We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Essence Hoi An is a new property located a little outside the heart of Hoi An. This is an asset, however, as it provides a nice area of sanctuary after spending time in the town, and the hotel offers a shuttle both into town and to the beach (though we'd suggest it might be nice if this ran more frequently). There are also bikes to borrow on request for those so inclined, but we found we enjoyed the walk back and forth into town (even at night, when it felt quite safe), and taxis are also cheap.

As for the room, it was very large and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the large, stone shower. Our room was on the top floor and in a corner, offering three-way views of the road, the rice paddies and the pool.

Speaking of the pool, it was a nice feature, and it was enjoyable to be able to go for an afternoon swim, particularly during the hottest part of the day. While the poolside seating is limited, we never ended up having any trouble getting a spot.

The breakfast buffet was also quite good, and included both a crepe and egg station, which we availed of daily. There were also a number of other options, including fresh fruit, various salads, as well as Asian options, such as pho.

Lastly, having stayed at a sister property in Hanoi (the excellent Hanoi Elegence Ruby), we were not surprised to find that the service at the Essence Hoi An was very good, particularly from the front desk staff. Indeed, after Vietnam Airlines changed one of our flights for the fourth time, we were able to get the assistance of the hotel's travel concierge to help us get things sorted.

In summary, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Essence Hoi An, and can highly recommend it to others. We will certainly look to stay there again should we return to Hoi An.

Room Tip: We got a corner room on the top floor in building A, which had a nice 3-way view of the road, rice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 2,973 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a well presented recently built hotel on the west edge of town which has a lovely pool, pretty gardens, gym, good buffet breakfast and plenty of attentive helpful staff. Due to its position in town it is relatively quiet also helped by not being a very large complex.
The journey into the old part of town is easily done by taxi with fares usually between $1 and 2 dollars. The only problem we had was with a miscommunication about our pick up time at DaNang airport however this was satisfactorily resolved by the manager.

Room Tip: An east facing room will have you waking early with the sunrise. Pool side rooms would be preferable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hoi An was absolutely beyond our expectations and hotel Essence was the cherry on the cake. The hotel has beautiful rooms, great swimming pool, fitness and spa. An other great thing the hotel offers are the free bikes which you can use to cycle into town and there is a free shuttle service going to the beach and city center. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and the breakfast is fantastic.
Overall if you are planning to stay in Hoi An stay at Essence Hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Situated just outside town, this is the perfect retreat from beautiful Hoi An. Rooms were clean and spacious, pool was perfect for cooling off from the sun and the breakfast the best we've had in Vietnam. Excellent hotel and very reasonably priced

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DC117117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel didn't disappoint in any way. We stayed in a Deluxe Double with balcony and view to the rice fields. The king bed was a treat. The insulation of the room was incredible...very cool room in 35-40C temperatures. Hardly needed the aircon.....which we don't like when we sleep anyway. The feather pillows were awesome....I never travel without my own chiropractic pillow.. but didn't on this trip and never had a pillow issue. The staff were unwavering in their willingness to help. They are obviously well trained and have great initiative. Breakfast buffet was as good as any first class facility..really beautiful. Proximity to old town of Hoi An excellent. A short 1 km walk, free shuttles, push bikes or just grab a taxi for 50 cents to AUD$1! Pool area lovely...and ordering a cocktail or meal to have poolside wasn't a problem at all. Fabulous Hoi An Fried Spring rolls!! One couple told us they were worried by the traffic noise, which I found really weird. Think you'd have to be pretty fussy. We found , when the door was sealed properly (you need to lock down a handle) the noise was dulled to almost nil. We actually like the dulled noise of the horns....it wouldn't be Vietnam without knowing there was a vibrant community outside ... and we certainly lost no sleep over it! You will love this place. Don't even think about it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (5th) over the road. We didn't have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel, amazing buffet breakfast. Not far to the centre of town, approx $1 each way. Free wifi. Free wifi for the entire town too.
Pool area is a blessing after a day out.
The staff are brilliant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Shaggas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the welcome drinks to arranging transport to the airport. This was a perfect hotel. We originally booked for two night and stayed an extra 2. The best breakfast so far on my three week Se Asia vacation. The pool was a welcome break at the end of a hot day in town. We used the free bikes everyday and quite enjoyed making our way through the streets. We stayed in a Delux room without a balcony and it was perfect.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Island_runner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#22 of 170 in Hoi An
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lantana Riverside Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#23 of 170 in Hoi An
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing