We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil place in Hoian”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #2 of 57 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

atmosphere's so great and peaceful. I spent a whole morning sipping nice dripping coffee and writing postal cards. Staffs were very nice and always smiley! By the way, the green tea coconut is delicious!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisheng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are happy that you found the Reaching Out Tea House a tranquil place to write your postcards. And yes...the green tea, coconut cookies are a treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,251 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The tea is very fresh. The staff are all hearing impaired, and so the cafe is quite quiet. This makes a nice change from the street outside, where 30 seconds rarely passes without someone trying to hawk you something. A lovely place to have a break while in Hoi An, then! The cups and pots (real quality) used here are all made by the artisans working for Reaching Out, and if you like them, you can buy them.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Duncan.....our inspired Manager instinctively knew that visitors would like a peaceful and quiet place for a few minutes of respite from noisy Hoi An. She designed the interior, sought the local organic teas and coffee suppliers and devised a service system which accommodated the speech and hearing impaired staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I visited this beautiful tea house every day for a pot of tea and just loved the experience. Quiet, peaceful surroundings where you are served by the nicest of people. Also make time to visit their gift shop. A wonderful thing to do as you are supporting a terrific organization.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo_AnnHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We could not pay for better advertising than having you post on Trip Advisor that you came to our shop everyday!!! Wow! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Tea House, a great initiative and a wonderful experience for the kids and ourselves.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The tea and coffee tasters were beautifully presented and the cookies delicious. All in a lovely tranquil setting!

Also pay a visit to the gift shop one street down!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

A flight of tasters is certainly a good way to try all of our flavours. Glad that the kids like the tea house too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a really special experience. Very serene in the back garden supporting the employment of deaf girls.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajensenAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Vlunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Our speech and hearing impaired servers are very proud of their ability to graciously serve in the hearing world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing