We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fantastic pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fantastic pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had a booking for 2 days at Sunshine Hotel but ended up staying for 9 days! Hoi An is a beautiful town and the people are friendly and welcoming. Sunshine Hotel was perfect for us...a 15 min walk to town or 5 mins on a bicycle which were provided free of charge from the hotel. It was just far enough out of town to be quiet and relaxing without being isolated. The breakfast was great and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Great value for money and we would gladly recommend this hotel to family and friends. We prefer smaller boutique hotels where you have a personal connection with staff and the local culture and Sunshine Hotel was a perfect fit for us!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    282
    90
    24
    17
See reviews for
114
303
48
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were there during the typhoon therefore spent quite a bit of time in the hotel. It felt safe and the staff did all it could to assist in those difficult circumstances.

The location is ok if you want to be half way between town and the beach. They offer free bikes which makes getting to town so much quicker ( in reality it's a 20 minute walk). The food is good but a bit overpriced, if you want to try something different, I recommend the restaurant across the road, very good food, well priced and friendly staff.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in total and its definitely worth the $15 a night that we paid. The pool area is very nice & the food is good, if a tiny bit overpriced. The included buffet breakfast was very varied and tasty. The bathroom in our room did have quite a bad smell (drainage problems?) and the bath hadn't been cleaned very well on the day we arrived but I think that was just a case of human error rather than laziness on the cleaners part as we didn't have any other issues with cleanliness. The hotel have bicycles that you can borrow free of charge which is very handy as it's a little bit far to walk into the old town at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My fiancé and I stayed 6 nights at Sunshine. This is a very nice, clean hotel. The rooms are spacious, have decent size minibars/fridges, TV and the best wifi we've experienced in Vietnam. The pool is also amazing, clean, comfortable and very relaxing. The staff at the front desk was extremely nice, spoke good English but take their recommendation with a grain of salt as they seemed to only recommend the big name spots they had received some kind of incentive.

One thing that is receptive is that the hotel is not right no Hoi An old town. They even give you a map that makes the hotel look much closer than it is, but the scale is completely off. They make up for this in having free bikes available, and for just a 5-10 min bike ride, it's really not that big of a deal, and with the pool and the price,

Breakfast is hit or miss. It's free, so it's hard to complain. But it's hit or miss.

I would avoid the the spa. I asked for a neck and shoulder massage and they started on my feet. It was probably the worst massage I've ever received and much more expensive than the amazing massages I've had elsewhere in SEA. My girlfriend asked for a pedicure and they were just going to paint her nails. All she really wanted was her clauses scraped with a pumps stone and all the basics of a standard pedicure. They told her, "no that's not a pedicure, we just paint your nails." Well there's also a simple polish change on the menu, and separately a pedicure. When we showed them this they said they didn't have the right tools. So basically they were going to charge us for a service they were not going to perform. So just avoid the Spa and it seems like an after thought and they don't seem to be properly trained.

Overall , unless you really need to be right in the middle of old town, don't hesitate, just stay at Sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I cannot say enough great things about this hotel! The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel, rooms, restaurant and pool were very clean. It's only a VN40-43000 trip to the centre of town which makes it a great location. BE AWARE of dodgy taxi drivers ripping you off. We were ripped off twice. The first time the cab driver protested he did not have a light in the car (it was night time) and the second time we were taken the long way around to get to the centre of town which cost us double then what we had paid the previous 4 days. We protested while still paying but then he had the cheek to try and not give me my change so he could get a tip. You can complain to the taxi company but I was so miffed that I forgot to take the number of the taxi.
Don't let this deter you from staying at such a great hotel though - the hotel does run a very reliable free shuttle service 3 times a day.
As for the inclusion of breakfast - I don't know why other reviewers on here have whinged about the breakfast. We found it fresh and plentiful. Yes much the same is served each day but they do provide a substantial variety.
We will definitely be staying here again on our return visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaLouise74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Been there last year and highly recommend.
A litter bit far from old town for walking but too close for taxi.
Room: clean & clear (we stayed there when it has just opened few month)
Service and breakfast is ok for 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pimlfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Great place in Hoi An and price is awesome . Buffet breakfast fresh and well taken care of . Rooms are spacious with a nice balcony towards the pool . Free bikes and good wifi. About 12 minutes walking to the old town in a quiet area with the rooster waking you up ! Highly recommending it .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#80 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#58 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#48 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#14 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Property: Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 45 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing