We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Essence with a 8 and 10 year old in connecting rooms. It was a 5 star hotel in my book and exceeded our expect ions. The staff was top notch and attentive to our every need. The Spa service was equally as good. The bikes were a bonus to ride into town. The location was great. The pool and food was superb. The hotel coordinated our trip to My Son Ruins (we opted for the private guide and car=good choice) and our snorkel trip to Cham Island. We were pleased with both. We can't say enough good things about Hoi An, the Essence and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms if parents want privacy or the Deluxe Family room if it doesn't matter to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 91Jennifer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked the majority of our latest trip to Vietnam through the Essence Hanoi hotel group. They recommended their sister hotel for our Hoi An leg. We where not disappointed. Our room was on the sixth floor in the main building, stairs next to the 5th floor lift took us up to the penthouse rooms. The room was very large, spotless and well equipped with a quaint roof terrace overlooking the surrounding rice fields. All the staff were exceptional as was the breakfast. We had a wonderful trip arranged to My Son which included lunch at the hotel which was superb. It takes just over 10 minutes to stroll into the historical centre and about 20 minutes by scheduled hotel minibus to a wonderful beach area, the hotel supply beach towels and there are free sun loungers at the restaurant where they drop and pick up. Bikes are available free if you prefer. We didn't use the pool area or spa as we only had 5 days and seemed to always be out exploring somewhere. There's plenty to do in Hoi An and we believe we could have spent more time here and intend to return in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are via fifth floor stairs to the 6th floor which commands wounderful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merl1n2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at Essence hotel in April 2014 and it was terrific! We had already stayed at the partner hotel in Hanoi so were pleased to find that this hotel was equally as good if not better! The pool was lovely, food was excellent and everybody was super friendly. This was one of my favourite hotels in Vietnam. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisMakuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Essence last year in Hanoi, which was a good stay and led to us booking the same brand when in Hoi An.
In my view this hotel is even better, it's a great boutique hotel, Vanessa and the team do a fantastic job in welcoming people and ensuring a great stay.
Everyone acknowledges you when leaving and arriving, and all staff are helpful and friendly.
Rooms are spacious, well laid out with good finishings.
Spa was not expensive, particularly given the quality, unusual for a hotel spa!

The only area that could possibly be improved is the availability of sun beds, although to be honest we found that people did come and go quite a bit so we never waited long.

It's about 15 minute walk from town, which was fine for us as we prefer being a little out of the hustle and bustle of town, and a cab costs $1!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We initially booked four nights here, but extended our stay twice. Beautifully appointed hotel, every need met. Especially loved the attentive staff so a big thank you to Vanessa, Tuhey, Tu, Qwa and everyone else (apologies for my poor memory and probable spelling mistakes). P.S. Master Oscar's ego is struggling now isn't treated so royally now!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had very high expectations about this hotel as I had read every single review on here prior to my 12 night stay.

For only the second time ever in all my travels, my expectations were exceeded. This hotel is a perfect 10. It is a 15 minute walk maximum to town along a very vibrant local street. The hotel setting next to paddy fields is idyllic.

All of the staff, without exception are a credit to this hotel. However Vanessa the guest relations manager is the real gem, worth her weight in gold. I had booked the most basis room which was perfect for my requirements.

The brekkie was so fresh and the nicest I have had anywhere, including several 5 star establishments. I so miss sitting out on their lovely patio. I also had lunch and dinner at the hotel , both of which were excellent.

I spent every day by the stunning pool.I cannot wait to return next year.

ps for your laundry, local trip, airport taxis or food and drink try brown eyes directly opposite the hotel. a really nice Vietnamese family runs this place.

Room Tip: I visited several of the rooms, I preferred the one's facing the paddy field with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leethomaswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

One of the best value for money hotels in the world we have had the pleasure of staying in. A haven of peace. Well managed. Wonderful, friendly, efficient service and, kind, caring, welcoming staff. We were given an upgrade to a family room with a balcony, which was palatial and very comfortable. The hotel is relatively new, with a very nice indoor/outdoor restaurant with good food. The swimming pool is in relaxing surroundings. It is close to town and has a range of bikes you can use.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#50 of 159 in Hoi An
927 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £59 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing