We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Highly highly recommend this hotel - for sure it should be a 5* ... Service, amenities, spa, rooms, breakfast - everything was just OUTSTANDING. From the moment we stepped in, the experience was first rate. It's a 10 mins walk to the centre of Hoi An but free push bikes are provided whenever you want as well as free shuttle buses which go all the way to the beaches. Or you can simply walk! Views are great as well - of the beautiful rice paddies. The pool area is beautiful and spotless and the f+b is top quality. Every evening fresh towels are delivered to your room which is a very nice touch. As are the flip flops and dressing gowns the hotel provides. Spa treatments were the best I had in all Vietnam.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_kotsias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, General Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are touched to read that your stay with us was OUTSTANDING and that you would rate our hotel as a 5* Hotel. The fact that you enjoyed the accommodation, food at our Gourmet Corner Restaurant and our La Siesta Spa, all together implies that our hard work during our first business year was well worthwhile and bears fruit. We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded. Therefore, we appreciated your acknowledgement of these positive elements during your stay as well as for recognizing our endeavours to make your trip in Hoi An a most possible pleasant one! We have shared your kind words with the rest of our team and for sure it will be a great motivation for all of us to keep up our good work.

Once again we thank you for your support and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa.

Best regards,

Kent Tran Nam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very efficient an nice staff. The receptionists, tour agent, waiters, manager, all very nice people. The breakfast is extremely tasteful and good. Each one of the five days there is something different. They have lots of options of Asian food (delicious) and also western style food. The cheese is very good, and also the bread. The manager is very careful with everything and a very nice person. I was very happy there. The two other times I also stayed in a very nice hotel, but Essence is even better. It is not far from the city, we always walked, in 10 minutes you are in the japanese bridge. My friend needed to go to the hospital, and they gave a complete assistance. I was a little afraid of the noise from the street, but the acoustic isolation is very good. Congratulations for the great job they are doing.

Room Tip: The side looking for the gardens and pool has better views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We upgraded to the honeymoon suit for our stay at the Essence, it was totally worth the additional $20 per night. A huge suit with a spectacular view especially from the 2 person Jacuzzi bath. Luxury bedding, towels bathrobes etc.. a personal laptop, TV with free moves, sound system & some CD’s. My only comment is that you can hear a lot from the room next door, their TV is mounted on the same wall that our bed’s headboard is attached and when I say we could hear it, we could heard word for word what they were watching. I don’t expect so much noise disruption when paying for the top suit in a hotel & I wonder if this could be remedied by moving the TV to another wall that isn’t adjoining to the suit?

Service at this hotel was excellent albeit a little slow around the pool, often having to go and find someone to take a drinks order. The food was lovely & reasonably priced, as were the drinks. The place is spotless & staff constantly cleaning. The front of house made sure you had everything you needed for a wonderful stay, they have many recommendations for things to do and see, restaurants to eat at (Morning Glory Restaurant by the way, it is stunningly good).

The pool was nice & clean, there are not enough sun loungers considering the size of the hotel and it at times would breed for some bad feeling amongst some guests getting themselves wound up by others reserving the loungers with their stuff and then leaving it for hours. We tried not to let this bother us but it is something that should be looked at, there is a garden area just off the pool which could be utilized immediately, all they need to do is purchase more loungers and move the swinging bed thing that nobody seems to use.

The spa was ok but they make you wear paper knickers, it's quite undignified. I would suggest that they use cotton shorts to save peoples modesty as the knickers are pretty see-through.

If you’re going to Hoi An I would recommend this hotel based on service, cleanliness, location (near to the old town but far enough away to be quieter) and amenities. We will return to Vietnam although I doubt that we would return to Hoi An, it’s actually a bit of a tourist trap with the old town full of pushy people wanting you to buy things, bikes & mopeds nearly running you down and spoiling the old town feel and the beach wasn’t all that, you get bothered a lot by people selling things, they don’t take no for an answer and they’re back every 10 – 15 mins making it difficult to relax. I appreciate that they want to make money but they haven’t realised yet that less is more. I actually walked away from stalls where I wanted to buy something because they wouldn’t let me look for myself and were shoving things in my face saying “you buy now”.

The old town by night is a much better experiance than by day and the quality of the food was excellent.

If you’re also travelling to Hanoi I believe that the Essence have a hotel there too, if we had realised before we booked I would have booked that one too.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a suit then do it, it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChilliCat_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Stephy,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our Honeymoon Suite with all it’s features. At present, we are in the continuous process of updating the noise insulation materials (for windows, walls, entrance door, floor) to alleviate some of the noise issues that come from different sources. Therefore, please accept our apology for this inconvenience.

We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded. That’s why, we appreciated your acknowledgement of these positive elements during your stay as well as for recognizing our staff endeavors to make your time in Hoi An a most possible pleasant one! Your comment will certainly help us to provide some more training for our staff where needed.

As our pool was designed for seasonal climate, now we found it is incapable for all our guests in house, therefore we are pleased to inform you, that at moment we are making a new relaxing area, reading lounge with water fountains stated in a beautiful garden behind our Spa area. And we will put it in use soon in July, 2014. We hope it will satisfy our clients needs and give our guest the possibility to relax after exploring Hoi An.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Hoi An and for your support. We hope to welcome you again in the future and until then we remain at your full disposal for any further suggestion.

With best regards,

Vanessa Weiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel from beginning to end -- we checked in very early, and though the room designated for us was not ready, they allowed us to occupy a nicer room at no extra cost. The staff met us immediately at the entrance, and we were greeted graciously by a woman who spoke English very well, who also proceeded to provide refreshments and supplied all the information we asked for. The grounds of the hotel -- while not very large -- were beautiful, centered around a nicely landscaped pool, which was lovely to sit next to for the fantastic buffet breakfast. The room was very comfortable -- though not quite luxurious, but very very nice, not what we had expected for central Vietnam. The hotel also provided complimentary bicycles, which were great for riding into town (5-10 minutes), and to the local pottery village in the other direction (also 5-10 minutes), and especially for a half-hour ride to the beach (for a dip in the South China Sea).
One odd note: the bedroom is separated from the shower/bathroom by a glass window, which meant that if you're not careful about using the blind, one person in the room can watch their companion/partner/roommate showering...that can be an exciting little perk! But not necessarily what everyone wants, so learn to use the blind effectively. Or explore your inner exhibitionist!
All in all, the staff were very helpful, the grounds were lovely, and I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Hoi An and for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted to learn, that you had a wonderful time with us from the first to the last moment. All of us try to make our customer feel special and at home and we appreciate your acknowledgement about this.

Regarding the design of our bathrooms, we concur that it might not be to everybody’s liking. However we believe, that with the blinds we have found a good way to please all of our customers. The window simply makes the bathroom brighter and fresher and gives a special touch as well.

Once again we thank you for your support and are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa.

Best regards,

Vanessa Weiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This delightful Hotel was just an absolute pleasure !. With its fresh contemporary design, it is both welcoming and extremely comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they assisted us in a manner that few Hotels go out of their way to achieve. Friendly , warm, and you feel both safe and in good hands. They organised everything for us, from a broken zipper on a travel bag to a repaired shoe, I kid you not! Our stay in Hoi An was one of the highlights of travellingVietnam, From Hanoi to HCMC.My absolute favourite , and when I return , I will most definitely without hesitation, stay at Essence once again. We had an Essence Suite with a balcony overlooking the pool . Just divine . We had intended to stay only 4 nights originally, wanted to try the beach end of Hoi An . We booked into Another 4 star Hotel, The Riverside Hotel and Spa. We lasted only one night, complete nightmare. That Hotel was 2 stars at best. We hightailed it back to Essence, and never looked back. Spent the remainder of our holiday there. Can not recommend it highly enough! Great value for money, comfortable, just simply , a home away from home . PS The Essence Spa was terribly good , I recommend that also without hesitation x

Room Tip: I liked the higher floors, view was great xxx
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRACEY8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Tracey,


Thank you for having taken the time to submit a review about your stay at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa. We are joyful to read that you felt welcome, safe and enjoyed your holiday with us. It was our great pleasure, that we had the chance to welcome you twice at our hotel during your stay in Hoi An.

Our guest’s well-being is our aim. , therefore we thank you for your acknowledgement. We have shared your kind words with all our team and it will be a great motivation for all of us to keep up with the good work.

Once again we thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you at our Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa and to spoil you at our La Siesta Spa in the very near future.

Best regards,

Management of Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa
A Member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'd like to give this hotel 3.5 / 5 stars. This is a fantastic new hotel on the edge of the main area of Hoi An but still quite close. Only a 15 minute walk and even closer by bike to the main hub of town where all the restaurants, shops, markets, temples are.

I have to commend the staff - their service is impeccable. Every single one of them during my stay were helpful, friendly, efficient and always smiling. The front desk were more than helpful, I booked a bicycle day tour with them, my bus ticket to Hue and the daily shuttles to Cui Da Beach are great too.

I stayed here for a total of 4 x nights and was able to stay in 2 x different rooms on Block A & B. I booked the Deluxe Window Rooms. Block A room offered me with a nice view of the pool and the rice paddie. The rooms are spacious, come equipped with all modern amenities including TV's, mini bar, kettle etc. There's a pool with sun beds on site, a massage and spa centre, restaurant and they also offer bicycle and motorcycle hire.

They've only been open for 8 months so its really important they maintain all their facilities. The first room I stayed in had an extremely weak A/C system, I know this because this was a different story when I stayed in Block B. I was a little irritated by this especially as it was almost 40 degrees every day during my stay. When I stayed in Block B, the shower drain was blocked and took about 20 minutes for all the water to pass down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Linda,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Hoi An and for taking the time to submit your constructive review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our service and the accommodation. Our staff always try their utmost to deliver a high level of service and to make all our guests’ have a memorable and unforgettable time. Therefore, we are grateful about your acknowledgment regarding the team’s friendliness, efficiency and willingness to be helpful in any way to make your stay and holiday as comfortable as possible.

You mention the weak AC system. Actually, on 17 May, Hoi An Town was due to be affected by a power cut for 12 hours. At our hotel we warned our guests about this a day before to ensure guests could make suitable arrangements and be prepared. Although our hotel has a backup generator it does not support the entire power system including all the AC, but is for emergency use. After the power cut we discovered that some of the AC did NOT work efficiently as it did before the power cut and our maintenance team worked hard to fix the problem as soon as possible. However, we could only fix it once our guests told us about the issue and by then it was the evening. The following day we checked the entire AC system to ensure everything was working properly.

We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience and hope that this incidence has not lost your trust in our service. Regarding the blocked shower drain we have informed our housekeeping team to ensure they check the drains in all guest rooms.

As a fairly new hotel we agree there are still a few areas that we are improving upon and we therefore thank you for your support and remain at your full disposal for any further suggestions.


Best regards,

Management of Hanoi Elegance Hotel Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife, daughter and I just returned from an exotic three night stay at the Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa. A true 'holiday' from start to finish and the Essence was a big part of it. To start with, the town of Hoi An is a must see. It's straight out of a post card. We couldn't help smiling as we walked around (dusk is the best time, as the sun sets and the lanterns replace the rays). A bit 'touristic' but in a charming and quaint way. And that's the way I would describe the Essence. Everything about it is charming, quaint. We took a double family room (B401-402) with views of the pool below and rice paddies off to the side. Nice rooms with fresh bathrooms. No complaints. The service - excellent... and so attentive. Everyone attended to you with a smile. The hotel has only one restaurant but it is enough - the food delicious. The gym had all you need and my wife and daughter enjoyed the spa. The pool - totally relaxing (and it looks just like in the picture!). And let's not forget the beach - Cua Dai Public Beach is a short hotel shuttle away.

We've stayed in much 'fancier' hotels loaded with amenities and restaurants but where Essence competed equally (even surpassing the 5 star properties) is that it delivered a elegant but simple 'holiday' where you couldn't help but relax and 'smile".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowardHK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#50 of 159 in Hoi An
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £59 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing