We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked a "Deluxe river view" room and it was great. Had a balcony that looked directly onto the river. The room was tops and the grounds were immaculate. The pool was excellent and there was a fitness centre that looked well equipped but understandably deserted as it was 100 in the shade.
The dining room is set in the gardens, very nice. The food is top quality with a wide selection that is constantly topped up. The resort is located a short distance down an alley from the main restaurant stretch, (the taxi driver couldn't find it at first as there a now 4 Vinh Hung locations), but this is not a problem. There are small shops just outside the resort selling drinks and hiring bicycles, (a great way to get around). The reception staff were helpful and friendly. We booked the room on agoda for $60 a night, very affordable. I can't fault the place - great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    352
    71
    17
    5
See reviews for
248
705
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here with our four children aged 14, 12, 9 and 7 for three nights. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small, but clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had a nice stay here. I do think the hotel is more suitable for couples rather than families. The location is good, walking distance to restaurants and night market.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here with my 9 year old son who loved the great pool.Never crowded by the pool even if it looked like the hotel was full. Great location, quiet surroundings but just a short walk to the old town. Good food in the restaurant (though you get more authentic Vietnamese food other places), great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palieithun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We booked to stay for four nights here and looked forward to it. However, we were taken aback  by a cold and even rude but beautifully dressed receptionist there. The next day we also encountered a moody waitress. Perhaps it's us after all? Anyway, we mentioned about the receptionist to one of the  next shift receptionists, and the management apologised  for our experience. We do appreciate that.

We were first place on the first room on the ground floor- room 101. We had to ask to be moved as we'd booked ( through Agoda) a "pool view room" and not a kitchen/ restaurant view room). If this matters to you, make sure you are placed on the first floor or second floor and/ or as far away from the restaurant as possible. Otherwise get a river view room.

Anyway, about the place itself. As mentioned in other reviews, the infinity pool and the setting are wonderful. The room is quite new with tea making facility, a fridge, and a flat screen TV. The modern bathroom/shower is quite nice.

The location is good if you want to be near Hoi An old city. It's just a  3-5 minute walk from the Japanese Bridge. You can get a ticket with 5-6 entrances to interesting places at a small official kiosk near the bridge. I believe the entrances include Than Ha pottery village- three kms.  away. 

 The nearest beach- Cua Dai and An Bahn beaches are five and eight kms. away in the other direction- very doable by a bicycle rented from small shops opposite the hotel (one shop can also rent an electric bicycle at your request). 

Room Tip: Prefer first floor rooms, and away from the kitchen/ restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a very relaxing place to spend some time. Spacious and bright rooms (we paid more for the river view - probably worth it - but then they all looked nice). You can easily walk into the touristy centre of Hoi An in 5-10 minutes. Nice breakfast. Good pool and lounge chairs. We appreciated the happy hour prices and the free river cruise. Excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We spent a fantastic 4 nights at Vinh Hung Emerald and for £40 a night, we think it's a bit of a bargain. The resort itself has very relaxing surroundings, right on the river with palm trees and an inifnity pool- it's very easy to enjoy a cocktail or two whilst lounging about. We had a river view room on the 2nd floor which had a lovely view from the balcony and gave us a bit of privacy from the poolside. The room iteslf was as expected in as-new condition and immaculately clean. Breakfast was very varied- the banana pancakes were particularly good! Mrs Le and her family across the road did a great job with our laundry, renting us bikes and organising our taxi to Danang airport. One tip is that the hotel does a free 45 minute boat trip in the mornings but we weren't made aware of that until I noticed a sign on our last morning- shame as would have liked to have given it a go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edam010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

i will share the pros and cons.

pros:

great value for money.

good location.

friendly staff.

laundry guy (first shop from the left) is really helpful.

really beautiful swimming pool that is opened till late with water warmer.

spacious room with lovely balcony

cons:

lacks service at times. asked for simple help about visa information before the trip and they could not find out for me.

resort rooms' floor a little sandy

need to go through a few dark alleys before being able to reach the resort

strict with late checkouts

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobdog808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#14 of 153 in Hoi An
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Property: Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing