We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Hoi An!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Hoi An!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is hotel is close to town, beautiful design. very comfortable- staff are very friendly and efficient. Good gym equipment, good food in the restaurant, great breakfast. Visually beautiful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms that did not face the pool- it was quiet, a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIYEChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    372
    42
    5
    3
See reviews for
729
1,384
125
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We (2 adults with 2 kids) stayed early February for 2 weeks at the Essence Hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. There was a warm welcome, the rooms had a very nice layout and the whole hotel had a lot of lovely details. We had a family room which was overlooking the rice paddies. The rooms were spacious and had a very good standard. The hotel provided free bicycles and child seats could be arranged as well. We enjoyed to cycle to the old town and explore the city bicycle. Our kids loved it too! The staff was also very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the great food at the hotel's restaurant. Overall, a very pleasant and nice holidays at the Essence Hotel! A great thank also goes to Vanessa from Client Relations who gave us a lot of useful information about Hoi An.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rice paddies are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel.we stayed from 24th march to 30 march 2014. Can't think of anything they could do make our stay better. Will definitely go back. Hi to Lan, My, Thuy, Fa whose attempt to teach us Vietnamese is to be praised, however we were poor students. Their non intrusive service met all our needs. We are now addicted to Vietnamese coffee, hot and cold. We even bought the Phin filter and Trung Nguyen coffee to bring home. The cooking class in a must, cycling to the fresh food markets and the herb markets, then back to the hotel to cook what was purchased. There are ramps to reception, lifts and gentle steps into the pool for those people less agile. We waited for 3hours in reception waiting to go to the airport and were brought complimentary drinks to keep us happy. Pool side snacks and drinks, on hand. I had a number of treatments at the hotel spa, amazing, professional and such good value. Great little gym, kept us going, in between walking. Fabulous restaurant. Amazing food. Tasty looking western menu, but why would you eat that? Local food too good to be ignored. Well done Essence Sharon and Geoff Perth WA.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my dad for 5 nights and had an awesome time. Staff were super friendly and always helpful they went out of their way to help us with transport, spots to eat etc. the hotel was beautiful, amazing gardens around the pool where we had the most delicious breakfast every morning. And the BEST passion fruit juice upon arrival. There are bikes available for use any time you need them and the view is breathtaking over rice paddy fields and close to town ( about a 10 minute bike ride to old town hoian) If I were to ever return to hoian I wouldn't look else where for accomodation :)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side and rice paddy field view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I absolutely loved staying here. The hotel is great, we were offered a free upgrade which was really appreciated. The staff were very attentive and definitely went the extra mile to make sure we were looked after (in particular Mr. Tuan on reception who was great to us for the entire stay)

The location is a short walk to the historical centre which is also ideal.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahvhartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel deserves the amazing TA reviews. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after. We were sat down and given refreshing towels and some watermelon juice whilst we were checked in and our bags were sorted.

We were given the option of an upgrade to a suite, for only $20 extra per night. We were glad to upgrade because you get an amazing bathroom, balcony and huge room. The only sad thing was that the hotel did not have availability to have us for 2 extra nights.

The staff were amazing in helping us navigate the hundreds of tailors in the town, providing a few recommendations. The sales staff from tailors get to work on you from the moment you arrive in Danang. Our taxi driver asked if we would mind picking up his friend on the way. The friend was very pleasant, but the conversation quickly turned to if we were interested in getting any clothes made. If your driver does pick up a 'friend', it's really nothing to worry about, just make it clear you aren't going to be buying any clothes whilst in Hoi An.

Hoi An is a really beautiful place though, and whilst you will be approached a lot by tailors, this takes nothing away from how great this place is.

Essence Hotel also offer free bike hire, which is an excellent way to explore the town and the surrounding countryside. Again the staff at the hotel will recommend routes and places to visit. Local people are exceptionally friendly as you bike around the villages.

Breakfast is really good too, a nice spread of hot food, fruits and pastries. There is a nice pool, a nice little fitness room, and a small spa.

The hotel is genuinely one of the best I have stayed in, and is amazing value. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights and we had a great time. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are lovely and the staff looked after us extremely well. I was very sick and they arranged for a doctor to come and see me straight away. The doctor did a great job and provided the right medications on the spot and I didn't even have to leave my hotel room. The pool was very lovely and the outdoor breakfast setting was a peaceful way to start our day. Thanks for a very lovely stay. Cass and George.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#14 of 153 in Hoi An
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#2 of 153 in Hoi An
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hoi An Boutique Villas
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Central Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Property: Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing