We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly place - pool is a real draw”
Review of The Earth Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Earth Villa
Ranked #27 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly place - pool is a real draw”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a fairly new place, very clean and elegant, with a lovely pool that's great to dip into during the mid day heat. However, when we were there in March, you could tell they were still learning how to run the place. For example, they didn't always provide the right number of towels, and they don't automatically provide separate pool towels. During our stay we switched rooms and left our key in the room we were vacating - the cleaner rolled it with the dirty linen and I had to go through all my things looking for the key even though I told them I had left it behind. On another occasion, we ordered lunch and my husband's meal didn't come for over 45 minutes until they finally told us they had to go into town to get the ingredients. We were in a rush to make a tour that we had booked, so my husband had to skip lunch. However, to balance all this, the people were very friendly and helpful. The family were very apologetic about the lunch mix-up and offered us a full dinner on the house. It turned out to be an incredible meal.

Regarding location, it's about a 25 minute walk from the old town. It's about half way on the main road from the town to the beach, so there's a lot of traffic on the road. I would ask for a room set back from the road if you are noise sensitive. We rented bikes for $1.50 per day and cycled along side streets into town. There's wonderful cycling in the countryside and villages nearby, through rice fields and along the river. There's even a recommended self-guided cycle tour you can do - get hold of a map showing the route.

Regarding value, when we stayed, they had a soft opening special at half price, which was incredible value. However, at full price, I would put it at average value, which is why I have only given 3 stars for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Openpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear OpenPath,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about us on tripadvisor.com. We are ver very happy to read that you enjoyed to stay with us recently.

We wish to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    92
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
292
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We were getting over the Vietnam experience, but coming to the earth villa in hoi an was great. It was relaxing and friendly. The heaven room was great and spacious with a large bed, tv and wi-fi etc. the food was great and the location was fantastic. In between the old town and beach. The only gripe was a generator or pump that randomly came on next to the room. Sitting next to the pool with a cold beer was great. Overall the best experience in Vietnam.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallacootamenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Mallacootamenke,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about us on tripadvisor.com. We are ver very happy to read that you enjoyed to stay with us recently.

We wish to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieren
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very good located between center and beach and fairly quite we have enjoyed our staying. The swimmingpool for relaxing is a plus fot this hotel. The kind employees help you where they can . Bikes for rent again a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoosenBerend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear RoosenBarren,

Thank you very much for your nice words comment about us recent stay in The Earth Villa. I trust that you had a great trip in Viet Nam.

Hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

we stayed 3 nights in earth villa. the room was very nice with balcony. bathroom super clean and beautiful. chilling at the pool gives you the peace that you need sometimes in busy loud vietnam. the staff was very nice and helpful and they gave us a lot of good advice what to do in hoi an. we also went to the recommended tailor to get some tailor made jacket and dresses ("ocean"). the result was very good at a reasonable price - also nice staff there.
special thanks to nice lady cherry from earth villa to help us booking and organizing a big amount of tickets (phu quoc flights, bus ticket to na trang, my son etc.). everything went fine with her help.
we can fully recommend earth villa to all travellers.
greetz flo & bieke

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spierala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi spierana,

Thank you very much for your time to write a good comment about us here. We are very very happy to read these words and hope to welcome your back in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khimki, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lived in this hotel for 7 days.
The hotel is great: spacious clean rooms, beautiful garden, swimming pool.
Professional staff are ready to solve all problems related to your stay in Hoi Аn.
Excellent breakfasts.
The hotel offers new bikes, which are very convenient close to the city and to the beach and explore the surroundings of Hoi an.
From Hoi Аn town, its people, staff are good impressions. This is a fairy tale, in which you want to return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi Elena,

Thank you very much for your time to write a good comment about us here. We are very very happy to read these words and hope to welcome your back in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Earth Villa for 7 nights.
It is a lovely, quiet family-run hotel and very good value.
Our room was a great size, a massive bed and overlooked the pool which is a perfect size for the capacity of the hotel.
On our first night the staff held a little party with free home-cooked food for the guests which was fantastic.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful, the only slight niggle is that the toiletries weren't replenished often enough and we had to ask for more shampoo etc, although when we did it was brought quickly.
We hired motorbikes and bicycles from the hotel with no difficulty whatsoever and it is ideally located for Hoi An and Cu Dai beach, both of which are about 20 minute walk/10 minute bike ride away.
We ate lunch at the hotel and the food is great and the fresh juices and coffee at breakfast were great and have been much missed since we returned.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi Kathryn,

Thank you very much for your time to write a good comment about us here. We are very very happy to read these words and hope to welcome your back in the future.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My wife, our two little boys (1yr and 3 yrs old) and myself had a wonderful time at The Earth Villa. We stayed in The Heaven room, close to the pool (room #6). The room was beautiful, spacious and very comfortable. The pool is nice and the garden around the villa is very nice, quiet and peaceful. Distance to both the beach and the old part of Hoi An is more than acceptable: about 5-10 mins on a bicycle. On top of it all, the staff and the family who run this place are responsible for making your stay in a more than positive way memorable. The did everything in their power to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Very friendly and welcoming attitude, perfect hosts. The food at their restaurant is also worth while. I don't know what to write, just go and treat yourself to a stay at The Earth Villa. Highly recommenden!
Thanks for giving us a good time in Hoi An. Our little boys, Mas and Laut, say hi ;).

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ronald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Ronald,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about us here. We are very happy to heard that you enjoyed staying at our villa recently.

I wish to welcome your back on next vacation in Hoi An.

Best regards,

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.4 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#16 of 147 in Hoi An
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Hotel
Hoi An Holiday Hotel
#2 of 147 in Hoi An
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
1.8 mi away
Cozy Hoi An Boutique Villas
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earth Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earth Villa

Property: The Earth Villa
Address: 380 Cua Dai St. | Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Earth Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Earth Villa is established as a new style of accommodation by a traditional family with 4 generations. This is new trend of sustainable tourism in Hoi An. The villa is not only place for your relaxing during your holiday, but also a worth opportunity for your understand the cultural life of local people in Hoi An.The villa has totally 10 boutique rooms, 1 pretty swimming pool, a family resta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Earth Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing