We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and we'll staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Modern, slightly bigger than average hotel and as a result some of the personal touches were lost, however the staff were very friendly.
Stayed here for 3 nights, very comfortable rooms, clean with all the amenities needed without feeling like a soulless hotel chain hotel.
Food in the restaurant at lunch time was reasonably priced for a hotel and the breakfast was good. Both very tasty with a good selection.
When we arrived the pool was an odd green colour which was enough to put is off going in (lucky we did as on our last day the pool cleaner had cleaned it up back to a lovely blue colour). Disappointingly the spa had not been opened although we were expecting it to be in time for our visit as per the information on the website.
The hotel is a 20 min walk but you can borrow a bike for free, and the distance is made for by the quality of the hotel.
Free shuttle bus to the beach, cheap laundry shop opposite that I would recommend (cheaper than hotel rates) and excellent WiFi through the entire hotel complex.
Overall a good experience staying at Essence and if I were to visit Hoi An again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahC00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,951 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This beautiful hotel is not far from Hoi An town center and a quick and cheap cab ride ($1-$2) and their shuttle service gets you back and forth quite easily. As others have mentioned it is a nice oasis when you come back from a cooking class, day at the beach, trip to silk village, fittings at the tailor or just strolling through the town shopping or having a nice meal. The rooms are beautiful (we sprung for a suite) and the WiFi is great so that you can send enviable photos to your friends! I highly recommend the spa. I had a relaxing massage with Huang and I felt incredibly relaxed and my aching muscles were very happy. Thank you Essence Hoi An for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the city, about 10 minutes walk to the town centre. A very clean, fresh and bright hotel with an excellent breakfast served daily.
For those wanting to rest and recover there are plenty of facilities on site, including a lovely pool area and excellent day spa.
The hotel is a fantastic base from which to explore Hoi An and surrounds. Highly recommended to families, couples and groups of travellers.

Room Tip: A406 is a great room, overlooking the rice paddy fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uqshinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Essence Hotel for 10 nights. They did all our internal flight bookings and visa details. The day before we were due to leave Thai Airway changed their flight times which meant that we would miss the flight to Hoi An. An email to them and everything was changed and organized within a short time. The staff were wonderful from the front desk right down to the cleaners. The rooms were very clean and maintained well. The pool was perfect with plenty of seating. You also have the choice of sitting in or outside for breakfast. I would highly recommend anyone going to Hoi An to take a look at this Hotel. It is situated in a quiet area overlooking Paddy fields. They run a van into town and to the beach if the times don't suit one would need to use a taxi

Room Tip: We had a balcony room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for just one night. But it leaves good memories. The place is quite homely. Lots of wood, fabric and plants. Your don't go to the counter. They come to you wherever you are sitting in the lobby, and the check in happens at your settee with a welcome drink and cold towel.
Our corner room on top floor had beautiful views of the rice fields, and the active pool and garden. House keeping is excellent. Your call and the responding door bell hardly has a gap in between. The rose petals on bed adds to the luxury feel.
The best is the staff. The lady who checked us in was there for us all the time and accompanied us to the car while checking out. The warmth of the staff will make you overlook certain strict policies framed by the top management. You will keep hearing the word "policy" many times during the stay. For example you would expect a check out at 2.00PM not late enough to be charged. They have this policy of charging 20% of the room rent for the two extra hours. We paid 50% of the room rent as extra to stay till 5.00PM. When we requested for one more hour's extra stay till 6.00PM we expected ready agreement having paid half the room rent as extra, but it came as a reluctant favour. The staff, with all their eagerness to please you, had to cope with stringent rules. I have no complaints. You stay extra and you pay for it.
The singular thing that put me off is asking for $5 for the key card which I collect normally as a souvenir. That, I was told, was the policy. No one has asked me before, and I have a fairly huge collection of room cards from various hotels all over the world.
So I may not have the key card to remember this hotel after a few years. But I may still remember it for the staff, ambience and location.......

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hammy2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I first stayed at the Essence in August, 2013 when the hotel had been open for only six weeks and was very quiet. There was still some minor construction underway and the spa and workout room were not yet open but the pool area was like a little oasis and the staff were incredibly kind, helpful and cheery, so I promised to return. When I returned in June, 2014, The garden was lusher, a new outdoor pool table had been added, and after a personalized check in process, within an hour of our arrival, we were playing pool while drinking the daily special, passionfruit mojitos! From the Essence, we explored the town on foot and on the sturdy red bicycles, and took quick cheap cab rides to the old town for dinner. We liked being away from the touristy center of town and loved the view of the rice fields from the 3rd floor. During our 3 nights, 2 days, we spent a fabulous day at Van's Green Bamboo cooking school, and a second great day with the DaNang University students on the Hoi An free Bike tour of Cam Kim Island. But each day, we were so happy to come back to the peaceful little oasis of the Essence. There are so many wonderful places to eat in Hoi An that we didn't try the Essence's restaurant for lunch or dinner, but the attractively arrayed and varied breakfast (which starts at 6:30 a.m.) particularly the fresh fruits and vietnamese dishes, and the coffee, were all delicious.

I was so glad to see that so many of the wonderful staff I met last year are still working at the hotel. The hotel itself is of very nice quality, but as so many others have said, the staff are what give the Essence its well-deserved five star trip advisor rating.

Note: We used both Essence's aiport pickup service and visa on arrival process. Both were reasonably priced and worked very smoothly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence H, General Manager at Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Lisaedmondson,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Vietnam and Hoi An. It was great to welcome you back after nearly a year opened.

Yes, since August 2014, we was trying utmost to improve our property, facilities, services with several constructive comments and suggestions from clients. We wish to deliver the best experience to all of our guests who are always deserved for the highest quality of service and accommodation.

I agree with you that staff members are the most important properties of hospitality business. We undertand that we are able to deliver the total satisfaction to our clients just whenever our staff members are pleased with their lives. We would like to see them come to work with happy smiles :) . Your nice words encouraged our management team and staff members a lot to keep moving forward to satisfy all lovely guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon, not only the third time but also again, again and again.

All best regards,

Management of Essence Hoi An Hotel & Spa
A Member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the moment of our arrival until deprture today, we have been looked after so well by all the wonderful staff at this lovely hotel. Delicious meals in the Gourmet Corner - best we tried on our visit. The treatment at the spa was great and the pool was so inviting in the hot weather. Our room was spacious and comfortable and eveything was spotlessly clean. It was nice to be a little way out of town and this wasn't a problem with the hotel's shuttle service and cheap taxi fares. We would rate this as one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#50 of 159 in Hoi An
928 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £60 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing