We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent 4 days at Essence Hoi An Hotel. The Hotel is comfortable and elegant into every detail.
The staff is competent and friendly and very eager to make you enjoy your stay.
Location in the outskirts of Hoi An (which is a very charming, small, old town on the UNESCO list of protected locations) is perfect, with a 10 min walking distance to center town.
Borrow a bicycle (for free) and explore the surroundings!
We can strongly recommend this hotel to whoever wants to enjoy some relaxed days in a luxurious and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view to the beautiful pool surrounded by palms and other vegetation
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is brand new and consequentially even the most basic rooms are lovely with lots of light.The rooms are spacious and our bathroom was a good size with large shower and good toiletries. Further there was a tv with English news channels, a safe, hairdyer and welcome fruit and water was placed in our room.

The hotel reception and grounds are also very nicely decorated although the pool was a little disappointing- lovely design but it doesn't look very inviting to swim in as the water is green! Further, there is a pool table and basic gym where you can even play your own music.

Breakfast here is one of the better ones in Vietnam- there is an egg and crepe counter where they make to order but also salad counters, Vietnamese food, juice, cereals and bread. Tea and coffee is complimentary and you can choose to dine inside or outside. The restaurant itself was ok although very expensive compared to the town itself. We ate there once because we were short on time but if time is not a factor I would choose to always eat on the river in town.

The location is okay. You can walk in to the main town in about 15minutes or you can take one of their bicycles to speed things up. We found that getting taxis was fine from the hotel (the hotel ill book you one) but coming back from town by taxi was very difficult- one evening several taxis refused to take us home claiming that it was not worth their while; perhaps the hotel can seek to address this as it is the same taxi company that they use to order taxis.The hotel is situated a10minute taxi ride to the beach and it's much easier to get taxis to/ from the beach! In addition to these transport services the hotel do a complimentary shuttle service to the town or to the beach but we found these too infrequent and consequentially didn't catch it once.

Regarding the airport pick up, we felt like it was a little overpriced- we booked our return leg through a tour company in town and it was much cheaper; also at $18 they could at least provide water in the car as it's about a 30-45min journey.

Overall, a nice hotel in the making (it has only just opened as I understand it); the welcome drink and staff made us feel very welcome and were keen to help where they could; one lady employee helped me with my luggage when she saw me bringing my own down which just highlighted to me that the staff really were on hand to help wherever possible; most employees would leave you to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had originally booked a hotel close to town but when we had to change our schedule due to Typhoon Haiyan, our original choice was booked so our tour company booked us here. It is a brand new hotel and we were greeted with a wonderful passion fruit drink and checked into a beautiful room. While it was further from town than we would have liked, it had all of the amenities you could need and the bathroom was cool with a stone tub and sink (although it was pretty small) and double doors with a wooden bar that slides between the handles to lock it. We had already been in town the entire day so we were tired and decided to lounge around the gorgeous pool. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere. We were sorry to leave but wanted to get out before the flooding came.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Fantastic Hotel a short taxi ride to old city or walkable distance if reasonably fit. Very clean with wonderful helpful staff. Great breakfasts and we ate many times in the restaurant. Staff are very gracious and helpful. Very comfortable pillows, so comfortable we bought some. Staff at the front desk arranged for the post office to come to us. You can't ask for better service than that. Very effective split system ensuring room cool. Saw staff spraying for pests and had no problems with mosquitoes. Congratulations to everyone getting this hotel back to excellent presentation following the worst typhoon in history. Would highly recommend this resort and spa ,all staff very willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynisThorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in November and we don't have a bad word to say about the hotel.

We booked via agoda and arrived mid morning. We were greeted with a welcome drink and cold towel and checked in. As our room wasn't ready, the hotel put our bags into storage, informed us about Hoi An and we went to explore the town which was about a 10 minute walk away or 2 minute bicycle ride away (which were complimentary). Also complimentary was the shuttle bus service to town and to the beaches.

We got back a few hours later and were greeted by a room complete with rose petals on the bed and
complimentary chocolates and fruit bowl as it was our honeymoon.

We had only booked for two nights but we enjoyed our time so much that we booked to stay a third with no hassle.

All the staff members in the hotel were friendly and knowledgable. We asked about how best to travel to Ho Chi Minh city (bus, train or plane) and it turned out that the plane was the best value, so they booked it for us with no hassle.

As our flight was in the evening, the hotel said it was no problem to relax around the pool for our last day and even said they had a shower we could use if required before we left.

In summary, a great hotel stay experience which definitely made for a relaxing get away for a few days in Hoi An.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perrrfect_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Any review written about the flood should be taken with a grain of salt. This year was one of the worst floods seen here in Hoi An, though it floods every year at this time. Regardless, we were here about 3 weeks after the most recent flooding and you couldn't tell at all. Our experience was of the highest service and the nicest rooms we experienced anywhere in a 3 week trip through Vietnam. Modern, clean, and very well appointed.

My only criticism is that the hotel isn't centrally located in town; it is on the very western edge. That said, it is very quiet and nothing is far from the city center. Need to get to the other side of town? Take a free bike. Or they will call a taxi for you and it might put you out $1.50. We should all be so lucky. Five or more years from now, this place won't be on the outskirts.

For the price of the hotel (and it is certainly not the cheapest), you get a fabulous bufet breakfast, a chic pool area, exercise facilities, bikes to ride around town (or out to the beach or anywhere else if you like), and a free shuttle to their beach-side club. Take advantage of it all and the price will seem well worth it. On top of that, the service is top-notch. Complain if you want, but from what I've experienced, if you do you're a big complainy-pants. This place is awesome!

Room Tip: They have connecting rooms if you're a larger family, and they'll roll in a cot if you need...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because of the positive TripAdvisor comments, and we could not have had a better experience. Other hotels could learn from the Essence playbook when it comes to service. They're amazing! I've never stayed in a hotel more committed to its guests. The accommodations are awesome (new, spacious, comfortable, lovely grounds, all amenities). The breakfast is unbelievable. The service is top-notch. The location is perfect (walking distance to downtown Hoi An with a free shuttle to the beach). They gave us a free upgrade the final night of our stay, and even packed us a to-go breakfast for our early morning departure. We had a lovely "thank you" email before our plane even landed to our next destination. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Hoi An. It's the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLF360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#49 of 159 in Hoi An
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £59 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing