We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing garden, but not so nice room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #51 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing garden, but not so nice room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our riverview room had a nice view and a nice balcony, but the room was small and disappointing. Huge, extremely hard bed that left no space for other furniture. In the room there was no mirror, only a half mirror in the bathroom that was too dark to see yourself. The shower had a strange layout, if you want to take the soap you had to walk to the other end of the bathroom. The bathslippers were used and dirty, not very appalling. Who wants to put their bare feet in someone others slippers? The cleaning ladies have a nice habit to make a surprise welcome message with your name on the bed. However i would not choose this hotel a second time because I did not like the room and the very uncomfortable bed

The breakfast was western and asian, but the western choices were not good, very old pastries.
Poolbar service was a nice plus, the french fries we ordered were good. The garden was nice, but the layout of the hotel was not smart, many stairs and no elevator. The sister hotel Ving Hung Riverside seemed a better choice.

Room Tip: Take a riverview room for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 373traveloldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    337
    71
    17
    5
See reviews for
232
676
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great place to explore Hoi An from! The Hotel is clean and modern with friendly and professional staff. We stayed here 3 nights in a Emerald Deluxe River Suite which had views of the river from the balcony. The room was clean, modern and spacious although the only fault would be that we continually ran out of hot water when showering. Hotel breakfast was good but nothing to rave about. The location was great. 5-10 minutes walk to the heart of it all. Resturants, Shopping etc. We wanted to check out the scenery so we rented bikes from a lovely lady across the road ($1USD per bike) and also dropped off some laundry at $1USD per kg and could not fault them - highly reccommend) We got a massage from the beauty salon across the road (Basil Salon i think it was called) and it was great also. Dont be deterred by the prices as they always do better deals then what is listed). Overall our experience here was great and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The emerald deluxe river suite has some rooms with views overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yattalunga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The staff here were very helpful, professional and courteous. The room, although small was very clean & comfortable. Our room was on the lower level and the only criticism was the fact that the restaurant set up for breakfast very early and was quite close to our room. The beautiful city centre of Hoi An is a short 10 min walk so the location is fantastic. The food is better than average and service very good. Would recommend, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is my 3rd stay at this great hotel. I have been to Hoi An 7times and wish I had found this earlier. Rooms are great and I have stayed in the standard room and suite. Suggest the pool view and river view slightly more attractive. With a great location and an easy walk into town it meets all our needs. As others have mentioned you cannot fault the staff. Always smiling and nothing is to hard. They remembered us from previous visits and we get treated as family. Great breakfast, pool is ideal and discovered the free boat ride around town which is good fun. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: I think rooms overlooking the garden have a less attractive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place in Hoi An (islet). easy 10 minute walk to main Hoi An, 3 bicycle rentals(easy 5km ride to a great beach) and laundry across the road. Staff is great, breakfast (esp the varied and fresh fruit) is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in the deluxe room. The walls aren't very soundproof every time room above us flushed their toilet we could hear it. Breakfast was average, not the best. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Pool is very nice as well a section of it is roped off for little kids. Room was clean, nice big shower with good pressure. The best thing about the hotel is the shops across the road. Spa across the road had a young owner she will do a good deal for massages etc. and the shop across the road called Mrs Sa has bicycles for rent for a dollar a day, which is great as everyone rides around here also ask Mrs Sa about taxi to the airport she does 5 dollars cheaper .....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Every aspect of our stay at Vinh Hung was excellent. If I had to mention the best aspect it would have to be the staff. Front desk staff were always friendly and very helpful. All our questions were answered and needs seen to. The rooms were kept in an immaculate condition and you must stay there to experience a surprise. We stayed nine fantastic nights. The staff looking after the grounds and pool made the surrounds very pleasing. And then there is the breakfast, more like a feast. The grilled tomatoes were delicious. But there was such an array of exceptional food to choose from. Fresh and tasty. Again the service staff made dining a pleasure. It is well situated near town, is not too large to be impersonal and has a great ambiance. The lounges around the river front provided a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a pool view. It faced west so we did not get woken at sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#32 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Property: Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing