We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoi An Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't fault it! Hoi an chic is a beautiful hotel set in tranquil paddy fields just outside the centre of hoi an. The hotel provides a free jeep service to take guests several times a day into the centre of the old town which is really helpful!! There are also bikes available for free. The hotel itself is a small but charming building. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and were very helpful in organising tours and recommended places to eat in hoi an. They really make you feel at home.

The outdoor infinity pool is small but tranquil and overlooks the surrounding countryside. We stayed in the grand suite which was worth every penny. It was spacious and had his and hers sinks and a gorgeous marble bath.

Breakfast had a great selection and although we went out most nights to eat in town the menu looked pretty good too!

We really enjoyed the tour we booked through them. (My son and boat trip) it was pricey but worth the cost. We had a good English speaking guide that took us on a fascinating tour of my son. We had requested a private boat for the two of us beforehand. This really was the highlight of the trip and we were served a 3 course dinner from our own chef as we cruised along the river. $90 well spent!

This hotel really is a great find. With only 17 rooms it has a very homely feel and a lot of thought has clearly been put into looking after guests. We hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: The grand suite is amazing. Very spacious, free standing marble bath and beautiful decor. Other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Traveler

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed taking care of you. We are especially delighted you enjoyed your Jeep tour to My Son and your private dinner on our Chic Boat. Both really special ways to explore Hoi An and its hidden treasures. When you come back and stay again, you can enjoy our bespoke Chic Vespa tours. Another way to see our amazing countryside and local culture. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    116
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
174
535
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was the nicest hotel we stayed in in Vietnam (to be fair, also the most expensive, but still cheap by UK standards) and I would have given this one 5 stars anywhere in the world. We stayed in a grand suite, which had a balcony directly overlooking rice fields and a huge bathroom with marble bathtub and separate wet room shower. There is a small pool with sun loungers, and a nice garden with tables and chairs, but the hotel could benefit from one or two more comfortable chairs in public areas (the choice being to sit at a restaurant table or on your balcony). The breakfast selection was extensive - especially given there are only 17 rooms in the hotel - and all the food we had at the hotel was of good quality. The dinner menu was pretty extensive, given that there is a huge amount of competition in Hoi An town and most guests probably choose to eat out; in comparison to equivalent restaurants in town the menu may be a little pricey. The hotel provides a shuttle service to town at fixed times (fairly infrequent) and charges 50k VND for the shuttle at other times (basically the same as a taxi fare). Given that this is an expensive hotel by Vietnamese standards, and that 50k isn't a lot, I wonder if the hotel shouldn't increase the frequency of shuttle services or make them free and on demand. Hoi An town is a 10 minute drive from this hotel (which is set in the middle of rice fields - visit now before this all gets concreted over!) but too far to reasonably walk (obviously, you could, but it wouldn't be the first choice of a country walk). There is a beach a few minutes' cycle away (bikes provided free by the hotel - thanks, cancels out the shuttle charge!) and if you go just a few hundred metres down the coast there is a stretch without annoying vendors. In general, Hoi An has a delightful old town, a pleasant waterfront and a bustling (if single-mindedly suit-oriented) shopping scene, but was close to being spoiled by its aggressive market and shop vendors who were the worst we encountered in Vietnam (and worse than many Middle East markets) - it was hard not to feel that every transaction ended with you having been ripped off. Hoi An was probably nicer 10 years ago, before it became so commercialised, and will be nicer in 10 years' time when these people realise they are damaging the image of an otherwise lovely town and country. If we visit Hoi An again (and it is still a fine place to come in Vietnam) we will definitely stay at the Chic.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences about your stay with us. We try very hard to accommodate everyone and ensure each stay is memorable. We were really pleased that we could enjoy your daughter's birthday with you and hope you enjoyed the cake and our "happy birthday song". Thanks for taking part in the rice paper making. We hope you can take a little bit of Vietnam home with you. We sorry you had to leave us early and hope you enjoyed your breakfast boxes. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope you one day to return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great hotel in a lovely location half way between the town and the beach in a lovely setting amongst paddy fields. Our room was very spacious and the out door shower/bath was great. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel both of which were very good. The free bikes are also very handy and we used these a number of times. The only negative is that the pool area is small and was full anytime we tried to use it however this is a minor negative. All in all this was probably our favourite hotel in our 2.5 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our setting and our outdoor bath and shower a delight. Unfortunately, it is very hot in Hoi An in the summer time and our pool area does become quite busy. If you are looking for a swim in another place, our US Jeeps can take you to Hidden Beach, where you can enjoy a swim in a peaceful oasis free from other people. It is a very special part of Hoi An. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This gorgeous boutique resort is by far the best place we have ever stayed! My husband and I stayed for the first part of our honeymoon in late June and we didn't want to leave - they even organised us a "Happy Honeymoon" cake.

From the moment you step foot out of the transfer/taxi it is so welcoming, the staff are absolutely gorgeous, always with a smile on their face and wanting to help with whatever they can. We loved the place so much we hardly left - lazing by the beautiful pool that over looks some of the local working rice fields.

The free shuttle into Old Town was a fantastic service, the food was great and our room complete with outdoor bath and shower was a little extra indulgence. The bed was comfy and the room was always clean and very quiet, especially loved the laundry service - very hand and cheap.

We love this little oasis and will definitely return whenever we need a relaxing break - thank you to the WONDERFUL staff who looked after us :)

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a room with outdoor shower and bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Traveler

We are pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon special. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are especially pleased that you found our hotel to be a place from which, you didn't want to leave. Next time you return to stay with us, we would be really happy to help arrange a Chic tour for you so that you can see a little more of Hoi An. It was our pleasure to serve you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the Hoi An Chic for 11 nights. Without a doubt the staff are the real outstanding strength for this hotel. All staff were exceptionally welcoming and made the stay. The location is very good surrounded by paddy fields and between the town and beach. Free shuttles are available as well as free bikes which can be borrowed to access both as well. Breakfast had a good variety of dishes and was eaten on the terrace looking over the paddy fields. The reason that I didn't give it an excellent rating was because the pool which was lovely was let down by a lack of shade. The cleaning was also slight issue which while the rooms are generally clean the standard needs to be a bit higher. Apart from that the hotel is a real gem. We would happily recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Traveler

We appreciate your feedback and we certainly enjoyed having you stay with us. We take your feedback seriously and we are currently investigating ways to improve the shade available at the pool. We would be delighted if you were able to come and stay with us again. Thanks for using our shuttle and complimentary bicycles. They are a great way to get around town, not to mention that the Jeeps are quite cool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlborough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The upstairs room was certainly worth requesting ( thanks trip advisor) for layout and view. This is a boutique Hotel ,small, with character, lovely gardens and an open dining room.
We did use the jeep only once as taxis were excellent and at $3 US a trip to town, who would hesitate!
The food was good, not great and for anyone who is gluten free....not a lot of breakfast choice. Drinks were cheap. The amenities in the room, décor and layout was very spacious and stylish. Really enjoyed the outside bath.
The giant snails and frogs were a reminder we were in the middle of a very wet area and surrounded by rice paddies, the birds at reception were a nice touch and this place felt like a welcome retreat after busy Hanoi and old town trips.
A caution the Spa associated with the Hotel is fairly expensive and do avoid any treatments apart from massages ( these were good) while staff are delightful and keen to please they do not have the standard of Western training. A pedicure resulted in painful toe infection for the next 10 days requiring penicillin.

Room Tip: upstairs ask for 911
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, though very sorry to hear about your pedicure experience. We will be sure to pass on your comments. The hotel is located in the middle of the rice paddies, so there is always activity around us, whether it is people working in the fields or the frogs croaking. Thanks for your comments about gluten free dietary requirements. We will review our menu to see if we can be more accommodating in this regard. Thank you again and we hope that we may welcome you to our hotel again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This review is long overdue as we stayed at The Hoi An Chic in March this year but we really need to say how wonderful our time was there.

The hotel is small (17 rooms in all), in a tranquil & relaxing location. We stayed in a grand suite room. The suite was really lovely; the bedroom and sitting area were in one large room overlooking the paddy fields. The entrance to the bathroom had "his & hers" sinks, a walk-in shower and toilet. There was a separate large room leading from this area to a stand alone bath & seating area which again overlooked the paddy fields. Shampoo, shower gel and liquid soaps were all provided.

The suite had a long balcony, table & chairs & a hanging chair/pod. Many a morning we sat here at around 7am with a cup of tea or coffee & watched the buffalo being taken down to the fields. A slow & glorious start to our day!

At breakfast we found plenty to our liking. Tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal, fruit, homemade yoghurt, croissants, homemade scotch pancakes, omelettes etc.

When we came back to our room each evening, the bed had been turned down, kimonos and flip flops laid out ready for our return. A nice touch.

It was my husband's birthday whilst we were there & the staff at the hotel provided a cake for him, much to his surprise.

Now, the staff. This hotel has such wonderful, friendly & helpful staff. They are a big part of what makes this a special place. They recommended restaurants, spas, helped me arrange a little surprise for my husband's birthday, taught us some basic Vietnamese & took time out each day to have a little chat with us. So a big thank you to Anh, Xinh, Huyen (my lovely Rose), Nhung (Velvet), Thuy, Khoi and all the staff (sorry we can't remember all of your names)who were so wonderful to us.

We still wear the bracelets you gave us when we left & we look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Love to you all,

Jackie & Kevin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. We are sincerely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We try and assist in any way possible to ensure your stay is joyful and relaxing. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are very pleased that your were able to have such a relaxing time in your home away from home. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again if you ever return to Hoi An.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.5 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#21 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
2.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Chic Hotel

Property: Hoi An Chic Hotel
Address: Nguyen Trai Street | Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Chic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOI AN CHIC, a boutique retreat is destined for those who want the basics done right - a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed, a good breakfast, great connectivity and all the necessities for a relaxed stay. The ideal place to bring home unforgettable travel experience amidst the fascinating landscape of the pastoral paddy fields.The unique design of HOI AN CHIC coupled with its red terracotta tiled roofs reflects the typical architecture of the ancient town of Hoi An.Location: set amidst the paddy fields and Hoi An countryside, HOI AN CHIC is an ideal place to capture unforgettable travel experience. The retreat is about 37km from Danang airport, 2km from Hoi An ancient town and 2km from Cua Dai beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hoi An Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing