We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights - wished I'd stayed longer! What a fantastic hotel - wee bit outside Hoi An but absolutely not a problem because of the free bicycle hire - 10 minutes to the beach and 10 - 15 minutes into town - there is also a free bus to town and a taxi is roughly £1.00.
Our room overlooking the pool had a welcome balcony to cool off from in the evening - the pool is great, decent size and gets the sun until about 1pm - when we retreated to the spectacular beach.
Buffet breakfast - great choice and staff are helpful and friendly.
I really don't get the bad reviews I've read here - I couldn't fault it. Would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank janis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    293
    94
    25
    20
See reviews for
119
313
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is outside the centre, but it does offer free bicycles to get to and from the centre of Hoian. The staff are friendly, rooms were clean and spacious and very nice bathroom and refreshed daily. It is good value for money with buffet breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had 6 nights here at this Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. It was clean and comfortable. A bit out of town, but we were given free push bike hire and that worked perfectly. We rode to town and back and to the beach and back several times with no problems. The Hotel had a good breakfast available and also a lovely pool to enjoy and escape from the heat. It's in a nice quiet and safe area with a few nice little restaurants within walking distance. We did have room service one evening but it was a bit ordinary... Overall, a great stay for a great budget price. Would stay here again no worries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennie2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed last year for a month, & enjoyed everything about it, that have booked again this year. Room rate includes free bicycles & free breakfast. A fairly good selection. Can't believe some of the negative comments by some people that it is so far from old town. It's only a couple dollars by taxi. What do people want, a 5 star hotel at 2 star prices? The pool is always clean with nice umbrellas & loungers to use.
Reading some peoples comments, makes you wonder why some people travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was attracted to this hotel because of the cost ($28 per night) and the decent reviews on tripadvisor. We stayed in Hoi An for 5 nights. Overall, the hotel was fine but not great. I would say it's good value for money but it might be worth investing in a nicer hotel closer to the centre.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We booked the cheapest room available and were upgraded to a room with a balcony and a bathtub upon arrival, which was very much appreciated! It's so hot outside that a balcony isn't really that useful, so I wouldn't pay extra for it. The pool was a nice refreshing break from the hot afternoon sun (it's completely shaded in the afternoon). It wasn't crowded and it was clean enough.

The most significant issue with the hotel is the location. They tell you it's a 15 minute walk from town, but it's more like 25 minutes (for 2 relatively fit young adults) and it's too hot to walk during daylight hours. They do offer free bikes (we biked to the beach and to town) and a free shuttle bus that operates at 10am, 2pm, 5pm & 7pm. This was a good service, but it would've been nice to have a bus at 9pm back from town. It may also stop unexpectedly - we were waiting for the 10am bus only to be told 10 minutes later that it would not be operating today... Nevertheless, a taxi costs only about $1.50 but make sure you get a metered one as some drivers will try to charge more!

The buffet breakfast was free, but was not the quality I expected from a 3* hotel in Vietnam. The food also stays out quite a while so get there early for the best service. We opted to go out for breakfast a few times, but do keep in mind that the first shuttle isn't until 10am.

Good hotel for those on a budget, but not great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaday64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Seeing as it was very cheap we opted for the Sunshine Hotel. For the cheap price it was definitely a very good hotel. Simple but clean! The swimming pool was nice too but often very crowded and I did see a few rats running around. The staff was very friendly so overall our experience was quite good! Eventhough the hotel says it is close to the city centre it is quite a long walk from the hotel to the Ancient Town. They do have bikes but it still is quite far away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanatic278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff were helpful and the restaurant was very good, as was the reasonably priced food. The rooms were big and (mostly) clean. The pool was clean. Free bicycle hire was a plus. The downsides? One day we were out until 5 pm and when we came back the room hadn't been cleaned. In fairness, that was rectified soon after we complained - but it would have been nice to come back to a cleaned room so we could all hop straight into the shower. But the worst part of staying here for us was the behaviour of the greedy, selfish backpackers - stuffing as much of the buffet food into their packs as they possibly could, so they wouldn't have to pay for any more meals each day. Sadly the staff just stood by and watched - possibly because they didn't want to get into an argument with foreigners. If it was our hotel, there would have suddenly been no vacancies!

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are occupied by backpackers and then stay as far away from there as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linhmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 147 in Hoi An
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#64 of 147 in Hoi An
605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#90 of 147 in Hoi An
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#9 of 147 in Hoi An
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
#21 of 147 in Hoi An
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel Hoi An
Jade Hotel Hoi An
#10 of 147 in Hoi An
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Property: Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 36 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing