We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, luxurious rooms on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VaiA Boutique Hotel
Ranked #73 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is clearly a pretty recently constructed hotel with fine, clean rooms. At $28 per night for a double room including breakfast, it was quite a steal, and in this price category it was the most luxurious hotel we stayed in during our Vietnam holiday. The rooms are well equipped: they have a safe, hairdryer, TV, water boiler, umbrellas, 3 towels per person, soap, toothbrush, etc.

The beds are comfortable and the room is decently sized. The bathroom is large with a spacious shower. The corner room in which our friends stayed at was a lot smaller than ours though, especially the bathroom.

Breakfast is okay - I ordered the omelette with veggies and cheese one morning and wasn't crazy about the weird cheese part. But the rest are generally fine, all served with a baguette.

There are some noise issues though. The first night our friends had problems sleeping because of a loud water pump noise from the roof, though I didn't really hear much of it. This was fixed the second night though. The other strange noise issue is the lobby and hallway noise, which seems to echo through the hotel and into rooms (on the first floor at least - though first floor, I suppose, is second floor for any Americans out there). During breakfast in the lobby, the loud echoing sound is an issue too, especially if there are little brats involved.

We had some problems with our VietJet flights leaving Hoi An, and the lady at the lobby was very helpful in helping us figure everything out by spending an hour of her time on the phone with VietJet and the language barrier it involved. She made it possible for us to sort everything out without having to rebooking our travel itinerary, which was priceless.

Free bike rental if you ask for it on time. Two laptops in the lobby for internet connection (and wifi all around), free cocktail hour in the evening. Convenient location to town. Great staff.

Room Tip: Try to avoid corner rooms because they seem to be on the smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turtlebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I can't help but feel I need to respond to the review by camerontran as I was there the morning they checked out and was gobsmacked at their complete rudeness to the staff. Yes it isn't convenient to not have the card option to pay but remember where you are. It's not America or any other western country. Things are done differently and you need to be flexible. Aside from that our stay was fabulous. Service and room facilities were excellent for the price rate. The breakfast could be tweaked a little as in more options but we loved the fresh fruit and omelettes. Don't let nasty reviews of petty people put you off, this place is fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NightDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staffs are so friendly and helpful. My son lost his hat in te hotel and the staff help him to find his hat back. The location is close to the old town. The rooms are cleaned. There are free coffee and tea from morning til night. In the afternoon, they serve us free cocktail. The downside is no elevator and no credit card accepted.

Room Tip: ask room on the second floor. Also pack light because they do not have elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at vaia for 2 nights. We were placed in room 01 which was facing the main public toilet and kitchen.

We were woken up in the morning at 6am from the kitchen as they were preparing for breakfast. There was also shouting down the corrindor in the morning by the staff members. We had a window in the room that opens up to the side of the hotel, people were able to walk through the side of the building, thus no privacy unless you draw the curtains.

I also found that the tours and airport transfers that they have offered are slightly more expensive than the ones you find in the city. So go shop around.

Other than this, hotel is new. The location is good - 5mins walk to city. Staff are friendly. Free bikes for hire too.

New hotel which has room for improvement in terms of service!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very nice hotel, with good breakfast and free bicycles (with lights!) for the 5 minutes bike ride to the old town. Rooms were good and a bellman will carry your bags up/down the stairs (no elevator, only few floors though). Hotel will arrange pickups from DaNang at very reasonable prices (cheaper than MaiLinh taxi!), but be clear on your arrival times to avoid any confusion. Also ask for any breakfast/lunch if you're travelling, they will gladly give you a lunch bag.
Cheap laundry via the hotel (about 2$/kg, including ironing) which is done within the day.

Only large con: hotel is cash only and local ATM's are not the best. (Visa did not work in all ATM's and often have a max of 2.000.000 VND = ~100$ with a 2-3$ banking charge)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was certainly the most lack luster hotel experience during my monthly long stay in Viet Nam.

BE WARNED, you can not pay in advance and they only accept cash upon checking out. (This is not disclosed before hand. When we checked out, we didn't have enough Dong to pay for the bill. We had dollars. For a hotel that only accepts cash, they had trouble making change. They didn't want to give us the change in Dong because "people take advantage of the exchange rate" (?!?!!).

We received a "welcome" drink but were quickly forgotten thereafter. We had to cary our own luggage up the stairs. Mind you, it wouldn't be such a big deal if there was elevator. According to the hotel survey, there's a bellman/doorman. We saw a guy in uniform by the door once, but he was sitting in a chair, picking his nose. Reception wasn't particularly welcoming. Breakfast starts at 6:30 but when we came down at 6:30, they were not ready for guests. They *only* offer a western breakfast but haven't quite gotten the hang of the dishes yet. The food was terrible. Why in the world wouldn't you serve Vietnamese food in Viet Nam?!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camerontran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Comfortable, clean and modern room with a very nice bathroom. All the touches of a boutique hotel at backpacker prices.

As well as outstanding value for money rooms, we were offered free bikes and daily complimentary cocktails. Relative to many other hotels in Hoi An, a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#57 of 159 in Hoi An
515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 159 in Hoi An
1,208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#17 of 159 in Hoi An
670 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#23 of 159 in Hoi An
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VaiA Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VaiA Boutique Hotel

Address: 489 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An City Center, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £16 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — VaiA Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the ancient city of Hoi An, VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An caters to demanding travelers in pursuit of cozy and comfortable accommodation for the duration of their stay in Hoi An. Its bright, contemporary design and decoration creates a welcoming and relaxing environment for VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An guests, and coupled with the personal service assured by the hotel staffs, will help to make your stay a memorable experience. Eighteen well-appointed rooms ranging from Junior, Standard, Deluxe to Family provide a comfortable home base from which to explore the ancient city on its doorstep. Breakfast and light refreshments are served at the Little Terrace Café in the lobby. Free tea and coffee is available to guests throughout the day at the Little Terrace Café, Free WiFi is available throughout VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An, and free Internet access is provided for guests in the Lobby, free bikes for discovering the city or the beach also available at the lobby. Other services including airport/train transport, tour desk are all available at the Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your VaiA Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing