We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel still has a few kinks to iron out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VaiA Boutique Hotel
Ranked #72 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel still has a few kinks to iron out”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the VaiA Hotel for 3 nights recently in April 2013. It's true it certainly is a new hotel as they were still building it when we were there! This makes it near impossible to head back to your room for an afternoon nap at the building works during the day were quite noisy with smelly paint/sealant fumes.
We had a lovely warm reception on arriving to the hotel. The lovely lady Susan explained the Hoi An area to us and gave us some suggestions for tailors/eating etc. The free bikes are fantastic and the free cocktail hour is a nice touch. It is clear they are trying very hard to give great service!
Unfortunately, I feel they may have opened the hotel too hastily. No where in our room was there to hang our towels- no free surface in the bathroom, the door was sliding and no hooks anywhere. We had to drape our towels over the TV which I'm sure isn't great for the tele. Same goes for soap dishes- no where for soap by the sink and no where to put bathroom product in the shower. They also didn't replace toilet paper so we ran out halfway through our stay. I don't want to be nit-picky, but its such a shame as everything else about the rooms was so lovely.
The breakfast also was a bit of a disaster. We asked to have breakfast at 6:30am as we wanted to ride a moto out to My Son early and miss the crowds. The moto arrived on time, but we were sadly still waiting for our breakfast at 7:10am. When it did arrive, one of the meals wasn't edible. I'd stick to the Western style brekky (everywhere else we traveled, we always went for the Pho/Vietnamese option) but unfortunately the Vietnamese beef/sausage/egg breakfast was horrible.
Finally, having to pay in cash is quite an inconvenience. Hoi An is an expensive place to visit and your money disappears very quickly. We had to withdraw more cash just to pay the bill (credit card payment would have been much more convenient!)
I must re-iterate that the service at VaiA is exceptional- everyone is very lovely and helpful. I'm sure this will be a great hotel once they address a few minor issues, but smalls things do make a difference!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    169
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
291
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay here. Clean comfy rooms with great size modern bathroom and plenty of room to walk around the bed. Good WiFi and computers in the lobby to access the net. Free bicycle rentals and nice health breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel is a real gem - it's only just opened up but is immaculate! The staff work extremely hard and are always around to help. The rooms are sparkling clean, spacious double bed, lovely shower and bathroom - one of the nicest hotels for SUCH a good price (think we paid £20 for the night - places in the UK would charge 4 times that much for not even half the niceties or service!) and breakfast included along with wifi like everywhere else in Nam - mental that they make us pay on top for it in the stupid western world. Anyway amazing hotel, great location - MUCH rather stay here than in any of the big western hotels that we passed on the way in ugh! So much nicer staying here and it was a great location - AND they give you free bikes so you can ride around and check out the sites which I very much recommend that you do! Could not rate it enough, thank you VaiA boutique!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YazA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

From the moment we were welcomed by Susan to the moment we said our fond farewells, it was a fantastic experience. The staff are all very helpful, the location is perfect, the rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and the bathrooms had excellent showers. The use of free bikes was very helpful for trips to the beach and exploring the surrounding area. This is the first time I have left a comment on tripadvisor but felt that such a fantastic new venture, being such great value for money, should be recognised. I just hope it is not fully booked when we come back as a result of such feedback although high praise is thoroughly deserved. Enjoy! Adam and Jenny

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamH344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I'll start by saying we were really lucky we stayed in this hotel. We had book another hotel in Hoi An called the Hai Au hotel which is across the road from the VaiA, based on the reviews we read on trip adviser, big mistake. Fortunately for us, we stayed in the VaiA on our last night in Hoi An with a late check out the next evening and it was the best thing we did.

Although both hotels were similarly priced the VaiA boutique hotel offered much much more. The staff were very friendly, helpful and not overbearing. The hotel itself was bright, clean, new and spacious. On arrival were welcomed with cold drinks. We were given a map of the town and the hotel offered a free bike rental service depending on the availability on the bikes. Free evening cocktails were also a nice touch. On arrival we got breakfast cards, which we filled out for the next morning. I have only two small complaints about this hotel and one is that more of a selection is need on the breakfast menu.

The rooms were very nice, bright, new and clean. Comfortable bed, LCD tv, fridge and in room safe. My second complaint was the shower in the bathroom, it was low, in a bath with no shower curtain. Every time the shower was used it resulted in the bathroom being flooded and the floor was very slippy. In all I would definitely stay in this hotel again, it was in walking distance of the town center and was great value for what we got. I'm just gutted that we spent our first two nights in the Hai Au hotel which was very pale in comparison.

I would also like to add a word of warning about the tourist office/agency a couple of doors up from the VaiA. We booked a bus to Dalat with the women in this travel agency and we had nothing but problem which result in us missing our bus, having a very angry argument with her and us been driven by two motorcycles with our bags to meet the bus elsewhere. Book through the hotel, it will be less hassle.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

OK if not cheaply done up hotel, would happily have stayed there for $35 a night.

However, even though they accepted booking via Booking.com they didn't have rooms available for our whole trip. Recieved confirmation, paid the money, no contact from hotel etc. acknowledged they knew this before we arrived but didn't want to upset us by telling us?!?

Tried to send us off to another much cheaper hotel whilst we still paid Vaia for the full duration. Couldn't understand why this wasn't ok.

Annoyingly, also won't process payments made through booking.com (presumably in dispute over fees and trying to dodge paying the introduction fee?) instead insisting on cash.

Breakfast was the worst we've had in vietnam to-date

Having said that, location is ok near the rest of the cheap hotels and the bed was the most comfortable we've slept in yet.

Hate to give a poor review but felt compelled to show the other side of the story - could be so much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank SimonT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The ViaA Hotel has recently opened. Still "smells" new. Rooms have everything you need. The room we were in was road facing, but noise no issue. Hotel reception was helpful, nice and breakfast adequate. Short walk to old town area. Hoi An was just lovely - would love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.1 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#59 of 152 in Hoi An
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 152 in Hoi An
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#67 of 152 in Hoi An
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 152 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VaiA Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VaiA Boutique Hotel

Property: VaiA Boutique Hotel
Address: 489 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An City Center, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — VaiA Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the ancient city of Hoi An, VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An caters to demanding travelers in pursuit of cozy and comfortable accommodation for the duration of their stay in Hoi An. Its bright, contemporary design and decoration creates a welcoming and relaxing environment for VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An guests, and coupled with the personal service assured by the hotel staffs, will help to make your stay a memorable experience. Eighteen well-appointed rooms ranging from Junior, Standard, Deluxe to Family provide a comfortable home base from which to explore the ancient city on its doorstep. Breakfast and light refreshments are served at the Little Terrace Café in the lobby. Free tea and coffee is available to guests throughout the day at the Little Terrace Café, Free WiFi is available throughout VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An, and free Internet access is provided for guests in the Lobby, free bikes for discovering the city or the beach also available at the lobby. Other services including airport/train transport, tour desk are all available at the Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your VaiA Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing