative feedback. The whole team highly appreciates all the kind words. True enough, the direct river view rooms are one of the best options when you stay with the River Beach Resort. We would also like to thank you for choosing the River Beach as your home during your stay in Hoi An.

We hope and we look forward in seeing you again when you get the chance to visit.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room over looking the river, it was nice to sit and relax looking at the river,
The room was quite large and had the largest bed I have ever seen, most beds in Asian countries are hard but this one wasnt as hard.
The resort needs a bit of work because it is has aged but it was still nice.
It is in a good area because there are a restaurants near by and the beach isnt far to walk to,
They give you a voucher to use at a restaurant right on the beach where you can just sit on their lounge chairs for free if you want you can order meals and have cocktails which were at a reasonable price.
The shuttle service was good to the town centre and back.
The tours booked from the hotel are overpriced, we booked a tour from a tour shop in the town which was very cheap.
The staff is very nice and friendly.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear JaniceBrisbane,

Greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel facilities and services. We are very glad that you've enjoyed yourself during your stay in the River Beach Resort. There is nothing more fulfilling than reading our customers positive feedback about our services. It is highly appreciated.

We hope to see and welcome you again when you get the chance to visit Hoi An next time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Both of us found the hotel lacking in any overall atmosphere. We were put off from the beginning when a whole page in guest information was devoted to how much you would be charged if anything ( and I mean anything went missing from the room ). I have stayed in a few hotels in my life and I have never seen that before. That said, the rooms were a good size and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the one dinner we had was very good. The shuttle into town was punctual and the staff were very friendly but the atmosphere was not there as far as we were concerned. The tours at the tour desk were way, way overpriced. The beach bar/restaurant is o.k.

Since all the other reviewers are positive I am willing to admit that it might just be us.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was all right for us as it had a balcony. If you want to pay for river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Scotcher,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time in leaving a nice feedback about our facilities and services. We are very honored to have had you as our guests during your stay here in Hoi An. We are also happy to hear that you've enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner. It is in fact excellent for a medium sized resort like the River Beach.

On the other hand, we completely understand where you're coming from. Our team, especially the front office, has a big responsibility in making sure that items in every rooms are always double checked so there would be no issues upon checking in and checking out. Therefore, the such questioning. We completely appreciate your keen observations and honesty.

We look forward in welcoming you once again in the River Beach when you get the chance to go back in Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#84 of 159 in Hoi An
948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#78 of 159 in Hoi An
1,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#69 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £36 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cua Dai Beach, River-Beach Resort offers rooms with cable TV and free internet access. The Resort features a pool. The resort is 4.8 km from Japanese Bridge and 16.2 km from Marble Mountains. Rooms at River-Beach have balconies overlooking the pool, garden or De Vong River. A minibar and safety deposit boxes are available. Sightseeing tours can be arranged at the resort’s tour desk. Guests can savour traditional Vietnamese dishes at Cyclo Café and Restaurant, located along De Vong River. Cham Pub offers drinks and evening entertainment. River Beach Resort & Residences situated in the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site-Hoi An where the De Vong River meets the South China Sea, right at the heart of Cua Dai Beach. The Lagoon Pool area and Coconut Palm Garden are the most beautiful places to enjoy the sun bath and relaxing cocktail or meal with a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing