We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden little gem!”
Review of Hoi An Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My friend and I (2 girls in our mid 20's) stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! We arrived and were immediately treated like royalty. This is a truly beautiful hotel. After spending quite some time in hostels, this was a complete oasis for us. We tend to gravitate immediately towards the bathroom, this was no different. This bathroom was AMAZING. Great water pressure in the shower and the outdoor bathtub was divine. The hotel was always aware when we had left the room, even if it was for a few moments, and they would tidy up the room and refill our free water. For us, this was truly a luxury. The free breakfast in the morning surpassed our expectations. The options were limitless. The location of this hotel was great, you are equidistant from the beach and from the old town. The hotel also offers free bikes at anytime of day! you are about a 5 minute ride from the beautiful beach or the adorable shops/tailors and great restaurants in the old town. I highly recommend strolling the street in old town at night to see the beautiful lights and the great energy of this beautiful little town. Morning Glory restaurant is a must!! make sure to have the hotel make a reservation in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    124
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
191
569
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the room and location. We weren't sure whether to stay on the beach or in town, so this offered a great compromise. Only 3km from town and 2km from the beach. The staff are friendly, especially the guys at the front who hand out the bicycles. We weren't too impressed with the food though unfortunately. When we arrived we ordered lunch of a beef noodle salad and a Greek salad. The noodle salad had no flavour and the beef tasted liked it had been washed under a tap, and the Greek salad was anything but a Greek salad. The cheese they put on was squares of dairylee! It made us laugh and to be fair they were very good when we sent it back and ordered something else, namely the fresh spring rolls, which again had no flavour at all. Breakfast is basic but adequate: omelette, fried eggs, vietnamese soup, then toast, jam, fresh fruit. They also had some fried rice and ham/ bacon and kraft cheese slices cut in half as the cheese selection. The smoothies and juices were lovely. All in all, stay here for the location and room, but definitely not for the food, which is a shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Traveller,

We sincerely thank you for staying 3 nights with us at Hoi An Chic. We are very sorry that our food did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and have used it to improve the quality of our service and products. We are introducing a new menu in our restaurant shortly and we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stay here. You will not regret it. It is brilliant.

It is a bit out of town, but they do a shuttle and taxi's are only c.60,000 Dong (around £1.80). The location is actually a positive as it is calm which is great.

The breakfast is the same each day but there is a lot of choice.

Room Tip: Request a room which overlooks the paddy fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We were slightly hesitant in booking Hoi An Chic as it is neither in the old town nor on the beach but plumped for it based on the rave TA reviews; what a gem of a hotel this is! You get all of the essential stuff like spotless and well appointed rooms, comfortable bed and great breakfast but then on top of that you get really personal service where staff know your name and with whom you can have fun with especially Anh (aka Baby Tiger) and Xing who are so welcoming. This is an Oasis in a country where, to be honest, you can get tired of the constant street peddling. It's LOCATION IS PERFECT; choose to walk (45mins), bicycle or taxi (<15mins) and just past the rice paddies you can turn left on the main road to the beach or right to the Old Town. Bicycles are free (it's really flat and easy to get around, the jeep is free at certain times but taxis are cheap anyway (<£2 inc Tip!) Do not hesitate to book this place it really is a GEM OF A HOTEL!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller36040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I cannot begin to recommend this hotel enough!! We stayed for 4 nights and it was our favourite hotel in Vietnam.

The hotel is a beautiful oasis of calm, about a 10 minute drive to the centre of Hoi An old town. The hotel provides a free shuttle in an old US army jeep throughout the day. If you miss the shuttle and need a taxi, the hotel will arrange this for you and it is very cheap. The hotel is surrounding by rice paddies and green fields and is so peaceful. The hotel grounds are beautiful and they have a lovely rooftop swimming pool and open air restaurant.

We stayed in room 888, which was a deluxe suite and our breath was taken away when we arrived, the room was stunning! A huge bed in the centre of the room, with a huge balcony over looking the rice fields and swimming pool. We had a spotlessly clean, walkthrough bathroom, with double sinks and large modern shower. Then we had a separate room with a huge marble bath, next to a large window you could open up to enjoy the fresh air. It was wonderful! The bed is hard but this is typical of Vietnam and we slept well as it was so peaceful.

The swimming pool is lovely, infinity style and has enough space for 8 people alongside it. It isn't huge but we loved it and never had a problem finding space by it during our stay.

The breakfast was delicious, with a great variety of Vietnamese and western breakfast items, and the most delicious fresh fruit juices to choose from each morning!

The staff were amazing! They provided us with first class service throughout our stay and were so friendly, welcoming and helpful! Every request was met with a smile and everyone welcomes you as you walk through the hotel. We couldn't say thank you to them enough for the fantastic service they provided us with. We didn't want to leave!

If you are staying in Hoi An, stay here!! You won't regret it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it could have been longer - or that we could have taken the hotel with us to Phu Quoc, our next destination! We arrived at Danang airport and were picked up by the driver who was very friendly and pointing out some sights on the way. When we arrived at the hotel all the staff were so friendly and arrived to greet us - it might be a bit full-on if you were a bit jet lagged but we went with it and the staff were so lovely during our whole stay. We had a nice welcome drink and were then shown to our room which was gorgeous. We had a double chic room which was right at the end next to the rice fields so if we lay on our bed we could look out across the fields. The bedroom is decorated so nicely and there are some really lovely touches that made it all feel special - dressing gowns, a laptop, hats and umbrellas all in the room to use if you need to. But the best bit was the bathroom - I loved the outside bath and shower!
The bikes were a great addition too - we used them every day for our stay - to go into Hoi an and the beach and out for dinner both evenings. It is a little bit of cycle into Hoi an but we really enjoyed it - I'm not sure if I'd would like to walk it so would recommend bikes or a taxi if going there in the evening.
There was a great variety at breakfast - the fesh juices were my favourite and the egg/noodle station probably my husbands. The restaurant is really nice and relaxing looking out over the fields and watching the world go by.
The pool was great too - there isn't much room if there's a few people there but we were lucky to get it to ourselves on both days and it felt like our own private pool.
We probably wouldn't have wanted to stay in Hoi an any longer than 2 nights but we were really sad to say goodbye to Hoi An Chic and would definitely be back if we were ever there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We came here after spending few nights in Ho Chi Minh and one night in Nha Trang. I didn't like the latter at all, very dirty, smelly and full of Russian tourists. After two train trips, one from Saigon into Nha Trang and then into Hoi An in a sleeper car with the most revolting toilets you can find I didn't have a very nice impression of Vietnam.
So when we arrived here I thought this place was paradise. It feels more like a resort than a hotel. It's a bit further from the town but it's not far. We even rode bikes into the town, supplied free of charge by the hotel. It only takes around 20min.
We originally booked for three nights but decided to stay for a week, so we had to move to three different rooms as the same room wasn't available. We stayed in Grand Chic and Double Chic, both rooms are good, very nicely decorated. The Double Chic we stayed in was next to the kitchen and a bit noisy. The only criticism I would have is it would be good to change few dishes on the breakfast menu every couple of day as it's all the same every day and the choices are quite limited. The choice of bread is very limited too. It's only plain white bread and baguettes as well as pastries and croissants.
We stayed with two girls 6 and 8yo, We found that swimming pool was big enough. It has ashallow 0.8m and a deeper side around 1.8m.
The staff are fantastic here, always very helpful. Our girls made friends with Anh and Xing at the reception and kept running to them to show off their new dresses and look at the talking bird. But everyone is nice here. Always greet you when you come in or leave. Feels very personal unlike staying in a big resort or a hotel.
We would be happy to stay here again when we are back in Hoi An.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Alena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.5 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#2 of 152 in Hoi An
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cozy Hoi An Boutique Villas
2.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#15 of 152 in Hoi An
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Chic Hotel

Property: Hoi An Chic Hotel
Address: Nguyen Trai Street | Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Chic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOI AN CHIC, a boutique retreat is destined for those who want the basics done right - a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed, a good breakfast, great connectivity and all the necessities for a relaxed stay. The ideal place to bring home unforgettable travel experience amidst the fascinating landscape of the pastoral paddy fields.The unique design of HOI AN CHIC coupled with its red terracotta tiled roofs reflects the typical architecture of the ancient town of Hoi An.Location: set amidst the paddy fields and Hoi An countryside, HOI AN CHIC is an ideal place to capture unforgettable travel experience. The retreat is about 37km from Danang airport, 2km from Hoi An ancient town and 2km from Cua Dai beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hoi An Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing