We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This boutique hotel ticks all the boxes. Located within walking distance of the pedestrianised old town, yet overlooking paddy fields, it has a quiet but convenient position to tour the town. Food is well prepared and the romantic restaurant offers garden tables as well as those inside. The room was medium sized but well equipped. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. The pool is surprisingly large considering the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maigemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,938)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,208 - 2,214 of 2,938 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hoi An is not the reason to come to the Essence, the Essence is the reason to come to Hoi An! This place is faboulous. Not only the way place is designed and maintained (let me use the word perfect) but also the staff is very professional, helpful and friendly. It's all about details, and this is exactly the atmosphere this hotel is breathing. You can read all about it in the other reviews, I have two examples: when we returned from dinner in town yesterday and we returned to our room, the staff had closed the curtains, made duvet ready to jump in and replaced the towels we used for showering for new ones. This made us feel extremely spoilt (in a positive way!). Second example: When we arrived with a very early flight, the staff made us feel really welcome and we were invited to use the pool facilities. Our room was ready around 12h (2 hours before normal check-in) and when gathering all our stuff we forgot to take the slippers of our 3 year old child. We realised it when we were in the room and just were going back to the swimming pool to pick them up. But guess what? The staff was faster than us; the slippers were deliverd to our room in a plastic bag.
We are happy to have chosen to stay here for 7 nights, we will not regret it for a single minute. Thanks, Essence!

Room Tip: The Essence have good family rooms with 2 queen size beds, suited for 2 adults and 2 children and en...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

From the amazing décor to the gorgeous spa on-site, this was a small hotel with big hotel vision.
Our Essence suite was a delight with beautiful views over the pool and rice paddies and offered a separate divider between the lounge area to the bed. Our rate included the never ending mini bar and the most diverse breakfast buffet (I wish they had just keep pho soup on everyday).
We appreciated the 15 minute walk to and from the town centre as the hotel is located in a real community and watching the locals go about their day-to-day activities loads of fun. The small market 5 min up the road was a treat and although no immediate restaurant options near the hotel (the hotel restaurant is delicious and worth at least one of your dining options) it was only ever $2 in a taxi to some of our favourites (Mermaid won every time).
The hotel reception staff were always so helpful especially in organising our web-check in/boarding passes. You will need to be patient with some of the wait-staff and their English -just calmly ensure they have understood your request.
The Essence was a terrific choice and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Essence Suite overlooking the pool and rice paddies - very spacious like two rooms in one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The service was impeccable and our room was amazing, marble bathroom and all!

Breakfast was plentiful and all the staff were great!

I'm not going to go on and on about this hotel, I really don't have anything bad to say! We even decided to cancel our hotel in Hanoi to book with Essence sister hotel in Hanoi!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A beautiful hotel with fabulous staff. A real delight which appeared to be the best choice in Hoi An. It is located at the end of the resort but provides free bikes to use for trips to the beach or vibrant old town and market. The pool was stunning and the spa very good. The room and showers were exceptional. We booked a cooking class which took us to the local market and herb farm, and then we watched the head chef of the hotel cook some salads, soups and chicken dishes. The staff were so helpful and beyond the call of duty when assisting with onward trips and travel. A great find.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies over the pool which we did not have. The breakfast is average but the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Absolutely great reception, calm and helpful staff, fabulous breakfasts! Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely recommend this hotel and Hoi An as a definite must visit, would love to revisit some time in the future

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the last 3 nights of our action packed fortnight in northern Vietnam here, and it was just what we needed.

The hotel was beautifully decorated. We had a clean, comfortable deluxe balcony room on the third floor overlooking the road. Currently it is on the edge of town so there are no other large hotel developments in the direct vicinity so you're not overlooked, but this may change in the future. The views from other rooms may have been more scenic (we had a restaurant in front of us who's staff liked to wave at us, the road and part of a rice paddy field) but this was nice enough for our balcony usage and I don't think there's any avoiding a little noise from the roads if you're any way near one but it wasn't intrusive.

The pool and outside areas were again all beautifully decorated and lovely to spend time in. The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to the old town centre, near the Japanese covered bridge, and is only a $1.5-2 cab ride from the bus station in Hoi An. A free shuttle service was available during the day taking you to the town and the beach (they have an arrangement with a beach-side restaurant at Cua Dai beach which offers the use of sun loungers, towels and facilities for the day), and free bicycles were also available on request.

The breakfast buffet was extensive, delicious and varied slightly each day and was served in a beautiful outside area, adjacent to the pool. The spa was also very nice with courteous staff, I used it for a pedicure with OPI polish (foot scrubbing not included).

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and even arranged a trip for us to the Cham islands at short notice (we had fun but in terms of snorkeling there's not much to see and a lot of jellyfish to watch out for). They also helpfully arranged our transport to the airport (arranging for pick-ups and drop offs with them from the airport and train station in Danang were all much cheaper than metered taxi rates). My only criticism about this aspect of their service being that a member of their staff also joined us for our ride to the airport as they too had a flight to catch. This wasn't a problem for us and the member of staff was very pleasant company. However it would've been courteous to have been asked if we were happy with this arrangement and possibly to have been offered a discounted rate for the airport transfer (if we'd been sharing with another guest we would have shared the cost).

All in all, we had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the hotel and were glad that we chose it for the end of our trip.

Room Tip: If choosing a balcony room try to ask for one overlooking the pool, this may reduce the likelihood o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#21 of 157 in Hoi An
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £60 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing