We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homeland River Homestay
Ranked #62 of 288 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, and free cruiser bikes for checking out Hoi An make this am excellent option for lodging. The family was very generous and helpful during my stay. The only downside is that it is a little far from town, however the bike turns it into a 5 minute trip to the market.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ebluemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with a delicious virtnamese breakfast upon our early check-in. Thr owners, a wife and her husband, were very kind and welcoming. The rooms were very nice and clean, especially for the price. The homestay is situated on the island just 10-15 minutes away from the center, which turned out to be very relaxing. Bikes were offered for rental for free, and motorbikes were offered for a reasonable price. The owner can organize trips and bus rides for you. We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaya1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here although I'll start by saying if you don't want to stay outside of the main town, don't bother. It's a 5 minute ride into town but they have free bikes which is a fantastic option as hoi an isn't too busy and easy to ride.

Finding the homestay can be a problem- we walked around for 30 mins as we were given two incorrect directions online, but we got a hotel to call them and they picked us up on their bikes. The owners are really lovely and the place is immaculately clean. Little English is spoken, but that doesn't affect your stay at all.

We stayed at both a hotel and this homestay and found this to be far more relaxing and enjoyable than staying in the tourist area, as you actually feel like you're in vietnam.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Situated slightly away (but at walking/cycling distance from Old Town), this home-stay was simple and clean. Run by a very sweet family of five ( a couple and three children), this indeed feels like a home. We would always have the kids and the wonderful lady smiling and welcoming us. The rooms are good and we had a sweet, small balcony with the river view. Very good value for money. I specially liked cycling from Old Town to the home stay twice or thrice a day and watching the Vietnamese life. I actually looked forward to cycling back and forth from Old Town, crossing the bridge and waving at children en-route. The lady is always smiling and ready to help. I found her very genuine and innocently charming. She made Cau Lao (the traditional Hoi An specialty dish) and reminded us that we need to come and eat at the home-stay. It kind of reminded of my home. Hoi An is such a charming and colourful town and the warmth of these people made our stay much more memorable. Would surely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipti205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Situated on Cam Nam island a short cycle (2km) from the tourist centre of Hoi Na this homestay is most welcoming. For those who don't know, a home stay is exactly as it sounds, you stay in someone else's home! These can vary from awful to hotel standard, this one gladly falls into the later category with their home being purpose built for guest accommodation and achieving the intimacy and hospitality only a proprietor run establishment seems to be able to achieve. It's basic but clean, there are probably about 10, maybe 12 rooms all with en suite facilities.
The owners arranged for us to picked up from and returned to Da Nang train station at either end of our stay as well as recommending various places to have clothes and shoes made, no doubt extended family! We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at a very reasonable cost of $132 including a basic but adequate breakfast and free cycle hire. Again, as usual, I would recommend communicating directly with the owner shortly prior to your visit to ensure booking and get a room as high as you can.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for a room with a river view, not that the view is great, they're the best rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfisti1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The host is veryyy friendly and please try her Cao Lau. The best dish I've had so far. I would come back again just to eat her Cao Lau. Downside only the location is a bit far from main city but it's ok if you ride bicycle or motorbike

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice homestay. The location is perfect if you don't want to be in the busy center. With the free bikes it takes about 7 minutes to go to the city. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a LCD tv with HBO for the rainy days. The shower is nice and hot and I would recommend to let them do your laundry, because it smells great and really is clean! This place with friendly owners will do all they can. They even brought me to my busstation for free. The only minus is that it can be a bit noisy but that depends on the other guests...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Joelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.2 mi away
Sky's House (Beautiful Moon Hoi An Villa)
0.4 mi away
Village Love Homestay
Village Love Homestay
#45 of 288 in Hoi An
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Homestay
Yellow House Homestay
#87 of 288 in Hoi An
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Palm Villas Hoi An
River Palm Villas Hoi An
#19 of 162 in Hoi An
274 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeland River Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland River Homestay

Address: 217 Nguyen Tri Phuong, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homeland River Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Homeland River Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing