We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pool and Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel has a great pool and is in a good location overlooking the river. The service was reasonable but the food wasn't great.
I found the bed extremely hard - the hardest we had come across during all our holiday. I found a mattress overlay in the wardrobe (which was badly stained) but I folded it up and put it on the bed with another doona on top of that, just to make the mattress a bit softer.
There was always lovely decoration left on the bed.
The hotel is close to the old town and handy to the night markets. I really enjoyed Hoi An.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    352
    71
    17
    5
See reviews for
248
705
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th trip to Hoi An and I still love it! On previous occasions we've stayed at the Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, a favourite destination, however we decided to try the new Emerald Resort this trip! It was fantastic! We met a couple of familiar faces, staff that had transferred to the new hotel which was great! The team are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble! Breakfast is wonderful, just love the banana pancakes! The General Manager Mr Thuy recognised us from our previous visits at the old hotel and seemed genuinely pleased to see us again! He made us feel very welcome! I can't recommend this hotel strongly enough! We will definitely stay here on our next visit!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
main-ridge
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a fabulous resort hotel. The staff are wonderful,the breakfast is so delicious and it is a great location. Our room was perfect with a great bathroom. We were ground floor and close to both the pool and restaurant . Very handy and I loved having the pool so close. The hotel provided a free boat trip that we really enjoyed and I had a couple of excellent treatments at the spa. It was all very lovely. We will return again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Vinh Hung Emerald Resort, and was very happy. Previously, I'd stayed at the Emerald's sister hotel next door, the Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, which was excellent, but booked up during the dates of my trip. Like the Riverside, the location of the Emerald is just great -- close enough to the old quarter that it's convenient, but far enough for a little more peace and quiet. Because it's on the An Hoi Islet (across from the old quarter), they have car access, which is also great -- even though I enjoy the old quarter because it doesn't have cars, Emerald's location allows the taxis to drive right up to the hotel, which is very convenient.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with a nice variety of food, and the infinity pool adjacent to the river was relaxing, with an accommodating poolside bar (with a happy hour!). We stayed in a suite which overlooked the pool and a had a partial view of the river, which was nice. My one issue? The air conditioning unit for the room is simply inadequate. Because the a/c shuts off when guests leave the room (all electricity goes off, including the refrigerator), the room gets very warm. This would not be so much of a problem if not for the fact that the a/c puts out cold air so slowly, it takes a really, really long time to cool off the room to a reasonable level. And in June (when we stayed) in Vietnam? That's a problem. They seriously need to address this problem with some better (more BTUs) a/c units.

Having said that, the staff was helpful and friendly, and we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was spacious, but if you don't like to climb stairs in the heat of a Viet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there three nights and wish I could have stayed longer! The pool and outdoor area is beautiful. The service could not have been better. Very close to everything. Very helpful booking tours. We took the resort's cooking class and it was a lot of fun. Our instructor was very friendly and fun. The only negative I can say is for about two minutes walking back to the hotel at night is a little scary for two woman because the street leading up to the hotel is very quiet. I very much recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emslom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel to relax and only a short distance from the busy parts of Hoi An. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The manager invited for coffee, to apologise for us having to move rooms when we decided to stay an extra two nights. The pool area has amazing views and great value happy-hour cocktails.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the upstairs riverview rooms with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Easy (5-10 minute) walk to the old town, cheap bike rentals across the street, 20 minute bike ride to the beach. Nice pool, good breakfast, friendly staff.

I'd recommend specifically booking a room not on the pool level to reduce noise and so that people at the pool can't look into your room.

Room Tip: I'd recommend specifically booking a room not on the pool level to reduce noise and so that peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasdai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#14 of 153 in Hoi An
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Property: Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing