We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #63 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Every aspect of our stay at Vinh Hung was excellent. If I had to mention the best aspect it would have to be the staff. Front desk staff were always friendly and very helpful. All our questions were answered and needs seen to. The rooms were kept in an immaculate condition and you must stay there to experience a surprise. We stayed nine fantastic nights. The staff looking after the grounds and pool made the surrounds very pleasing. And then there is the breakfast, more like a feast. The grilled tomatoes were delicious. But there was such an array of exceptional food to choose from. Fresh and tasty. Again the service staff made dining a pleasure. It is well situated near town, is not too large to be impersonal and has a great ambiance. The lounges around the river front provided a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a pool view. It faced west so we did not get woken at sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights in this resort with our young adult kids who felt very spoiled. The pool was beautiful and lovely to sip our cocktails overlooking the river. Our rooms were very nice with balcony overlooking the pool. The Buffett breakfast a huge hit with the kids - location was great only 10 mins walk to Hoi An centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bailey1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel has everything that a traveller could want. A great pool, right on the river, staff who go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and easy as possible and not too bad a breakfast thrown in. It is just out of the hustle and bustle of the main town, probably only a four minute walk. Hoi An is gorgeous, safe and you are really not hassled too much. We had a late flight so we arrived back at the resort at 2pm and we could have a swim and lounge around the pool knowing that there was a bathroom available to us to use prior to leaving. What a great service. I will be recommending this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We had room 303 which is on the bottom floor facing the river. We were very pleased with it's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great stay at the Emerald. We loved the modern design of the overall resort. The pool area was great and the river views seemed really special and calming. Our room was super basic but clean - bathrooms are bare minimum but again, clean (quite new I think). Our bed was maybe 2 fulls pushed together? it was huge. The breakfast buffet was great and they seriously had the best baguettes I have ever had in my life - and I LOVE bread, and I have been to Paris, yes. Better. We would stuff them with scrambled eggs, cheese, bacon for the best breakfast sandwich ever or just plain with jam. Anyway - location was great. A very close walk to the central part of Hoi An, but in a quieter residential area that we found charming and interesting to walk through. Minutes to town. And the river view, along with the complimentary river boat trip, were wonderful. Very nice and helpful staff who were especially kind to my 2 year old son. I took the cooking class there and was the only student! I had a wonderful time and my husband and son helped me eat what I cooked - they set up a special table for the 3 of us, it was very sweet! The woman who assisted the chef, and took me to the market, was wonderful and I am sad to say I can't recall her name. She was GREAT with my son too. I would stay here again in Hoi An. Great for kids b/c you can wander the grounds, it isn't in the heart of town, and the pool has a sectioned off "kiddy pool" area that was wonderful for us although it was the only amenity for kids. The balconies were nice too but it was too hot/humid to enjoy them. AC worked fine. I loved Hoi An and this hotel helped make our stay great.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the pool; the buildings are nicely lit at night so it was fine. Not sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titianhairedsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We booked the Vinh Hung Emerald Resort because of the location and positive reviews – and we were not disappointed. A relatively new building (~1 year?) with rooms that are clean, quiet and fairly large sized – this is a resort that provides good service and solid value for your money.

Location wise, it is located on the Hoi An Islet, which is a short walk/bike ride to the old town. We wanted a place that was close to the activities, but not in the middle of town, and this truly met our needs. It is only about a 5-10 minute walk to the bridge to cross into old town, and slightly less than that to go to the night market. It is located on what is essentially a “side street” meaning that there isn’t much traffic in front of the hotel which we consider a positive. It isn’t a “high end” fancy hotel – simple lines, simple rooms, but clean, good service and a great place to stay.

From the hotel, if you are returning to Da Nang airport, we booked a taxi for 300,000 VND – oddly enough you can do this via Mrs. Sa (see below – yet another one of her offerings) – I am not sure how much it is if you book it through the hotel although I have to believe it will be more. It takes about 35 – 40 minutes to get back to Da Nang airport (if you are heading that way).

The rooms are larger than one might guess. We had a room that faced the river (small balcony) and the pool, so we had a good view. Breakfast is a buffet in the restaurant, simple – what I would consider solid/ample, nothing truly outstanding – but does the trick.

We walked around Hoi An the first day, and then rented bikes from Mrs. Sa who has the storefront directly across from reception. Mrs. Sa (who was a lovely lady and highly animated) has the bicycle/motorbike rental, laundry service and beer/alcohol/snacks concession stand. Quite an odd mix, but it works! Bikes are a dollar a day, motor scooters for USD $4 per day (I think) we had our laundry done by Ms. Sa for USD $1.00 per kilo for same day service (makes traveling and packing/carrying so much easier when you can get laundry done at a reasonable price). There are several storefronts all servicing the same bikes/laundry/snacks/alcohol across from the hotel so there is more than one choice.

We do recommend that you rent the bicycles to see Hoi An as it just makes things a lot easier and quicker to get around. Several times we would ride the bikes to town and park them and walked around – but when we wanted to longer distances it was very helpful. Given the price, it can’t be beat.

The hotel does offer a free boat trip up and down the river, but it is only once a day and we never seemed to be around when it was scheduled.

Lovely hotel for the price – we would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Really lovely hotel, the photos don't do this place justice! Rooms are beautiful and the hotel is situated right on the water. The rooms are much bigger then other hotels we stayed in. Everything you could possibly want is walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessClayton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Loved the location of this hotel as it was only a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the ancient town centre. We hired pushbikes from Mrs Cuong straight across the road for $2 US dollars per day and we also got our laundry done there each day for $1 US per kilo. Lovely lady and her husband too. The staff at Vinh Hung were always very helpful, The first night only the more expensive room was available at $120 per night and it was beautiful on the top floor we loved it. Moved after that for the next 4 nights to a $70 room which was also very nice just a bit smaller and not as large a balcony. The pool was nice and the area near the pool bar was lovely for a cocktail at sunset overlooking the river. We were only going to stay in Hoi An 4 nights but after finding this lovely hotel and loving Hoi An so much we decided to stay 6 nights. Hoi An itself if very charming and delightful. We rode our bikes to two different beaches a few kilometres away easy flat roads to ride. The breakfast was the best buffet we had had for a long time. The food was delicious and fresh and lots of choices. I would definately return to this hotel and hope to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balihopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing