We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for this hotel when visiting Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Go for this hotel when visiting Hoi An”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The service is excellent from welcoming you to waving you out when leaving the hotel.

The service was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The quality of the rooms is good. I had a great stay.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends
.

Room Tip: when using Agoda book for at least 3 nights to get the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,387
    365
    41
    5
    3
See reviews for
688
1,345
121
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We loved our four night stay at Essence Hoi An, especially after receiving an upgrade to a suite for the first two nights of our stay! Both the suite and our deluxe room with balcony were lovely, with a great view over the rice paddies and pool. The staff were attentive and friendly while not being too intrusive - the perfect balance between service and privacy that we were looking for. We would highly recommend Essence Hoi An and look forward to returning for a longer stay on the future, Happy Year of the Horse!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordLadyButtongrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were at the hotel unfortunately for only two nights. Were were welcomed by the staff in particular by the Guest Realtion Executive Vanessa, a very kind person fluently speaking many languages and precious with her suggestions. Room was spacious and confortable, breakfast was very gooI highly recommend you do get massages anI highly recommend you do get massages varieI highly recommend you do get massages to suit every taste. I highly recommend you do get massages.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciroLazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The Essence Hotel is a little out of the town, but they provide free bikes and a free bus to take you to the old town or the beach. We used the bikes every day. If you do get the bikes, make sure you test the brakes (both that they work and that they don't screech so loud that everyone in Hoi An hears you coming), saddle and tires before setting off, as some of the bikes are in quite bad condition.

We had a balcony room (B403), overlooking the pool and rice fields which was lovely, and also very quiet. The TV didn't work, but the staff fixed of within 24 hours. There was no urgency or apology for this, which surprised me for a hotel of this standard.

Breakfast was very good - there was a huge selection of fruits, salads, cooked Asian and Western dishes, cereals and pastries. The one peculiar thing was that Vietnamese tea and coffee had to be paid for as extras! Even the smallest of hotels in Vietnam (including the of sister hotels) has not charged for green tea or their own coffee, and had had more than one tea option. It was a bit stingy considering the price we were paying for the hotel.

The laundry service was expensive but very quick and our clothes smelled lovely and were very soft. The spa was excellent - my other half said it was the best Swedish massage he's ever had. The mani-pedi were also very good.

All in all, this was a lovely hotel. It's a bit pricy for the location, but a great treat if you want a reprieve from the business of the old town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our holiday in Vietnam. The front room we were given on arrival - the hotel picked us up at Danang airport at 10.30pm - was noisy and this was changed to a lovely quiet room in block B as soon as we asked the next morning. Great breakfast, friendly staff, enjoyed the cookery demo amd market/ vegetable village trip. The pool area is very attractive. It is about 1km in to town but an easy walk and felt safe. Used the free bikes on 2 occasions and visited the historic houses in Hoi An. Very comfortable rooms, clean stylish shower or bathrooms,. Happy to reccommend.

Room Tip: Block B and higher floors are quieter and have good views over the rice fields.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed 6 nights at Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa. We had the connecting room. It was relaxing due to its superb location at the outskirts of town, making it quiet and not too chaotic and noisy. Travelling to the old town was convenient as the hotel provides free bikes. You can also reach the old town by taking a 20min leisurely walk from the hotel. The hotel provides free shuttle at regular intervals to Cua Dai Beach.

The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and smiley, and could speak good English. The hotel provides reasonable breakfast spread, comprising international as well as local Vietnamese food. Our family would prefer that there were more choices with local Vietnamese food though.

I tried their spa service. It was less than satisfactory as the spa was newly opened and the power supply was not stable, resulting in sudden power surges that caused the music volume to blast too loudly from time to time. The hotel was very apologetic about my experience & made good by offering discount for my spa treatment. Appreciate that.

As we went during winter, it was too cold to use the pool.

If we should return to HoiAn again, we will certainly stay with Essence HoiAn Hotel & Spa. For its friendly staff, its great service & its quiet & yet convenient location to the Old Town. Our best wishes to the hotel & staff of Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank llamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

From the minute we entered the foyer of the Essence Hotel, Hoi An we felt genuinely welcomed by the staff, we were offered a delicious drink and cleansing towel, lovely touches. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. I loved the double doors which opened up onto a balcony, I really enjoy being able to have fresh air in a hotel room. The breakfast buffet is absolutely delicious and the presentation alone is testament to a hotel that takes pride in everything it does. Bikes were provided free of charge which we took advantage of and thoroughly enjoyed our cycling around Hoi An. Staff were helpful in providing information and did not hesitate to assist us with booking a motorcycle tour. This is a hotel that has put a lot of time, thought and effort into providing a great service to their customers and have obviously sourced great people to ensure it delivers and continues to improve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Macca1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Central Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#15 of 142 in Hoi An
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 142 in Hoi An
584 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#17 of 142 in Hoi An
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Property: Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing