We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real professional”

Mr Lai 24 h Clothes shop
Ranked #322 of 463 Shopping in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small custom tailor clothing shop in the heart of Hoi An city
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Lai has an excellent taste for design. I met him at a restaurant in town and went with him to his shop. 2 days later i went home with 2 suits, 2 shirts and some shorts. Everything fitted perfectly the first time, also the fabric feels amazing! The prizes are so much better then all the others in town. This guy is a legend!

Thanks Lai!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kevinv2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"my partner"
in 11 reviews
"looked great"
in 2 reviews
"fitted perfectly"
in 2 reviews
"clothes"
in 37 reviews
"items"
in 10 reviews
"fabric"
in 13 reviews
"suits"
in 15 reviews
"tailor"
in 26 reviews
"dress"
in 8 reviews
"legend"
in 2 reviews
"blazer"
in 5 reviews
"design"
in 5 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Like everyone else, Mr. Lai, approached us on the street and coaxed us back to his shop. We were already looking for a tailor shop and we figured we would check it out. We ended up buying a lot of clothes (4 suits, 12+ shirts, 4 coats). He turned everything around in less than a week for our return through the area. So far everything is holding up very well. The fit on everything is perfect.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Octlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Lai was wonderful to deal with....very professional and very talented...the clothes he made for myself and my partner were exceptional.. ..5 dresses ..a suite and shirt... his team and his business I would highly recommend to anyone...thank you annita & steve...new zealand

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank AnnitaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

I bumped into Mr Lai with my wife as we cycled through Hoi An old town. We decided to have a few things tailored while we were there and with back and forth fittings and trying on our clothes our experience was made even more interesting as we became more and more acquainted with Mr Lai and his wonderful staff. His cousin Ha even had a cake made for my daughters birthday and bought her some flowers plus arranged a wonderful sea from restaurant for her birthday meal.
It was a chance encounter that really made our holiday special so thanks to Mr Lai and his family for making us some great clothes and making us feel so at home in Hoi An.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Return2bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Mr. Lai met us in a coffee bar and let us to his shop. He was very friendly and chatty and, even though we did not come to beautiful Hoi An to buy tailored clothes, we trusted him immediately.

However, once in the shop, Mr. Lai got a bit pushy up to the point that the visit became uncomfortable and awkward. Even so, we did order 2 shirts, which in the opinion of Mr. Lai was clearly not enough and Mr. Lai was not hiding his feelings for us. Which was disappointing, as we did show him our trust and did support his business, which resulted in a successful sale.

When we came back the next day to pick up the shirts, we were impressed with the result and showed that to Mr. Lai. Mr. Lai, however, showed little interest in the after-sale service, which was conducted by his very friendly cousin, and only tried to push us to buy more product. We did end up buying 6 more shirts. Not, because of Mr. Lai's persistence, but because we were in the store and really liked the result of the first 2 shirts. We hoped to bring back Mr. Lai's smile and joyful personality. It did not.

When we came back the next day to pick up the 6 shirts, Mr. Lai continued to show lack of interest and it was again Mr. Lai's lovely cousin helping us with the fitting. The result, again, was impressive.

If Mr. Lai is willing to work of his after-sale skills and make sure customers not only leave satisfied with the product, but also with the service received, Mr. Lai's business can really take off and set itself apart from the hundreds of other tailors in Hoi An. We truly wish Mr. Lai and his family good luck and fortune with their business!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank basacatalunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Lai 24 h Clothes shop also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Mr Lai 24 h Clothes shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing